We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major cleanliness issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Morgantown, WV
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Major cleanliness issues”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for one night over Labor Day weekend while visiting Mammoth Cave. Terrible decision.

In the first room, I found dried poop on the toilet floor and stained (dirty?) pillowcases. After I got those issues sorted out, I noticed beetles running around in the room. After arguing with the front desk clerk, he showed me other room options. It took the 3rd room he showed me to find one that was clean and was actually, truly non-smoking.

The last room seemed reasonably clean but the whole experience left a very bad taste in my mouth. The only reason I didn't push for fully comping the room was I used rewards points and decided I didn't want to damage my vacation further arguing over it.

The moral of the story: Find another hotel in Cave City because this one is bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitmapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We sincerely apologize for the bad stay you had here. We are working with the housekeeping department and are resolving the issue. Thanks for giving us a heads up so we can make things right. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    36
    14
    23
See reviews for
56
27
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Don't think to sleep in it only if the Black Bear runing after u .. If not so sleep in your car its most better .. Its to small .. tooo dirty .. toooooo expensive .. Even the bathroom its tooooo toooo small to take a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are so sorry that did not have a great stay here. We strive to serve all of our customers to the fullest. We are under going a renovation right now and would love to show you our finished product when you return back to this area. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cave City hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Obviously this isn't a Hilton but for the price it's a perfectly fine place. Check in was quick and our room location was good. The pool was busy and while we didn't use it the people who did seemed to enjoy it. The only negative is the bathroom had some mold issues up around the ceiling in the shower and the caulk job around the tub was the worst I have ever seen. Still for the price it's acceptable but only barely. Location is excellent being in the heart of everything to do and see.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We apologize that you did not have a good stay with us. We are in the middle of a big renovation and hope you will give us another shot. Thanks and sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightstown
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here three nights and it was very quiet. Had adjoining rooms so grand-daughter and her son had plenty of space. Pool was great at the end of a busy day at the caves and attractions. Breakfast was ample till lunch time. El Patron across the street was a good American-Mexican meal as well as pizza hut, a & w, long john silver's, and others. all in walking distance. beds a bit hard but slept well. rooms facing pool were best. no micro or refrigerator but did have coffee maker.

Room Tip: Rooms 100 thru 136 are best for pool use. parking was close so no heavy lugging of suitcases, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are so glad that you had a wonderful stay here with us. Being this close to Mammoth Cave is a great advantage to our customers. We hope to see you again real soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

There are several hotels in this area. It's got some activities to do in this area. Of all the hotels, this is the only one with an outdoor pool. It was really nice in the heat. It's within walking distance to the Dinosaurs, but with traffic, I'd drive it for safety. Walk across the street to the AW shop or any other place here. There's a Family Dollar just a stone's throw down the road. Behind this hotel is a mini golf course and game room, and next to that is a really small but cute go Kart track. This hotel is sort of in the middle of it all. The clerks were extremely friendly. The pool is smaller but good to swim in. Just a bit crowded, although everyone was friendly enough. They allowed smoking inside the gate which was really gross. It's about a 12-15 minute drive to the Caves. Jellystone is half that. Lots of activities on the way to the caves as well. Horseback riding, Zip line, etc. The rooms are small and dated. However, it is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Get a travel book from a rest stop and find a coupon for a room here. Also, if they say they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailmariehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, we are very proud of our employees and will forward them your kind words. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Sorry to say - that in this day and age where every penny counts - they just don't meet my standards. The only ice machine working was on the farthest side of the property, there was no decaf anything available, there was mildew in the tub/shower area and the outlet near the bed and the one near the tv sparked when I tried to use them. I will say that it was a comfortable bed and the pillows were real nice. But those two did not make up for all the rest and the very minimal, donut, bagel, juice or coffee, bran cereal breakfast. Good distance if you are visiting caves and attractions in the area!

Room Tip: If you like to use the pool ask for a room around the back, it's also quieter there at night. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We are sorry that we did not live up to our standards. We will be looking into the proper departments and will be coming up with a solution. Thank you for notifying us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
64 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
618 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Horse Cave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Address: 807 Mammoth Cave St, Cave City, KY 42127-8430 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find plenty of other sites and activities to explore near our pet-friendly Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City, some of which include: Kentucky Down Under, Mammoth Cave National Park, American Cave Museum & Hidden River Cave, Mammoth Cave Adventures, Kentucky Action Park and Dinosaur World all just a short drive from the hotel. When traveling to Kentucky's Cave Capitol, enjoy home-style hospitality when you stay at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City. With a great location off I-65, a host of amenities including free WiFi and a flat screen TV in all rooms. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome at no charge and children 17 and younger stay free when occupying the same room with an adult family member. When traveling to Kentucky’s Cave Capitol, enjoy home-style hospitality when you stay at Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City. With a great location off I-65, a host of amenities including free WiFi, continental breakfast (served daily from 6:30am-9:30am), flat screen TVs, and in-room coffee in all rooms. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome at no charge and children 17 and younger stay free when occupying the same room with an adult family member. Truck parking is available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cave City
Cave City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing