We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Satisfied Overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The pros of this resort are that is situated on the backwaters and has a lot of water frontage. It also has an excellent spa, and great, attentive service. The food is good, although I would not recommend the Mexicana restaurant. It's not really Mexican food, nor is it very good. The Fennel restaurant is good and the breakfast buffet is very good. The Fitness Center is also very nice. The con of this place is that it is outdated and in need of some remodeling. The clay tile roofs are all badly stained and old looking. The rooms could also use a freshening. I even got stuck in their old elevator. It just needs a couple million dollars of TLC...nuff said. But overall, I enjoyed my stay here. Great massage, great service, comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saustin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

Thank you for your critical review. Your comments about the Mexican restaurant has already been actioned by our Chef. The roof tiles are not changed unless it is broken. A clay left in on the roof will discolour within a matter of months given the rainy weather in Kerala.
I regret that you had got stuck in the elevator. Sometimes there is unannounced power cuts and it takes about 10 to 15 seconds for the generator to kick in and the power is restored.

I thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    232
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
223
161
25
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Last thing I like to do when on vacation is fighting or arguing for the rights. This place being the ideally located very near to Kochi can do wonders,if the management understands hospitality.
We had booked the rooms well in advance(about 6 months) & had booked 1 room on lake facing & 2 rooms on garden facing. While at the check in, we were asked to pay balance amount.(I understand that You ask for balance amount only when you are not sure about your product) First we were taken to my parent's room facing lake side(My parents are around 80 years old). They were shown the room which had only 30% view of the lake,balance was covered by front side buildings so we told them to change the rooms. Now we were given the room on the further most side of the resort,which required long walk. My elderly parents were forced to walk. The walk was through sort of godown type of a decorator with stacks of chairs & table lying. There was a manadapam for wedding used previous day so not a very clean place. Still the room was fine with good view,we agreed for it. Then we were taken to our rooms,called Superior rooms (We were told that it faces garden), the room of a very small size for a resort had view of a dump yard. The entire building was like a mid city business hotel. Passages very small & dingy. We were not at all ready to spoil our vacation in such a room. We again went to reception where receptionist tried to convince us or pay us more to get the better rooms. Finally after lots of argument Sales Manager came in with same type of arguments but more considerate,agreed to shift us to lake facing rooms. So atleast our vacation went well.
While enjoying the vacation there is a beautiful swimming pool of approx 100 mtrs long. Very well made front garden. But the people managing the pool are instructed to economise on things & so were not ready to run the water falls or jacuzzi or even pool lights. They argued that for just 2-3 people it is national waste to run these things. It was an argument I suppose was taught from management.
The activity centre was very dull & with no one to entertain or manage the place.
It was more like a business hotel ideal for convention but not for family holidays.
The Mexicana restaurant was a big DISASTER.

Room Tip: Better options available around Kochi. If you are still staying in this place,stay in the cottages f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalalvandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

I regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Its the policy of the hotel to collect one night in advance if no deposit has been paid during reservation.

Deluxe and Superior are the same rooms. We are recategorising the rooms and the sites are in the process of being changed.

All Superior rooms have only a view of portion of the gardens. Some of the rooms are facing the backside of the resort. Precisely the reason why there is a huge price difference between the Superior and the Cottage.

We had given a free upgrade of the cottages to you. We charge an upgrade charge of Rs. 3000 The cottages are currently priced at Rs. 9000 per night. When we upgrade we give priority to guests who have paid for the cottages first and then the upgrades are alloted. For this reason you might not get the premium cottages.

We shut the pool at 8 pm as the chlorination starts at 8.30 pm. The timings are displayed clearly on the two boards by the poolside. The fountains are actually filteration systems and are switched on as per the requirement of the pool usage.

I have informed the Chef about your feedback about Mexicana.

We hope you will come back, and I will personally ensure that you are taken care betterl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had made reservations for November '13 Diwali holidays as early as May. We had booked one Lake View cottage and two Deluxe (Superior) rooms which we were given to understand were garden-facing. Ramada made finer distinctions between same category rooms which was not conveyed to guests nor explained on web site. At the time of check-in, I requested the reception clerk to give us a cottage with a good view as being 80 year old very senior citizens we would hardly move out of our room and would pass most of our time on the varandah.
We were first asked to pay room rent by credit card in advance even when they took photocopy of the card.
The room we were taken to had a view of roof tops and a little bit of lake in one corner.
We declined to accept such a room. It was then that we were taken to a fine room overlooking pool and lake. Why they did not offer this room in the first place after my special request is beyond my understanding especially when more than half the hotel was vacant. The receptionist explained distinction between “Lakeside” and “Poolside”.
This was not the end. The other two rooms called Superior rooms were actually over garbage dump. They were supposed to be garden facing. Again we failed to understand what was “Deluxe” and what was “Superior”.
After a quarrel & seeking refund to go to some other hotel, two cottages were allotted.
Hotels should clearly explain distinctions like 'superior' and 'deluxe' and such clever and vaguely mentioned terms 'poolside' or 'lakeside'. Again they did not have tariff distinction to alert you to possibilities of differences.
There was good amount of economy going on; pool lights which looked so pretty switched off even before dark; only one water spout on out of three, waterfalls started only on request; deck-chair mattresses wound up at the earliest so one could not relax later in the evening.
Gym machines needed urgent repairs and overhaul, attendant missing, no drinking water in the gym.
The bed in my room and other rooms that our family occupied had mattresses that were worn out, lumpy, and sloping.
We took dinner one evening in the Mexican restaurant. Nothing Mexican about it. Even otherwise an ordinary meal.
Overall an impression of a run-down place urgently needing renovation and a change of mindset to make the guest happy, satisfied, and comfortable.

Room Tip: Cottage facing Pool and Lake. ( Room No. 101, 102, 103)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautamahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

I regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Deluxe and Superior are the same rooms. We are recategorising the rooms and the sites are in the process of being changed.

All Superior rooms have only a view of portion of the gardens. Some of the rooms are facing the backside of the resort. Precisely the reason why there is a huge price difference between the Superior and the Cottage.

We had given a free upgrade of the cottages to you. We charge an upgrade charge of Rs. 3000 The cottages are currently priced at Rs. 9000 per night. When we upgrade we give priority to guests who have paid for the cottages first and then the upgrades are alloted. For this reason you might not get the premium cottages.

The gym does not have an instructor and a board at the main door clearly specifies it. The drinking water is free in the gym which is kept in refrigerator. It is possible it might have been depleted. I have instructed the housekeeping to be more vigilant.

We shut the pool at 8 pm as the chlorination starts at 8.30 pm. The timings are displayed clearly on the two boards by the poolside. The fountains are actually filteration systems and are switched on as per the requirement of the pool usage.

The pool beds are kept aside by 7 pm because , it is the season in Kerala where we get rains in the night. If we leave it overnight, it will get wet and cannot be used the next day.

I have informed the Chef about your feedback about Mexicana.

We hope you will come back, and I will personally ensure that you are taken care betterl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had an outstanding stay with Ramada. Since we dint book accommodations, we directly gone and checked-in.Stayed for 2 complete days. full relaxation. Felt away from crowded city. Well maintained rooms and interiors. excellent service by staff and coordination by management. Food was really awesome. this place is highly recommendable in all means. out of all meals, we all liked the breakfast part much..upstair restaurant and beautiful view is a good part to start the day. Big pool and Buffet area makes it more beautiful. Full mark to the team Ramada..

Room Tip: Try to prefer Lake Facing Cottages as its giving stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avanthi143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for a wonderful review. I have passed on your comments to the team who will be thrilled to read it.

We hope to see you back in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I went with my two kids for 3 nights and they enjoyed a lot with no doubts.The pools were clean and big.Food was pleasing and they hv wide range of food tat was suitable for all.Room service was a bit late but was not of huge concern.food was served hot in the rooms and the waiters n attenders were too good and graceful.The reception staffs were so kind enough to suggest us some place to visit and arranged for the in house cab.Charges extra.The overall experience were soo gud..and will not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Lake view is always good..but the cottages on the other side does nt hv any view but still very gud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandhyaRamkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be thrilled to read it.

We hope to see you back again in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful location on the lake in Cochin. The staff was so gracious, friendly and helpful for every detail. The morning breakfast and Upstairs restaurant are fantastic to start and end the day with great meals.

They arranged an hour boat ride and all of my transportation needs during my week stay. They outdoor banquet area on the lake and pool are spectacular and BIG. You can have a great company event or wedding at this resort. It was better than expected. It is not in the heart of Cochin, but not far if you want to venture to town.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a lake and pool view from the upstairs balcony. I saw a photo shoot on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest ,

Namaskaram !!

Thank you for a wonderful feedback.. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be thrilled to read it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent one night here before flying out - the hotel is fine (but not 5 star!).
The hotel cottages, gardens and the pool are good but beyond that the hotel needs work. The back of the hotel all needs to be renovated if it is going to be described as luxury. The games room is a tragedy (very depressing - even has a broken window) - the restaurant is being renovated so hopefully that will be better than the soulless room we ate in. The staff were kind and let us hang by the pool after we had checked out. The hotel is located just off the highway so we felt trapped with nowhere to just wander to. If you just want to lie by the pool and look at the lake it is fine. If you want true luxury or if you want to be near the hustle and bustle of India - then it is not for you!

being renovated so we had to eat in a banquet room, the o

Room Tip: Get a cottage and get the room 101 if you want to see the pool out the front and lake out the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

I aplogise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I have made a note of your comment about the back areas and the games room and have already taken corrective action to address these concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing