We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CAVE CITY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Certificate of Excellence
Any City USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CAVE CITY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

On our first trip to Cave City, we reviewed several of the local hotels before choosing Sleep Inn & Suites. From the moment we walked in, the customer service was friendly, efficient and satisfied our expectation. The room was spacious and everything was clean and working! We did not swim as we had caves to go visit and shops to look through.

I would recommend this location and the friendly staff as a great place to stay if you are in Cave City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel. Please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    203
    71
    22
    21
See reviews for
252
153
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was your average hotel with breakfast included. It was very convenient to get to Mammoth Cave National Park from this hotel. The price was fair and the room was as described. It was clean and non-smoking and had 2 queen beds, a microwave, a fridge, and a coffee pot. The indoor pool was tiny (think 3.5 lounge chairs long and 1.5 lounge chairs wide), but adequate for the kids. Also, in late October, it was a perk to have it indoors. The only complaint I had was the breakfast room as it was very undersized for the number of guests. Breakfast was 5-9am so maybe it was easier at 5am but impossible at 7 or 7:30am. Overall, it was a nice place to stay. I just wish they would expand the breakfast room seating or have trays to help carry the food back to the room.

Room Tip: No bathtub in our room, just a walk in shower with no curtain or door. I am not sure if all rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the comments on our clean rooms. I hope you'll stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenville, IL
Level Contributor
217 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We choose this hotel based upon its location to Mammoth Cave National Park. We didn't want to spend the money on the lodge/cabins inside the park or camp. The Sleep Inn & Suites was a nice alternative; it was about 15/20 minutes from the visitors center.

We choose a King Bed room with Whirlpool; having run a half-marathon earlier in the day, the whirlpool tub was nice. There is no whirlpool in the swimming area. The pool was filled with kids the night we were there (a Saturday in October); at one point, there were kids looking in at the pool through the window because the pool was so full! The pool (indoor) is fairly small. At least the kids were all having fun! There was a small game room and fitness room as well.

Our room was clean and fairly large; no complaints. The bathroom was very large with a long vanity. As others mentioned, the shower setup was a bit different with a walk-in and no door/curtain. It was okay - my only wish was that they would have had a heat lamp in the bathroom.

The breakfast was good - waffles, toast, muffins, yogurt, some eggs/sausages, oatmeal, two cereals, juices, coffee... We didn't go at a great time for it was fairly crowded.

Everything was clean; the king bed was comfortable. The clerk at the front desk had said that the hotel was fairly new at about 3 years old.

Within walking distance, there was a few fast food restaurants, a cracker barrel, and a couple more local restaurants. It is located right off the highway.

I would stay here again. A good price, and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenville111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed our large clean rooms, in addition to the hot tub in your room. Please stay with us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our suite was clean and comfortable. The hotel appeared to be either fairly new or recently renovated as I did not see any wear on the carpet or furniture. The bedding was very nice and the beds comfortable. The breakfast food was just okay, but the attendants were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms! Please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha Wi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Brand new hotel so everything was clean and comfortable. I especially liked the walk in shower. My only suggestion would be to have a hook to hand your towel near the shower opening. Other than that everything was very good. The staff was pleasant. It was very quiet because we were there during the government shut down so we could not go to visit Mammoth Cave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback! That inconvenient government shutdown is over and I hope you'll come back to see us and visit Mammoth Cave. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is one of Sleep Inn's "Designed to Dream" hotels. It looks to be a pretty new building, with a distinctive charcoal grey exterior. We really liked the decor of our room - rather European, with a pretty Marimekko-style throw on the bed and modern furniture with clean lines, and pretty brushed metal fixtures. The bathroom had lots of counter space and a walk-in shower that kind of goes around a corner and needs no curtain. I would have liked a hook near the opening to hang a towel, though. Our room was on the second floor next to the elevator, but we had no problems with noise. The room had a flat screen TV, wi-fi, coffeemaker, wall-mounted hairdryer, and nice toiletries. The lobby has a PC and printer for guests to use, and the breakfast area has coffee and tea available throughout the day. Breakfast starts at 5 am and includes the regular offerings - egg patty, sausage patty, cereal, pastries, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc. Lots of parking spaces makes for easy access.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
It appears you really enjoyed your stay with us! I'm glad you found the modern design pleasing. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very nice clean hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean, new facilities. Convenient location only 15 minutes away from Mammoth Caves and very close to the center of Cave City and it's restaurants, gas stations and stores.

Only two complaints. No usable wifi, at least on the 3rd floor and not enough outlets available in the room.

Nowadays when on trips people depend on the internet for keeping in touch with home, business, banking and just looking for local attractions. A lack of internet access is a real inconvenience. Especially when it is advertised as being there.

For the same reason a lack of outlets is a major inconvenience. A family of four traveling together with four cell phones, four tablets and other devices really needs more than the one outlet in the bathroom. All of the other outlets had lights or clocks plugged into them and required moving the furniture.

Besides those two issues we are enjoying our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frkingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for the review! I apologize for the issues you experienced with the internet. Could you please inform me of what room number you were in so I can investigate the issue further? Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 801 Mammoth Cave St, PO Box 807, Cave City, KY 42127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most outstanding hotels in the area. Rooms have microfridge, hair dryer, iron, and in room coffee. Indoor heated pool. Cable/HBO. Free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Cave City
Sleep Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Cave City
Cave City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing