We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this campground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave
Certificate of Excellence
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Loved this campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here 3 nights on site 109 while we visited Mammoth Cave. We arrived right at 9 pm (their time, remember traveling from Ohio they are one hour behind us!) which is closing for their registration desk but the young girl was very courteous although she had to help us right at closing. We appreciated that since we were so excited to have arrived. We stayed in our truck camper pulling our boat (went to Lake Cumberland after here.) Our site was very level and huge. No one was next to us so we had the place to ourselves which we loved. (We are not social campers!) We had a large grassy area to the right of us perfect for parking the boat while unhitched. It also allowed us the privacy of no one staring at us while enjoying our evening campfire. But, the site had no trees for shade. The majority of the other sites had trees. It was cool enough that didn't bother us but I could see in July how that could be a problem for this particular site 109.

The campground is built on a "hill" and we never could make it all the way "up" the hill on our bikes to the jump pillow, store, etc. that was at the top of the hill at the entrance. However, it sure was a QUICK ride back to our site! (all downhill) That wouldn't stop me from staying here again, this place was GREAT. Our kids (13 and 9 yrs) loved the waterslide (which is separate from the pool itself, that's something I was confused about. I thought it emptied into the pool, but it has its own little "pool" for you to land in next door to the actual pool) The jump pillow was fun for all. Remember socks for this. The gazebo next to the pond was beautiful. The putt putt was fun and so was the game room. Never did any crafts or the hayride. My children saw that they sang on the hayride and my kids are at an age where that is a definite "no" since it is not 'cool.' Years ago they would have loved it.

The bathrooms were very nice and clean. They were way better than the state park bathrooms we experienced later in the week. We had a short walk there. (you can look at their great map on their website.)

Overall, we made a great choice for our trip staying here. It was a very short 15 min ride or so to Mammoth Cave for the New Entrance Tour. We also enjoyed the Dinosaur World and Kentucky Action Park closeby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachermama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Wish I could fix the hill, but that's what we're stuck with.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    101
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
231
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

went there three years ago on a bored weekend with my wife and two kids. we instantly fell in love with it. I have been there every summer since. I have stayed in several cabing and tent sites and have always had a wonderful experience. Plenty of great family activities. Celebrated my best fathers day ever last year there. The jumping pillow is always nice

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lance l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thanks for your comments. We've been wanting to get a Jumping Pillow for years but didn't want to remove any trees to put it in. Finally bit the bullet to remove 5 trees so we could put one in. Seems to be a wonderful success, not just for the kids either. Lots of moms and dads out there too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Loved this campground. Owner very helpful with finding a tire for our camper. Great activities, love the location, perfect setting. Very hot when we were there so it was hard to enjoy all the activities and jumping pillow. Dogs loved the pet run area. Other reviews say the sites are not level, we were set up in about the same amount of time as we are at other campgrounds with no trouble getting level. For those complaining look around at where you are and you will realize why some sites are not perfect, by the way it is camping not a 5 star hotel high rise. Our daughters loved the Hay Ride, water slide, pool, and dyeing the tshirts. One review stated that it is so close to the freeway they heard cars all night, this campground is not next to the freeway it is a few minutes from it. There is another campground right next to the freeway, maybe they mixed them up.Thank you for a wonderful four days we will return whenever we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a site on the paved roads, they are closer to the bath houses and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogsandDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you. We appreciate your comments and look forward to enjoying another visit with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corydon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This campground doesn't have a level camping site in the whole park. The sewage drains in the sites equipped are raised 6-8 inches for some reason. The roads are poorly planned out as well, forcing people from other sites to enter your site to get to bathroom/shower facilities. The bathrooms are what you might expect in a prison with more urine on the floors. The Internet they boast about does not have any connectivity so don't bother. No rules are enforced in this park unless it has to do with you forking over money. Quiet time and speed limits aren't enforced and staff is too young or immature for their positions i.e. the swimming pool area.

Room Tip: Skip this money pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
To my knowledge, we never had a complaint from this individual over the holiday weekend so we didn't have a chance to correct the problems he perceived. We always have sites that we intentionally do not book even on holidays to change out for those who are unhappy with their site. Yes, we were very full for the holiday weekend, and there may be some uncourteous campers cutting through to the bathhouse or being louder than he desired, but generally those are limited situations. I did think we had fixed all the "tall sewer pipes" but will have maintenance look again for any we may have missed. The internet was working - I saw over 100 users on at one time Friday afternoon. I could respond to his other comments, but it'd be better for users to just read Anthony P's other reviews. If his best review is that Mammoth Cave is "not too bad" . . . Then read our other reviewer's comments.
We welcome honest reviews from our campers. Please contribute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We booked a our cabins on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here. We were very pleased with our choice! Our Girl Scout troop booked the Bunkhouse and the 2 Bear Dens. We found ourselves on a nice corner lot, a perfect place for a fire circle and for girls to run and play. The staff was friendly, accomodating, and helpful -- even setting up a private Hey-ride for our group. It was clean and very family-friendy. There was plenty to do when we weren't visiting Mammoth Cave NP. Several of our girls' families will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethHH1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed here last summer with my young son, my best girlfriend and her young son. We got a cabin but were still a little nervous about doing a campfire and such since we had no men with us, but everything was set up great. We had an efficiency cabin which was very nice and cozy. It is small but perfectly fine for what we needed. My only complaint is in the bathroom the sink and toilet cubby are so close there is barely any room and is really cramped, but its something that I can live with for a day or so. Our cabin overlooked the lake which was full of fish. There are outdoor movies and crafts and activities for the kids. They have a nice playground also. We tried the pool but being two really hot days it was seriously crowded and just not big enough to accommodate so many people. Other than that, we had a great stay. The cabin had bunk beds and a futon. Cable television and wifi. There is a fire ring and a grill outside each cabin and firewood available at a reasonable price. Several attractions are close as well, including Mammoth Cave National Park. Joe's Diner is up on the corner for a super cheap and yummy breakfast. We will definitely be going back for another mini vacay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 23daisys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This review is overdue, but I wanted to give this nice park credit. When we approached the area I have to admit that I was VERY worried. The surrounding area off the freeway and the area attractions were very tired and in need of a facelift. Once we were inside the park, we were pleasantly surprised! We rented a log cabin for 2 nights and it was the perfect amount for a quick stop over on our way back to Ohio from a few nights in Nashville, TN. The little store upfront where the check in is is well equipped with the basic needs while you are staying (Walmart isn't too far away as well). We rented a golf cart because my husband LOVES to ride around in them. We had fun cruising the park at night checking out all the campers and how they setup camp. Lots of very creative people camping out! Our log cabin was perfect for the 4 of us. It was me, my husband, teenage daughter and 7 year old son. The pool wasn't open yet when we were there and they had yet to roll out the full activities, but they still offered crafts and other activities each night at the pavilion and my son loved it! The playground was also a big hit with him. We loved sitting each night under the stars by the fire. The outside grill was perfect for our size family to make burgers and hotdogs. The cabin offered a full/twin bunk and futon in the living area along with a small flat panel TV and a kitchenette. The bedroom had another full/twin bunk and a cute little desk as well as a little sink with a place to put your toiletries. The bathroom was big enough for a shower and toilet. We never had any issues with hot water, but we staggered our showers. My kids also loved the FREE internet! Everything was CLEAN and bug free (other than the ones we let in running in and out at night). My Dad was an insect technician and I always check for bed bugs and I was so glad to report it was clean!!! I hate to camp on the ground and have medical issues so this log cabin was perfect for my type of camping.

My only complaint was when we checked out the lady at the desk looked like she needed some time off and was a little snooty. I gave her the key back to the golf cart and she asked "you didn't ram it into a tree did you?" I said NO!? She said, well, if you did...we will find out. I thought, how rude. My husband and I are decent upstanding people and I took offense to that comment. Not a good way to leave an impression. Anyway, I would go back and hope the old grouchy lady retires!!

Also - another tip for Mammoth Cave. The lines are LONG during the weekend. Go as soon as you can to buy your tickets for the next day or two for the tours. Also, know what tour you want when you get in line.The ticket sales people were NOT helpful at all and will make you leave the line if you don't know what tour you want. I recommend the Historic tour as long as you are OK with small spaces and lots and lots of stairs!
Enjoy my pics!!!

Room Tip: Make sure to read the descriptions or email them with questions. They are good at explaining the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velvetnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave
Address: 1002 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-8436 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp - Resort Mammoth Cave)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 125 campsites including 20/30/50 amp electrical, water, sewer and primitive sites. 71 Rental cabins of various sizes. Jumping pillow, 2 pools, splash pad, 300' waterslide, free hi-speed wi-fi and more. Full-time recreation staff during peak season. Some cabins open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Cave Jellystone Park Camp Hotel Cave City
Mammoth Cave Jellystone Park Camp Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing