We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise in Cave City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Cave City, KY
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Mammoth Cave in December is not a popular choice but I was surprised when I found this place in Cave City. I imagined that there would not be many people there (and was proved wrong) since it seems like the reputation of this place is good. It's also very close to a great Mexican restaurant (next to it), another surprise as well. The check-in was very fast. The room was clean, bed/pillows very clean as well. The comforter was warm enough but didn't need it as the AC worked fine. Breakfast was Days Inn style, good variety, the orange juice was real.
I would stay there again when visiting Mammoth Cave and would recommend it to friends as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayFlower23958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Cave City, KY, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for you comments. We're glad your stay was pleasant and hope to see you again soon. Alot of the area attractions are open year round. Mammoth Cave, Diamond Caverns, Dinasour World, Horse Cave Theater, and the Corvette Museum to name a few. Have a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Knowing this is a tourist area, in the "off season" he should STILL have rooms clean and ready .. the sheets were thread bare the room was dusty, carpet needed swept...we were 1 of 4 cars in the lot!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I wanted to stay somewhere for the weekend just to get away from everything. We could have done much better than this one. I tried hard not to nit pick simply because I really wanted to enjoy the time alone, but here are some things that were impossible to miss.

1) The floor in our room was filthy. From the looks of it, one of the recent occupants had spilled something sticky between the beds. It was still sticky when we were there.
2) The bathtub drained extremely slowly. My wife turned the water off while she was soaping up, and it was still over my ankles when I got in.
3) The comforter was covered in cigarette burns.
4) There were no unused electrical outlets. Hotels are notorious for being limited, but we had to unplug a lamp just to charge a cell phone. And the only thing that a business traveller could do if they needed to set up a laptop on the desk, is unplug the refrigerator or the microwave.
5) It was unseasonable warm when we stayed. However, my wife is cold natured and I am hot natured (I prefer high 60's in a room, she can't get warm enough). Even with the heater set at 85, the room never got warm by MY standards. She stayed under the cover whenever we were in the room.
6) Several people have made comments about this hotel being recently remodeled. The wallpaper looked fairly new, but I wouldn't hire the contractor that put it up. Standing in the bathroom, as men frequently do, the wallpaper job in the corner behind the toilet looked pretty pathetic.

Sadly, this was with me NOT looking for issues. I'd have hated to see the list had I been looking. The limited time that we had with the front desk, the employees seemed pretty friendly. But, overall the friendliness of the staff doesn't make up for all that this hotel is lacking. I definitely don't recommend this hotel if it is avoidable.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Cave City, KY, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for your response. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. I have spoken to maintenace concerning the heat and tub drainage issues. I have also discussed the carpets and bedspread with our housekeeping staff. I feel these issues have been resolved. The outlet situation has not, but I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a very nice stay at your hotel. Rooms where clean and well maintained, and the staff was very helpful. The beds where very comfortable and the location to many good restraunts and stores was very convenieant I would recommend your Hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank WALTER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Cave City, KY, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and look forward to having you back. Have a happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Cave City, KY, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 December 2012

As a Wyndham rewards member I chose this location as it was billed as recently remodeled and was part of the current incentive program. Arrived on Christmas day and was greeted by a very friendly and courteous desk clerk. After getting settled in I headed out for snacks, which is when I realized that the door would not latch unless the deadbolt was locked. I informed the desk clerk who did in fact come to the room and check it out and offered to move us to another room. as far as the 'recently remodeled, it was obvious that aside from the exterior bricks being painted, the rest of the place was still in it's 1980's decor. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. In the morning I was in the process of making a pot of the complimentary coffee in the room when I noticed that the coffee maker and pot had not been cleaned, probably since new, also from the 1980's.

Room Tip: Best tip I could give is to STAY AWAY!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank CANDACE R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pamela w, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Cave City, KY, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
575 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
70 reviews
11.4 mi away
Super 8 Munfordville KY
Super 8 Munfordville KY
#1 of 1 in Munfordville
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Cave City, KY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cave City, KY

Address: 102 Gardner Ln, Cave City, KY 42127 (Formerly Days Inn Cave City)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range: £32 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cave City, KY 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Cave City, KY is conveniently located less than 1 mile from Dinosaur World. Other nearby attractions include American Cave Museum and Jesse James Mini Golf. Enjoy free Wi-Fi available in all guest rooms, outdoor sparkling pool and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Cave City, KY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing