We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BelindaBeach Lovely Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirisakor
Reviewed 7 January 2012

While the setting is idyllic, the owners run it like an informal B&B while charging disproportionately high rates. The resort is difficult and expensive to reach and once there everything is charged as additional expense (right from boat transfer to a glass of water).
While the owner is well meaning, he does not have the experience and the staff to run this kind of establishment. Having previously stayed at Rainbow Lodge we noticed the apparent lack of regard for the environment. The beach was littered with rubbish including broken glass bottles and was not suitable for swimming. All in all at the end we were very happy to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

When we reached the destination, we first had a good feeling about the place, especially due to its location and the relative quality of the construction of the buildings. However, we also had a first glimpse of the total lack of organisation skills of the two European owners. It took us an hour and a half to get from the local village on the island to the hotel's beach.

Then, it became clear that they did not have the background nor the skills to properly run a hotel. As days went by, the service was getting worse and worse, especially regarding breakfast and dinners (the island being non-touristic and the hotel isolated, you don't have many options for dining, you're stuck at the hotel by night). Not much choice for meals (a set menu every night, prepared by the owner), and because the owner is not a professional cook, it takes hours before being served. When it comes to breakfast, again it takes some time before getting food on the table, because breakfast is not organised professionnally but rather as if you were staying at someone's house.

That would not be too much of an issue if the prices reflected this lack of hotel management skills. Unfortunately prices are extremely high, again because there are no options around, and you can't help feeling ripped off when you leave the island. They even charge you for drinking water at dinners and throughout the day.

Bottom line, nice location, comfortable rooms, but a disastrous level of service.

Also, you'll have to pay everything in cash, despite the fact that you will be requested a credit card number to secure the booking, in the end you won't be able to use it. If you did not bring enough cash like I did (I was not told prior to my stay at the hotel), imagine the troubles!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stef74290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Koh Sdach is a tropical island. Normally you can get to the island in about 2 hours by using the fast ferry boat from sihanoukville. Be aware: the boat does not go during festifals or holidays which means you have to go by slow fishing boat.
Belinda Resort is located on the tip of the island. It is luxurious with comfortable rooms, beds (with mosquito nets), bathroom, a lovely beach and swimming pool. There is no hot water and the soap/shampoo dispensors are empty (bring your own). The restaurant is good too.
Due to the Chines New Year we took a cargo-boat (with building bricks) and arrived at 21:30. Because of the late arival we could stay till 15:00 (or even longer). We relaxed at the beach.
The food is really fantastic. One big feast with all kinds of dishes and deserts. All made locally with fresh products. Benoit pretty much runs the resort on a daily basis (with help from his wife and son) and prepares all the food too. Benoit is a story of it's own. It has been a long time ago since I met a person as warm, friendly, cheerful, enthausiast, positive as Benoit. I liked talking to him. It is a pleasure to meet positive people like him.
Is everything perfect? That is in the eye of the beholder. Every person has his own perpective of "the perfect place". First thing we did not like is the karaoke-machine that runs during the evening on max volume. This is not my idea of relaxing in a tropical island. Second, in our opinion we have to conclude the accomodation is overprized for what they have to offer. It is a really nice place, but if you ask top dollar everything has to be perfect (including soal in the dispensors, hot showers). Because it is until recently not easy to reach, it had a lot of unspoiled virgin jungle. And that is where the problems begin. There are not so many islands with unspoiled virgin jungle on it anymore. This means money. The Belinda Resort owns some 12 hectares of the island, most of it still virgin jungle. The resort is placed on the end of the island. In our opinion it would be wise to minimalise your footprint when you stay in a beautiful place like this. This would mean you should take all the effort you can, to keep this virgin jungle intact as much as possible. The Belinda Resort had a different approach. They pretty much cut all the trees an got rid of all the jungle before they started to build the resort. It brought tears in my eyes. They own 12 hectares of property, most of it still virgin jungle.
Untill now they only cut the forest around the resort. One question raises in my mind: for how long?

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoBodySPerfect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank AsiaTrottersChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rouger84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgobenny, Owner at BelindaBeach Lovely Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirisakor
17.6 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 4 in Koh Rong
441 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 39 in Koh Rong
379 reviews
22.3 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 4 in Koh Rong
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
15.2 mi away
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
#1 of 45 in Koh Rong
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelindaBeach Lovely Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelindaBeach Lovely Boutique Hotel

Address: Phum Koh Sdach, Kirisakor, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Kirisakor
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirisakor
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your BelindaBeach Lovely Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belinda Beach Lovely Hotel Koh Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing