We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Location is very important when you are looking for a 5 star hotel in Kochi.
Many of the 5 star hotels are located near busy roads. If you are looking for the perfect location Ramada Resort is probably your best option. The rooms near the swimming pool ( I think the largest pool in South India) are superb. Wonderful views over the backwaters over Kochi.
Quite and romantic Staff is very friendly - breakfast / buffet diners are great value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms around the swimming pool facing the backwaters are perfect
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I thank you for taking your valuable time out to write a wonderful review. I have passed on your compliments to the team.

We hope to see you back at the Ramada Resort !

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Resort Cochin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

The space at Ramada is absolutely beautiful and for the most part the staff really were absolutely lovely, especially the team at the restaurant and the hotel drivers. The other guests were quiet and kept to themselves. I enjoyed the spa, and the breakfasts were fantastic and I watched every sunrise and sunset from my balcony. It was spectacular. I had deliberately selected a quiet place far away from the city and for the most part got that. 5 stars on this aspect. We did not find the space worn out as others have said. The space is top notch and very comfortable. However, we there were problems: we bought a package (stay + food + other things) which was completely overpriced for what we got. Next time I would just rent the room and do ala carte on everything else. We were supposed to get a water view but got a tree view and had to request a room change. Room service comes quick (awesome!) but dishes aren't taken away the same day (ug). Biggest problem: The events. We were there 3 nights. One night a wedding kept us awake. Another night, they had an event in the center space which was so loud due to the sound system being used. We had to shout to hear each other in our own room. I had to pass through the center of the party to get to my room, and our tables marked "private for guests" were invaded completely. That evening was absolutely unbearable and very stressful. After our request, we got another room for sleeping in because there was no way we could have slept through the noise. We couldn't even think or talk it was so loud. We paid $250+ per night for stay, and were shocked to have something like this happen. Really it felt completely unprofessional for the hotel to book events right in the middle of the sleeping areas. This experience was a good reminder of what I already knew from years of traveling in this Country: traveling in India can be a challenge. While there are hotel gems, there are more often problems at every hotel. I might stay at this hotel again, I just should have much lower expectations about the experience I might have. Maybe next time I will stay at a less expensive place so I am more willing to tolerate problems. Or I will stay here and take my chances.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is best. You can ask for a lagoon view not near the pool. We liked that the best, it w...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChefHaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I apologise for the late reply.

I truly apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We never take a function in the courtyard. This is the first time we had taken the function and this was due to certain unavoidable reason.

Let me assure you , that this is the first and last time we will ever conduct a party in the courtyard.

Regards,

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I went to ramada resort for a night stay with my husband and 6 yr daughter on jan 27 monday.we stayed at room no:106 lake facing cottage.At the same night when i entered into the bathroom i slipped on the tiled bathroom and fell down as a result my left ankle got fractured and my knee got dislocated.the slipper provided in the room was very skidy and there was no anti slip safety mat.the injury was reported to the hotel,the staff were ready to assist us and very co operative especially the cab driver who assist us to the nearby lakeshore hospital.I dont receive any co operation from the hotel manager.the hotel authorities did not refund the amount we paid.I am not satisfied with the attitude of the hotel corporate people.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank teenaanup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

We regret for the unfortunate experience you had in the resort. We had assisted you the best possible way in the circumstances.

Regards,

Suresh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Nair J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having a good stay is not necessarily just having big rooms and a good view, the courtesy of the hotel staff, the quality of the facilities all matter.
I felt that Ramada thinks their job is done because they are called as a 'luxurious 5 star resort with amazing view'. I dont think so.
Their people and staff could be more courteous and nice to the customers. For the price we pay, this is the least that i expected.
THe wifi could be faster and better and they can provide it free!
Too many small things just destroyed it for me, but probably i had a higher expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilpa_george4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

Thank you for taking your time out for writing a review. I regret if your stay has not been as per your expectations. If you could write to me at suresh.kumar@ramadacochin.com and elaborate your experience with the staff, I can take corrective steps.
The WiFi in the resort is free. There is no charge for usage. If you have been charged for the WiFi, I request you to send me the copy of the bill and we will refund the amount.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had some difficult nailing down the exact location of the Hotel. Our cab driver was given wrong directions, and there was plenty of back and forth, before finding the place. The interiors, looked like they were wearing out, but some sweet talk with the reception, got us a better room.

The pool isn't that Superb (though advertised Longest), and is more of a narrow Long drain, causing people to bump into each other.. The property overlooks the lagoon and has a fantastic view, but then the staff did nothing to repel all the mosquitoes in the area. What more can you expect more of a Lagoon, as a location.

Staff are very friendly, and service is what you can expect for the price. Ideal location for a romantic getaway, provided you bring your own mosquito repellant.

Room Tip: Ask for any room, overlooking the lagoon, and with a chance of catching the sunrise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lixonsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !

I thank you for writing a review on our resort.

To a large extend we try to curb the mosquito menace by constantly keeping the area clean and fogging in the evening. While these measures have only a few hours effect, we always advice that when you travel anywhere in India to carry your own mosquito repellant.

We do provide the repellant at the front desk albeit at the cost price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at Ramada with my husband and 2 year old son. The experience was awesome. Right from the check-in to check-out it was a hurdle free experience. Huge spacious rooms, well equipped bathrooms, beautiful pool, well stacked mini bar, great views, great food, awesome staff. The place was even more beautiful than it is in pictures. Must visit for all who plan to be in Kerala n want to just sit back and relax watching the sun rise right from their bed.........love to be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sanaarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram !!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable stay at our resort and the food & services were up to your satisfaction.Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Ramada Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,047 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
846 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
798 reviews
19.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range: £61 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing