We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorhome Site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Full service lots available, water, sewer, electric and more space than usual between lot. The lodge is nice and clean. Beautiful over look into a valley. Not a large park but just right if you wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Outdated rooms. But for price not bad place to stay. Clean pool and lake fun with fishing and canoeing. Old putt putt course needs updating. Cant beat the old train ride $1.50. Buffet at the lodge is bit pricey. Didnt stay at campground but location looked good with water and electric hook ups. Lodge resort needs some TLC and updates.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank S40601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are a tent camper,there are very few good sites. The one we rented had no place for a tent at all, even though I specified tent when I booked online, and was small even for an RV. We had to switch sites to 001 by the campground entrance, which was a big site by the play ground. Unfortunately, I slipped on the wet grass on the slope leading to the women's bathhouse and broke my ankle, so we had to cut our 4 nights to 2.
There are some pretty views of the river in the park, and the town of Carrolton is close by and right on the Ohio & Ky rivers. We ate dinner in town our second night, our options were limited and not great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are from northeast Ohio and we stayed at General Butler for a long Memorial Day weekend. The cottage we stayed in was actually really nice - updated cabinets and countertops, nice flooring, and the bedrooms were even nice. The only thing that I considered "dirty" were the comforters on the beds, I saw staining on them, but I never trust those any where I go! Otherwise, the cottages were really nice and clean and I felt were stocked pretty well with pans, dishes, soap, toilet paper, linens. The staff was so nice and checked in every day to bring us new towels or whatever we needed.

There were a few set backs to the trip and I know some of them were not the fault of the park but it was just a bummer - first off, the pool wasn't filled when we got there on Thursday. They told us it was going to be filled on Friday but of course would be very cold. Must to our dismay - Friday came and went and the pool was still not filled. Apparently a pump broke so they did give out free passes to the community pool so that was great. Also the lake was closed because the dam broke so no boating or swimming in the lake, and all the hiking trails were closed due to Emerald Ash Borer. Also the golf course needs a little TLC. I felt like we were "off roading" it in the golf carts most of the time. Some of the path is paved, some gravel, and some broken up asphalt. Quite a bumpy ride - but great views. The rec center was also closed whenever we went up there. We did not try the restaurant at the lodge.

Walking around the campground - the playgrounds were really nice and big and there were a couple of them. The camp sites were very close together.

So all in all - the staff was very courteous, the cottage was very nice, updated, and clean (other than the bed spreads), and unfortunately there wasn't much to do since trails, boating, swimming were all closed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamabeanxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On a recent road trip, I stayed with my sister and my dog at the General Butler State Resort Lodge, and the experience had its highs and lows. I chose the General Butler because there were no rooms available in the charming Ohio River town of Madison, Indiana, and this seemed like an interesting nearby choice, and was dog-friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the natural beauty of the surroundings, and the check-in experience was very pleasant. The room itself was not bad - a nice size, with comfortable beds, but it was showing its wear a bit. There was a poorly patched hole in the wall, but overall it was clean and comfortable.

We arrived around dinner time, and were surprised to see how packed the dining room was for a Friday evening seafood buffet, and overheard another guest say that it was a popular place for locals to eat. We decided to give it a try, and despite how busy it was, we were seated in fairly short order. The hostess asked if we wanted a drink, and we said we would start with water while we decided. She said if we were having the buffet, we could help ourselves, and that was the last we saw of a server. In fact we were nearly finished eating before we got drinks, and only got them then when we walked across the room and asked a server to help us. A person that we had never seen before, who was apparently our server finally showed up after the other person had brought our drinks. Similarly, it took about 20 minutes to get the check, and that only arrived after asking twice.

The park itself is very pretty, with what appears to be a challenging golf course, a beautiful hilltop viewpoint overlooking the Ohio River valley, several trails - perfect for walks with the dog - and an interesting historical mansion. We would recommend the rooms and the grounds, but have mixed feeling about the restaurant: the food was good, the service experience among the very worst.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bookish12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The check in was pleasant enough but after that it went down hill. The room was quite a distance from the parking lot and once in the room, the carpet was filthy. When I turned on the light in the bathroom it failed to light up beyond a dim glow. That did it. I asked for a refund and checked out all within 10 minutes. They didn't argue about refunding my money.

Room Tip: Ask t see your room before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was in town for a book fair and needed a cheap place to stay. The Kentucky state parks were offering two nights for $90, which is hard to beat, but at that price I expected a fleabag. I was pleasantly surprised with a lovely room, quite spacious and scrupulously clean with two double beds and space for a large rollaway if needed. The bed was far more comfortable than some hotel chain beds I've slept in, and the vaulted ceiling in the oak-panel room made it feel quite open and homey. Plus, the balcony overlooked the swimming pool, woods and beyond it, the river. It was March, so the trees were still bare, but I can imagine the glorious view if it had been fall.

And this was in the cheap end, the rooms on the exterior-corridor wing of the hotel. Some rooms are inside the resort building with interior corridors, so if that matters to you, best to mention it when you book your reservation. The staff was cheerful and pleasant, the views were great, the lobby was charming and of course the grounds were lovely: it's a state park.

One caveat: on the first night, I thought it was absolutely, blissfully silent and peaceful. Apparently that's because I didn't have neighbors. On the second night there was someone in the room next to or below me, and even though they clearly weren't raising their voices, I could hear every word they said almost clearly enough to join in the conversation. And when their wakeup music came on at 9 a.m., sure enough, I was up too. Not much sound insulation.

In all, I'd stay there again, especially at that rock-bottom price. The drive to Madison, Ind. was a bit far for me because the bridge was out, but apparently it's only a 20-minute drive into historic Madison when the bridge is open, so consider this a good alternative to the high-priced hotels in Madison.

Room Tip: If interior corridors matter to you, mention upon booking. Some rooms have exterior corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
13.1 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#4 of 7 in Madison
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
256 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#3 of 7 in Madison
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Carrollton
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Region: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing