We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at Ramada Resort for 4 days as part of a post-wedding family holiday (after the couple returned from their honeymoon). 11 people spanning 4 generations representing both the bride's family and the groom's family had an absolutely beautiful time at this gorgeous, tranquil property in the outskirts of Kochi. We stayed in the lake + pool facing rooms, and enjoyed every moment of our stay whether we were inside our beautifully designed rooms looking out through glass sliding doors, or on the balconies enjoying the beautiful February weather, or in the hammocks enjoying music and the lake view, or in the pool or the activity centre playing table tennis and air hockey. The restaurants were lovely and the food was excellent. When it was time to go back, the groom's parents actually decided to stay on and enjoy a few more days there by themselves! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kochi.

Room Tip: All the rooms are designed the same inside, but the lake + pool view is spectacular. The rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari-A87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback. Ramada resort is only place in cochin where you can just relax and be yourself....you can lose yourself by the pool by the lake all day !! I am glad you have a wonderful time here and hope to see you back here on a holiday !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Overwhelmed is all I could say when I visited Ramada Cochin. 8.5 acres and 42 rooms including their cottages. The grounds are immaculate and the property is so open. They have long corridors across the property with beautiful water fixtures etc.

The cottage we stayed on was #101 with views of the swimming pool and backwaters. By the way, they have a 110 meter swimming pool which is great. The room had a central console to control all the gadgets / lights of the room ( kind of like an automated room ) right from the bed. Only inconvenience I felt was it was a little hard to open the blinds.

They have some really nice restaurants. We ate at the Mexicana which is a very hip restaurants. Their mexican dishes were pretty decent how ever, their steaks were not even close to good.

We also visited their club to have a few drinks. I was a little disasppointed to see that they only serve the Indian wines by the glass. Rest of the wines were only available by the bottle.

Bottom line is that this place is a great resort with stunning views, hip restaurant and amazing rooms.

Room Tip: Stay at their cottages if you could afford. Great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiratan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. It is comments like yours which keep the team motivated more than anything else. I will look into your comment regarding the steak. We look forward to your visit to our resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The stay at Ramada Cochin was wonderful. A friend made the booking for me and my wife as a wedding gift and we had a great time at Ramada. The ambience and the smiling faces of the staff made our stay more pleasurable. Ramada Cochin’s location is its highlight. Easily accessible and still, away from the maddening crowd of the city. The food could have been little better. Especially the sea food ones.
One bad experience I had during the stay was that – my brand new car’s wiper blade was damaged. I left the key with the driver at lobby and when I got the car next day, the wiping edge portion(which comes in contact with the glass) of both wipers were not there. May be someone else have changed the blades also. Anyway, I had to replace the wipers as it was impossible to drive when it rains. I am quite sure that the wiper blades were perfectly fine till I reach Ramada. Please take care of such small things which kills all the fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank febinjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the feedback. Self driven cars are parked near the lobby abd there is always a security guard on the porch. It is highly unlikely someone would have changed the wipers of the car. If it is possible please let us know the date you had visited and the car model or registration number and I can check the CCTV of the parking area.

Suresh Kumar
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

If you are expecting a 4 star property then this is sure to satisfy you... There is enough talked about the goodmess of the resort so let me be clear of the disappointments i faced in the resort. The major problem was the food, considering that kerala is known for its seafood ,i had been served with smelly fish and flavourless prawns in the multicusine restaurant for dinner which i had informed to the manager( i think), the chef called my room and all i got was a big sorry and they promised to compensate with something special for breakfast which i think they forgot.
I also tried the mexicana restaurant which i would say was good except for the dessert menu, the chef came to the table and got its first hand review himself which i appreciate.
The room service is good but the in-room dining is slow and very hard to make them understand on the dishes we want except if it is on the menu.
Spa was just superb, i recommend it.
The breakfast was good but service at the multi-cusine was just average.
The food is overpriced compared to its quality and quantity.
And also most of the time we get the view of the roof and it seems dull and stained.
But i lOved the stay...
Food lover takecare... u might be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dev_d2u2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the Ex. Chef and has looked into your comments. We always endeavour to give you the best of the experience here. We apologise if it has been anything less. We thank you for comments about the resort. I will pass this on to the entire team. We do look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Best hotel in Kochin.
Suggestion, Reception or room service should communicate to guest clearly about the beverage timing. (local rule, alchohol not served to rooms as well after 10.30pm).
Had a confusion on that in my trip since the communication was not clear.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijaymenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review. I have spoken to the Front office staff about the importance of clarity in communications to guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A quiet understated gem. I was impressed with the stunning location overlooking a lake. Each room had a wonderful amount of space and was beautifully clean. The balconys were like another room with stunning views.

I used the salon and the banqueting suite and restraunt here and was very pleased with the service. Just a quick word of warning that hairdressing concepts were very difficult to explain and that gel and spray seem to be standard if you want that or not.

Overall outstanding

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you very much for a wonderful review. I will pass on your comments to our staff who will be thirlled that you had a wonderful time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel seemed to be the most undersold hotel in our entire Kerala Trip.It has very nice rooms with balconies that overlook the back waters as well as a winding swimming pool that runs along the length of the property .The view is spectacular and the pool looks lovely though we didnt see as many people as we expected staying with us.While i understand that a lot of people may want to go to Kumarakaom surely a one or two night stay at this hotel wouldn't be a tough sell.The food was nice , the staff was warm , courteous and all in all we had a good time.It seemed a bit empty when we were staying with not as many people as we expected given the property product however it is certainly a nice option to stop over before continuing towards Kumarakom and a property i can safely reccomend

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666_Zara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure for us to know that our guests enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,067 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
926 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
805 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range: £38 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing