We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

This review is so long overdue. Apologies to Raiyan and Ramu Butler. We had our little girls christening ceremony reception in the hotel in July 2009!! I know, it is way too late. However the organisation and professionalism shown by Raiyan was exceptional and it would be totally unfair if I didn't share it with the world. he paid a lot of attention to all the minute details and that made a lot of difference. We had a lot of requests and he managed to sort it all out including the chocolate fountain, the projector slide show and the Magician. (The magician was fab as well).
The food was extremely delicious and well presented. There were minimal or no complaints from our folks (and that is a big compliment, because they are well versed in the art of complaining!). Ramu Butller was nice and stayed around for most of the function to make sure the crowd enjoyed. There were about 220 guests for the reception and everyone seemed to enjoy the food.
We stayed in Ramada for a couple of nights after the reception.The hotel itself is well located for Cochin. The views around the hotel are amazing and its well maintained. The rooms are nice and the spa is one of the best I have seen . Most of the treatments were not started in July 2009, but a year on I am sure they are full fledged. It is about 15-20 mts drive to the main city centre(but can be longer with traffic). However i would recommend staying here rather than the centre of Cochin. It can get really crowded and noisy in MG road etc, so if you want a peaceful nights sleep this is probably the better option. There are a few restaurants around in the 1 km circle, but the hotel restaurant food was delicious.
I am not sure of what deals you can get, but would certainly recommend this place if you want a nice comfy pad in Cochin to explore what else central Kerala has to offer.
If the management is reading this... Give Raiyan a pay rise or something, he was top class and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review. Unfortunately Ryan has left us and has joined his family business. I have passed on your comments to Chef Ramu and the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    232
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
223
161
25
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydneyaustralia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to relax. The room we were given was right next to the elevator and accross from the kiddies games room so we got all the noise. When we complained and asked to move were told the hotel was full but we could have a bungalow for an extra USD$100.00 a night !! When we told them we were checking out immediately to stay at another hotel, they offered us the bungalow at no extra cost. Because the Ramada is so isolated we had all of our meals and drinks at the hotel and found it more expensive than Australia - VERY expensive for India standards. (only one retaurant too) Also there seems to be too a lot of staff on duty for breakfast but not working together and paying attention to the guests waiting for tea/coffee and clearing dirty tables. Very overpriced and very isolated.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kimandaussiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
I apologise for the unpleasant experience. I would like to point out one thing though. You get the best deals when you book on the net. But over the counter our rates are 7000 for the deluxe and 10000 for the cottage. The standard upgrade charge is 3000 Rs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
372 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

This is a nice hotel a bit out side of the city. The pool is very long, which is nice and gives a nice view over the lake. The cottage rooms are nice. The bathroom is spacious, and the balcony gives a real noce feel to it. They have free wifi in the cottage rooms, which is not common in most hotel in India. On a downside, they only have one restaurant which is nothing too special. Overall a nice hotel and I would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchguy_in_Allgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review. Your comments have been passed on to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

amazingly good food at the restaurant and cool place at the long swimming pool

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. The comments have been passed on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ramada for our honeymoon. the check in was smooth, friendly staff. We opted for the cottage on stilts, although all of them seem to be on stilts..Ours was near a stage next to the meandering swimming pool, so some progamme was going on when we arrived. A bit noisy then, but it stopped at night. Dinner at the restaurant was awesome. In fact, we stayed there for three days and enjoyed the food served for lunch and dinner. It was exquisite.
The room was clean, the lights were touchscreen operated- a bit too complicated for the heck of it i felt. But nevertheless, excellent location, and good amenities especially the swimming pool and gym. good staff.
I would really recommend it for couples, and ask for a room away from the staging area, it could get noisy.. but other than that a splendid place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmathew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. The comments have been passed on to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

i really liked the place, it was peaceful and quiet, i would recommend this place for great escape from the city

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. The comments have been passed on to theentire team at Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Our first trip to India and the 1st hotel we stayed in, had one of the cottages overlooking the pool..........first impressions.......WOW!!! The grounds, clean & smart, our cottage, fabulous with a very large walk in shower (which the 3 of us used together), remote controlled lights & air conditioning, clean, fresh & comfortable bed.

The food was lovely, great choice of hot & cold foods, sweet bread, people and staff very friendly. If we went to India again, we would definitely stay at the Ramada.

Thanks to all!

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DJP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochinramada, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cochin, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you very much for wonderful review. The comments have been passed on to the entire team at Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbalam
6.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cochin

Property: Ramada Resort Cochin
Address: | Kumbalam South, Kumbalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Kumbalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kumbalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Resort Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the silence of the shores Ramada Resort is a poem. Written on the banks of a tranquil lake. You find the island of silence just 17 km from Kochi, Kerala's metropolis, and 2 km from a busy national highway. The Kumbalam backwaters is part of the famed Vembanad Lake. As the gates open, a sudden change in landscape, a riot of greenery, and silence, greet you. A harmonious mix of exhibitive desert trees and the natural flora of Kerala instil in you the same feeling you experience while watching your child take its first steps: excitement! Pass through the front office that exudes the Keralan hospitality, laced with the professionalism of Ramada, and walk into one of those 24 pool-facing villas. The long walk itself is a refreshing change, compared with boxing oneself into the usual elevator. The greenery soothes the nerves of even a weary traveller. You have started experiencing the space. And silence. Oh! Its space everywhere. Spread across 7 acres of land, Ramada Resort has only 42 living spaces. You would perhaps enjoy the largest per capita space on a resort in Kerala! Before stepping into your room, you find the ground floor is just floor, and not a room! Your kids may want to stay back and play. Let them, and you allow yourself into your cottage. In the super luxury of the room, you will come across the best amenities. Open the glass door and step into the balcony. The meandering pool stretches itself to 110 metres in front of you. Its waters almost touch the lake, which touches the eastern horizon for sure. The enormous expanse of the backwater, lined with coconut trees, will make you feel the thrill of floating freely on a ship's deck, a la Jack and Rose. It's a play of water, mixed with serenity. You feel engulfed by infinity. Almost. In the morning, the sun rising from across the waters will greet you on the balcony. You may feel like doing a sun-salutation, the most beneficial yoga posture. The fisherman in his canoe rowing against the myriad hues of morning sun will be a picture postcard scene that reminds you of the painting competition in your school days. In the evening, the reflections of the setting sun on the serene waters would take you to the empire of silence. The water, layers and layers of it, may tempt you to try some water therapy. Walk into the spa, Kerala's largest. It offers more than 25 varieties of herbal and western massages. Treat yourself to foot reflexology and leave the seat with every organ in your body relaxed. Or try Thai massage. Or Balinese. Treat your senses to the aroma of freshly fried seafood. With your stomach directing you towards the restaurant, the turn in the corridor next to it opens up suddenly into an empty expanse of greenery. The deja vu feeling of having one's own extra space suddenly overpowers the unassuming traveller. It takes some time to adjust to this heavenly feeling and finally when lunch is served, you realise even time has no boundaries in this part of the world and stands still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Resort Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort,Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Ramada Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing