We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could expect and more”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Pro: Clean, big rooms w/comfortable beds and pillows. Amazing friendly/helpful service. Front desk called up & offered our family of 5 a rollaway unsolicited. Really close to Mammoth Caves. Adequate free breakfast.
Con: Only 1 slow elevator.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank ZachaRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

I love when I hear that my staff went above and beyond in ensuring you were comfortable! Thank you for the wonderful feedback and I hope you'll stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

the room was very spacious, clean, beds very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge!
Very convenient to mammoth Cave National park. continental breakfast was simple but just enough to help us get going in the morning. the area does

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It's good to hear everything from our comfortable beds to our spacious clean room was top notch for you! I hope you enjoyed your visit to Mammoth Cave and we hope to see you again when you're in our area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel room was very clean and well decorated, with lots of counter space and plenty of towels. I was not impressed at all with the front desk staff, though. When we got there, they were standing around the front door smoking. Later, when I tried to call the front desk, the phone rang about 20 times without anyone answering. The breakfast was mediocre...typical hotel fare (pastries, make your own waffles, cereal), but the eggs and sausage were terrible and the breakfast area was too small and not organized well. Overall, it was a decent and clean hotel but not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean rooms, plenty of towels and the abundance of counter space! Please stay with us again when you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here overnight during a visit to Cave City. Room was nice and clean. Very quiet. Good breakfast. Would stay here again if in the area. Pool was on the smallish side but not a huge deal. Not much to do in the evening time in the area though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi_townfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your clean and quiet room, in addition to our breakfast! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future if you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a super clean hotel that is newly built. The suites are spacious for a family of 4. Great place to put your feet up after a long day at Mammoth caves. Close in proximity to the Caves and all the fun things you can do. The pool is really small so if you have more than 8 kids in the pool, there isn't much room , but good breakfast and great stay for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the feedback! Please come stay with us again when you're in the area and enjoy our "super clean" hotel again!

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Totally ripped off at Sleep Inn! Told we needed a double, they put us in a room with a bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was a TORTURE rack and they refused to let us change rooms. The staff was totally uncooperative and rude. The pool (the key selling point for us as our two kids LOVE to swim) was little more than an oversize bathtub. We booked for the week well in advance at $109 and when we got there we discovered on-line rates of $95 and $89. They refused to honor these lower rates. To top it off, their coffee sucks!
Bottom line– WE LEFT. After our sleepless night at the (No)Sleep Inn we went to Hampton Inn where they had a pool more than twice the size, two comfortable beds, delicious free breakfast, friendly staff, AND they honored the coupon we found for $89/ night. Enjoyed Mammoth Cave Natl. Park and had a great week once we found decent accommodations. Lesson learned. Read ALL the reviews in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't pleasurable. Please rest assured we strive to make every guest's stay comfortable and satisfactory at the best rate available for the room they reserved. Please call me at (270) 773-2030 to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

They say this is the newest hotel in Cave City. I can assure you that doesn't mean much when it comes to the Sleep Inn.
The room itself was sufficient. Clean, though somewhat undersized. There was a flat screen in the room that looked a few sizes too small for the room. Bathroom was not overly impressive, but was functional, and again, clean. For a newer hotel, the beds were quite worn, with a trough in the middle that I continually rolled to throughout the night. For a single sleeper that wouldn't be much of an issue, but if you're sharing the bed, you'll frequently find yourself on top of each other in the middle of the bed during the night.
The pool is comically small. I am not exaggerating when I say the pool is the size of three hot-tubs. It is small. And given the amount of families coming through this hotel to visit the caves, the pool fills up to the point where it is litterally standing room only.
The website lists a game room as an amenity, which I was expecting to be a welcome rarity these days. Unfortunately the arcade games all appear to be in the area of one to two decades old. And it's not that the games themselves are dated its that the consoles are so old, the screens can barely be seen and some of the games don't work properly.
As for breakfast, I am at a loss to explain how Sleep Inn managed to screw up the exact same breakfast you find at nearly every other hotel chain, but they did. Coffee was undrinkably bad. Food was barely edible. On top of this, the breakfast room was beyond packed with some guests eating their breakfast either standing up or in the lobby.
The last time I was at Mammoth Cave was at least 10 years ago and I slept in a sleeping bag in a tent in the woods. I can say that experience was more pleasant than staying at the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations. Please call me at (270) 773-2030 to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,
Russell G. Yonker Jr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
69 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Horse Cave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 801 Mammoth Cave St, PO Box 807, Cave City, KY 42127-8430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range: £62 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most outstanding hotels in the area. Rooms have microfridge, hair dryer, iron, and in room coffee. Indoor heated pool. Cable/HBO. Free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Cave City
Sleep Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Cave City
Cave City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing