We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice swimming pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Resort Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I just spent the weekend of my business trip to Cochin in Ramada resort. It's an excellent hotel with perfect service and beautiful surroundings. Especially the swimming pool is really great. The standard rooms do not have a balcony and the restaurant does not have outdoor seating in the evening. So I had to spend a lot of time in AC rooms, which I absolutely hate, as it's always too cold. The restaurant is ok, it has to usual buffet for dinner, which is not really my favourite as the selection is quite limited.
Unfortunately there was a big party in the garden with extremly loud bollywood music. I often go to rock concerts, so I'm not very sensitive. But the loudness was really incredible. The windows of my room were vibrating! This happened very often also in other resorts. Such events seem to be very popular and they never care about hotel guests. Well the Indians are noise resistant, but for me as a Europeen it is very disturbing, especially because I hate this cheesy bollywood music.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    228
    65
    21
    13
See reviews for
219
158
25
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My young family and Ihave stayed at the Ramada Cochin and apart from the lovely dining and swimming pool (very lovely) I would say the best feature of the stay was the staff, From the front desk to the dining staff we were treated like family, not guests for the whole time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is one good place in God's Own Country. The ambiance of the hotel is so good that you will love at once. The best place is the long pool. You can have fun in this resort with good food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

I want to start by writing that its an amazing place to stay. Its around 50 mins journey from the airport. I reached early and called for an early check in at around 12:30 and they happily arranged the room for us. I had booked the lake view cottage. The view in and around the resort is very good. The check-in hardly took any time, and we were greeted with cold towels and a refreshing welcome drink. Within minutes we were in the lovely cottage, overlooking the meandering pool and the backwaters. Pictures do not do justice to the place, you actually need to visit the place to experience it. The bed was comfortable and room had everything that make your stay comfortable. The balcony was a place where you can sit and see the sun going down while enjoying your drink. You dont need to walk to get to the pool. Its right next to your cottage. I took an all inclusive pacakge. There is a limited menu for the all inclusive package, and if you are staying for more than 2 days, you will end up repeating the dishes. The food was good. The hotel arranged a one hour boat cruise for us the following morning, really enjoyed it. In all we really enjoyed our stay at Ramada and will definitely recommend it and would go back there.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matrix0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 4 months trip to India. The hotel complex is beautiful and there are lovely views across the backwaters. Once you are here you really have no choice but to eat and drink here, and at times the service in the restaurant and bar can be a bit hit and miss. WE stayed in a standard room for the first two nights, which was fab but were moved to one of the pool/backwater facing cottages for the third night as there was a large wedding taking place in the function rooms below our first room. The cottages really stunnning, not sure how much extra you would pay for them but I would say it's worth it. The pool is really lovely, but the pool bar was shut, you could however call across to the restaurant for refreshments, but they took some time coming! THe food in the restaurant is pretty ok, however on the Saturday night they had a buffet and bbq which was stunning, a massive choice of food and very good quality. The hotel offers tour and taxi services, we rented a car with driver for 1000 rupees for 5 hours, kthe driver took us all around Fort Cochin and Mattancherry at a really leisurely pace, it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Wonderful setting on the back waters .Bedrooms stylish, spacious balconies but access only by stairs .Amazing pool facilities but totally under utilised so rather souless Food in restaurant excellent but expensive. At least 40 minutes drive to old Cochin . All the staff provided excellent and friendly service. An ideal hotel to recover from jet lag and start your trip to Kerala

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth ,
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

The sound proofing in this hotel is non existant.The first night, there were children screaming and racing up and down the corridors till the early hours .The second night a wedding reception was taking place in the conference centre right underneath our rooms .The music was so loud the furniture was vibrating in our room.Nice pool though and the restuarant was good .Suggest if you stay you ask for a room on the opposite from the conference centre .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyfizzy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
I regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. There was a wedding function that night in the hall and your room was right above that. As the resort was full we could not relocate the guests to better rooms. We have taken corrective actions for the future. All music will be stopped in the hall after 10 pm and only light instrumental music will be allowed. We have already implemented this.

I once again apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
5.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing