We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family Vacation"”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Lucasville
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Family Vacation"”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After previously reading past reviews for this hotel; my husband and I decided to stay 5 nights. Other family members stayed close by at the Super 8 motel. It was an easy walk to and from.
Upon arrival, I asked the front desk if our family could visit. She was absolutely wonderful in allowing us to use the dining area for a visit for fun and games.
We spent our time exploring caves, canoeing the Green River, and hiking. We were always welcomed with a friendly "hello" on our return.
The laundry was a nice bonus for vacationing. The hotel has a game room for children, a small indoor pool, and a work-out room. ( we didn't need these since we were hiking the beautiful country) Our room with a king is located on the 1st floor. I was a little nervous about the high traffic area, with the pool, game room, and workout room; however, it was actually wonderful! The room was very quiet. I really loved the size of our room; however, it would have been nice to have a small table. Our room had one comfy chair and a very beautiful desk for use of computer,etc. Our king bed was very comfortable.
The Hotel is conveniently located near a few restaurants and only 20 minutes from the Mammoth Cave Park. I would definitely pay the few extra dollars to stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites again. Wow, after a 6hr trip home I forgot the wonderful front desk ladies who were so friendly and helpful! The front desk ladies are absolutely awesome! I don't want to leave out house cleaning...we had two different ones during our stay. Thanks, for always checking to see if we needed anything, even though we decided to clean our own rooms during the week.
I hope the managers are proud of their team!!

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet. The first floor room was very convenient for those who may have difficulty walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very happy to hear our staff was very friendly and helpful. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, come stay with us again whenever your in town. Thank you and have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    221
    75
    25
    23
See reviews for
282
162
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Despite all the kids staying here, the hotel was very quiet. We got a king suite. The room was spacious and beautiful. Bed was cozy, but the pillows were very small. We asked the front desk for more, but they said no. The free breakfast was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashliekhiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your Beautiful and spacious king size room. The next time your in town come stay with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is very clean, well organized and the staff are very helpful. The hotel looks fairly new. We visited Mammoth Cave National Park and the location was very convenient. They have laundry facilities which came in handy for our family vacation.They also have adjoining rooms. The only downside was the pool was small and very crowded. Breakfast was great and included waffles, cereal, sausage, eggs, breads, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJackson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your nice clean room on your recent trip. I'm also very pleased to hear our staff was nice friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us and have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had no issues. Proximity to caves is great. Around 20 minutes to Mammoth (depending on route taken), 15 minutes to Diamond Caverns, Onyx Cave is basically across the street. Several other attractions are within 10 minutes. The better side is the back side for views, although it is an abandoned field, but you don't see the parking lot, and restaurant row. Had a top floor room, so no noise from above. Staff was friendly, although the pool was slightly small, it was fine. Breakfast options were good, however seating was at a premium, but not a major problem as people did not stay long, or went out to the lobby to eat. This is the newest hotel in the area, and I highly recommend it. The bed was very comfortable. The room did only have a shower, but again, not a problem for me. If I am in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLoneTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feed back is very important to us. I'm very happy to hear you injoyed your stay. The next time your in the area come stay with us again. Thank you and have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have seriously never seen such a small pool. Another patron's description of it as an oversized bathtub is right on the mark. We're talking 10 feet wide and maybe 20 feet long at best. The room was clean EXCEPT for the toilet, which had not been flushed from a previous guest. Yuck. Very disappointed in the lack of front-desk staff. One person with a line for a half dozen parties every time I went down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggy123Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations with the pool. I'm very sorry you had a problem with a dirty toilet. Thank you for staying with us and have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our summer road trip that included a visit to Mammoth Cave. We booked a room for 6 people (2 beds and a sofa bed) but were only given a room with 2 beds. We went back down to the front desk and were informed they didn't have any more rooms for that night. We decided to make it work since it was only one night and none of the other hotels in the area looked very appealing. The pool was very very small so we didn't use it since it was crowded. Breakfast selection was ok. Location was nice and not far from Mammoth Cave. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ck31707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations on the size of the pool. Thank you for staying with us and have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Cave City, KY on the way to Texas so we can see some of the caves tomorrow.
We chose Sleep Inn because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor!
It looks to be fairly new. Our room is a King with sofa bed. It's a really big room. The bathroom is large with a large walk-in shower. It's super clean. AC works good.
Has a fridge & microwave. 2 closets. 2 chest of drawers & a desk.
Wish it has a tub to soak in after being in the car all day.
The pool is small so that disappointed our son a bit but the game room made up for it.
Also they have a workout room but the AC isn't on so it's a little too hot.
Has a nice flat screen tv with cable!
Beds are comfortable. Yeah!
I think it's the best hotel in Cave City, KY.
I would stay here again.
Laying here relaxing watching the Stanley Cup Playoffs!
Life is good. :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmky088, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete this online survey, your feed back is very helpful to us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your large clean king suite with the walk in shower. Thank you for all your positive feed back and staying with us. Have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Francis F. Hayes
Assistant General Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
490 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
621 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 801 Mammoth Cave St, PO Box 807, Cave City, KY 42127-8430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most outstanding hotels in the area. Rooms have microfridge, hair dryer, iron, and in room coffee. Indoor heated pool. Cable/HBO. Free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Cave City
Comfort Inn Cave City
Cave City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing