We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
General Butler State Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Made online reservation. Honored gracefully...1 bedroom suite cottage, everything you need, linen and towel service mobile! Came for 3 day fishing excursion with lakeside cottage access, not bad. Lodge restaurant, Two Rivers has a generous buffet ---breakfast w/fried apples and cheddar bacon potatoes-lunch w/ soup and salad bar---dinner w/ fried catfish, bbq and cheese selection, very good value. Planning late April reservation for better fishing experience, August not good for fishing too hot. Will revisit happily. Also Casino access less than 20 miles away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    46
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
38
41
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

The lodge rooms are a step back in time to the 1960s. The wood panel walls and outdated furniture and bedspreads took me back to my childhood and the smell reminded me of my grandmother's house - not in a good way. The 19 inch old style television was sad compared to flat panels of today. The A/C unit worked sporadically leaving the room uncomfortable.

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. Stick to the hotel chains near the Interstate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matewan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrollton hotels

Crossville Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

My family go every year sometimes twice a year..We have stayed in the Fall & Summer ..Couldn't ask for a bettet place.Have enjoyed both the lodge and cabins..

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank johndeere_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

What’s the best word to use to describe the lodges at Kentucky SRP? One could say “beautiful” but that would better describe their locations-- One could say “romantic” but if you seek lone “solitude” you’ll find that too-- “Nice” for some might describe the staff, for others the overall appearance-- The best I could think of is “wow” (with “neat” a close 2nd)-- If the lodge is in a park built by the CCC, even better-- Rustic foyers and fireplaces are the icing on the cake-- The lodge at General Butler is all of this—

GBSRP is ideal for families, but in my opinion its where you would take your grandkids-- Swimming pools, mini-golf, 9 hole golf course, playgrounds, recreation fields, picnic/pavilion area, war memorials, cemeteries, lakes, fishing, restaurant, overlooks--the place is huge… While I have no issues with the size, one would have to drive to enjoy all the amenities-- The rooms are comfortable, nothing fancy. No complaints, definitely a recommended destination.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank jake_brake2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Me, my husband, my two children, my sister, brother in law and their daughter went to General Butler March of last year. We have made it an annual thing to visit state parks each year. We have visited seven different state parks in Kentucky and now we have decided that we liked General Butler so well that we are going to visit there again on the 23rd of January....this year. We stayed in the 2 bedroom executive cottage and don't judge a book by the cover. The outside looked to be very small but when we got inside it was 3 floors. On the bottom there is a bedroom, bathroom, closet, and the living room...a very large living room, the second floor consists of the kitchen, and the dining room, the third floor has the other bedroom and bathroom. It is very nice except the bedrooms don't have televisions in them...that is a big no no for the children. So this time we are going to take our small television with the vcr built in. Other than that we all enjoyed ourselves and was a very peaceful place, we may visit there in the summer time just to see how it is when it is warm.

  • Liked — The drive wasn't too bad and the roads were not to curvy.
  • Disliked — No televisions in the rooms.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lhalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

Oh, my... I just have to contradict the review dissing the food at this resort park... I'm quite familiar with all of them (visit frequently) and have to say this is the BEST, and the others are really, really GOOD. This one has a bona fide gourmet chef and is actually open to the public; you can't find a seat after church on Sundays. They also participate in the "Kentucky Proud" locally grown food program, so all is fresh and native. The seafood is out of this world; the Shrimp Scampi, Catfish Lips, and Rainbow Trout are to die for, and the Hot Brown is (in my opinion as a Kentuckian) very good, as is the luncheon Ruben sandwich. If you have appetite enough for the buffet, you'll love everything!!!

The lodge itself is gorgeous architecturally, with a huge stone fireplace casting lights on the soaring glass windows in winter, although I wish the park were still a ski lodge and not a golf course, as we have plenty of those and NO ski lodges now...

The pool is fabulous and incredibly convenient' it's literally at the door of your lodge room, as are the vending and ice machines. If you prefer a more rustic setting, there's the Woodland Wing overlooking trees and hills, which gives more balcony privacy...

I can't praise Kentucky State Parks enough, and this one is especially inviting, with it's friendly front desk staff and very convenient location right off the interstate; although you don't have to drive miles and miles out of your way, it's a "retreat."

This park was built in the 30s by the CCC and is just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank otterhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed overnight in the lodge -- a planned stop in a longer trip. The room was clean and roomy enough for the three of us. I think it has been a long time since they have updated/remodeled, but we found the older style lodge room charming and enjoyed the small poolview patio on the backside of our room. The price was very reasonable and we enjoyed checking out the town. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The only complaint we had was one that will probably prevent me from choosing to stay there again. The walls in our room were such that we could hear other people's conversations -- from the next room and from outside. It wasn't that we could just hear that they were talking and/or that the TV was on. We could hear what they were saying! The television sound was clear enough that it could have been in our room.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank motherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
12.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Butler State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Butler State Resort

Property: General Butler State Resort
Address: 1608 US Highway 227, PO Box 325, Carrollton, KY 41008
Region: United States > Kentucky > Carrollton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — General Butler State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your General Butler State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Butler State Hotel Carrollton
Carrollton General Butler State Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing