We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the short drive from Louisville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernheim Arboretum & Forest

Bernheim Arboretum & Forest
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest is a private, non-profit educational and recreational nature preserve located 20 minutes from the Louisville airport in Kentucky. Bernheim, founded in 1929 by philanthropist Isaac Wolfe Bernheim, opened to the public in 1950. More than 200,000 annual visitors connect with nature by enjoying over 32 miles of hiking trails, a Canopy Tree Walk, a Children’s Play Garden, year-round educational programs and events. Bernheim, steward to 14,500 acres of natural lands, includes a nationally-recognized, 600-acre arboretum designed by the landscape architecture firm of Frederick Law Olmsted. The arboretum contains over 8,000 plant species including the renowned Hubbuch Holly Collection. Bernheim has won numerous awards on sustainability initiatives including LEED® Platinum for the Visitor Center, which was the first Platinum award in Kentucky and surrounding five-state region. Isaac Cafe is open from 11-4 daily and serves soups, sandwiches, salads and desserts.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the short drive from Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you happen to travel to Louisville and have a day to spare, taking a short drive down I-65 (about 20 minutes) and see all that Bernheim Forest has to offer. There is an educational visitors center where you can get information about the different areas to hike or take a relaxing stroll, see educational exhibits about the interesting things in the forest, and details about the wide variety of programs offered throughout the year. There is a small cafe and gift shop at the visitors center also.

When I lived in Louisville I found it was worth paying the annual membership which offered free entry at the gate (normally $5), a great magazine, as well as discounts on special programs.

This beautiful sanctuary of nature offers many levels and lengths of hiking trails, from easy to difficult. There are tremendous photo opportunities throughout the seasons for both flora and fauna alike. If you enjoy art, be sure to check out the outdoor sculpture and other art throughout the property. It is a wonderful place to meditate and commune with nature. It's one of my favorite places in Kentucky.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissElizabeth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NW Arkansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

What a lovely property preserved for our enjoyment and education now and in the future! It was so peaceful to walk the trails around the ponds and enjoy nature. There are sculptures placed around the park as well as picnic areas and other amenities. One could spend just a couple of hours or an entire day there. (It is located almost across the highway from the Jim Beam Distillery). It is well worth the time to visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbsnwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxs Creek, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is one of my favorite places to go. We are members here. This is a beautiful setting that is continually being updated with new exhibits and, obviously, the changing seasonal landscape. There is an excellent selection of programs for children and adults. I often stop by on my way home from work to walk the Lake Nevin or other short trail. The staff are always helpful and I love Isaac's Cafe. It is free during the week, but there is a $5.00 per carload environmental impact fee on the weekends. It would be nice if there were a trail map available online.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lick, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We went there to do some hiking. We first went to the visitor center. The gentlemen was very helpful. It has some unique art. He helped us with selecting a trail to take. Most trails are easy and short. You need a couple of days to do it all. I would go back. It cost 5.00 a car load. Not free. The playground is fantastic. The trail we took was rather narrow. Got my clothes caught on sticker bushes several times. We took our dogs so this made the walk rough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artmuse1, Manager at Bernheim Arboretum & Forest, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Bernheim. We make every effort to ensure a relaxing and nature enriching experience. The following our hours and fee schedule.

Open daily 7:00 a.m. – near sunset (see the schedule below for details).

Free admission to all Monday – Friday.

Saturday, Sunday and Holiday* Environmental Impact Fee:

$5.00 per passenger car, minivan or motorcycle
$10.00 per passenger van, RV
Buses, please call (502) 955-8512 in advance

* Bernheim collects the environmental impact fee on the following holidays: Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
450 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just goes to show what can be accomplished when planners respond to the will of the people & have the foresight to preserve such God-given beauty. The grounds are magnificent & very well maintained. Breathtaking views & many spots to find quiet solitude. The trails & playgrounds are well designed & truly enjoyable. The cafe is nice & the staff was friendly. The gift shop is typical but had some nice stuff & the prices weren't too painful. If more people could see this place, I think more places like this could be saved.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernheim Arboretum & Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bernheim Arboretum & Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing