We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must stay when you are in Cochin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
226 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Another must stay when you are in Cochin”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This resort built by the backwaters a must stay for those special moments....
Located at the outskirt of the city, so if you want to visit the city can be little tough.
Two sets of rooms the normal ones and the villas. Must opt for the villas which overlook the pool and the backwater. Rooms are aesthetically done...simply gorgeous but its a pity to see the maintenance is not upto the mark.
Has a fully functional gym - which gets 10 on 10, a spa which is equally good. Even a nightclub...but who cares because you just can't get enough looking through the property.
The coffee shop food is excellent(dinner)...little slow though.
Breakfast is above average.
Staff are friendly.
Over all worth every penny you pay.

Room Tip: Should opt for the poolside villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auribuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. You comments will be passed on to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    240
    67
    21
    13
See reviews for
232
167
26
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Rooms - Perfectly maintained. Good Ambience.
Feel - Very welcoming
Breakfast Buffet - Good tasty spread
Swimming Pool - Good
Service - Happy to help kind

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-S-Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I will pass on this to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

we stayed here right after getting married. The hotel property is beautiful with a breathtaking view of the back waters. Excellent rooms and service as well, although the price is slightly on the higher side, for a place like cochin. the breakfast buffet was lovely, with a huge spread. my vote definetly goes to the the pool side seating... all in all a nice stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hersheyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I will pass this on to the team. Hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife & I stayed for 1 night before leaving for an overnight stay on a Houseboat. We then returned for another 4 nights. Our stay was the last week in Oct'11. We currently reside in India but are orginially from the UK.
The new reception staff were very good indeed with a very easy check in. We were shown to our room by 2 staff.
The room was spacious, modern & very clean.The balcony overlooking the pool & lake was superb with several hours spent sitting on the balcony enjoying the view.
The pool was also very clean.
The Fennel restaurant was excellent with many varied options that would cater for all. The waiting staff were extrtemely helpful giving good suggestions of things to try.
The head chef was helpful asking us if we wanted any other foods then to just ask & he would prepare. We asked for a specific type of Indian dish which was served the following evening. It was a delight to eat.
We used the bar on most evenings before heading off for our evening meal & again the staff were helpful & friendly.
The auyervedic massage was terrific.
The only negative things that we can say is about the lack of all the amenities being open. The pool bar was closed, the grill was closed..... on booking this resort we looked at all the amenities & expected them to be open. No where on the website could we find that any of the restaurants or bars would be closed.
The other negative is the fact that when you book a car & driver you expect a hotel car & driver. The Ramada Cochin use a local taxi company for which the prices are far too high for India even though in some review replies from the hotel manager he says they do not reccommend taxi companies.
These are just minor negatives & the plus far outways these.
Thank you Ramada Cochin for such a relaxing few days.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view cottage. Well worht it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilnDebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I apologize regarding the hot coals and the pool bar. The hot coals is a pure continental restaurant and due to lack of clients we are planning to relaunch it. I will definitely look into why the pool bar was not open. We have a fleet of 3 cars, and only when all three are engaged we take from an outside agency who is licensed by the government.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed with a group the first 4 nights of October 2011. The backwaters facing rooms are awesome: Amazing view and big, spacious, clean rooms.
Good restaurant and terrific ayurvedic massage.
Big highlight: the huge pool

Room Tip: Choose backwaters facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I will pass on this to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel all the features for an idel resort for relaxation...Nice and clean rooms, Courteous staff, Great Food and a peacefull ambience. The cottages are spacious, clean and lake facing. The deluxe rooms are good but does not give you a feel of a resort.

Room Tip: If you want lake facing rooms choose the Lake facing cottages. The deluxe rooms does not give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I will pass this on to the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore (from USA originally)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I am a US expat living in Bangalore. Everyone raves about Kerala so we went down for the weekend. I chose the Ramada because it's a familiar chain to me as a US citizen.

The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are beautiful, overlooking the lake and pool. The resort is also small so the stay is quiet and cozy. We normally had the pool to ourselves.

We booked the summer package and had some issues with it. First, the front desk never explained it to us. When we later inquired about how it all works, they informed us that the free house boat tour was not available. They did, in exchange, give us a free city tour, which was fine.

The food in the restaurant was excellent on the first day, Friday. We had a separate menu as part of our package and the selection was excellent. However, on Saturday, we were only allowed to eat the buffet, which had nothing for children or for westerners at all; only Indian food. Given the number of foreigners staying here, this was disappointing. Also, I wish they would have informed us on Friday to enjoy the menu since Saturday we would be stuck with buffet, but they never said anything to us.

The hotel is smoking, which is annoying for a family with two small kids, but the room didn't smell. The towels, however, reek of cigarette smoke. I chose to shower with the pool towels because of this.

The online booking said there is a sofa bed in the room. There is not. This left us with our son in the baby cot and our daughter in our bed. Not exactly romantic for my spouse and I, and I was disappointed to receive no apology from the front desk about this.

The day we checked out, our free city tour was apparently not free, and we were charged for laundry. Both of these are included in the package. So check your bill very carefully. Also, our package says one set complimentary laundry per person. But they mean per room. Shame on Ramada for not proofreading their own brochure. After 30 minutes arguing with the front desk, they finally fixed the bill.

We did take a one hour speedboat tour and really enjoyed it. It was the highlight of our Kerala experience.

Overall the resort is amazing, the pool and setting are very relaxing, the spa services are extensive and very nice, and the food (other than buffet) was wonderful. The boat operator and the kitchen staff in particular were very friendly and concerned with us having a nice stay, including catering to our children. But I can't give them more than four stars until their front desk staff learns how to do their job.

Room Tip: Opt for the cottages. Worth any additional charge to have that balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
At the outset I apologise for the inconvenience you had and the late reply. Frank feedbacks like yours allow us to rectify our shortcomings.
1. We have started giving a print out of inclusivesand itinerary at check in of guests in package, so the guest knows exactly what he is getting.
2. We have stopped the seperate menu and now the guest canhave anything from the regular menu. We have added a cap to the amount that can be availed during the course of the stay, so the guest is at liberty to order whatever they want except alchoholic beverages.
3. The hotel is smoking but we have 4 non-smoking rooms. We have added a deodoriser to the laundry pocess to take off the smoke smell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
831 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
760 reviews
7.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing