We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Frayed, threadbare towels. Smallest toilet bowl I've ever seen - why remodel a bathroom and go cheap on the toilet bowl? Also skimped on soap! Room was musty, moldy & stale, had to turn off the heat because even on its lowest setting it was blasting & too hot. River view would have been nice except for the noise from the Interstate bridge on the left and the railroad bridge on the right. Had a devil of a time finding the place & it's not near anything.
On the positive side: staff was extremely courteous and pleasant, breakfast buffet was simple but adequate and the staff in the "restaurant" was especially nice and helpful.
Would like to see them spruce the place up a little and keep the same staff. Nothing you can do about the location.

Room Tip: avoid river view, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russelltrunzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasondruso, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Riverfront, we are apologize for this experience. This is not indicative of a normal stay at our hotel. We take great pride in the service and product we deliver. It is eveident you saw that pride revealed in the comments you made about the service and the staff. We would like another opportunity to host you. Please contact management when you make your reservation so that we may have the opportunity to meet you. We are sure that this time you will enter as a guest and leave as a friend and ambassador of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Switched hotels and Holiday Inn room was definitely cleaner and updated compared to Marriott Courtyard Hotel next door.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germfree78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week long meeting. From the front desk to the housekeepers- I was made to feel at home. I even got a chocolate wrench from the person that changed my lightbulb. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel was nice and a great location. It was easy to get everywhere from here without the cost of city parking. The rooms had comfortable, the beds soft, and in general were very clean. But, the thing that I was most impreesed by was how friendly everyone was. Everyone was just so nice and happy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

we had to make a trip recenlty to cincinnati childrens hospital. i had never been to this area. the hospital made our reservations for us. i found it kinda of odd that we were booked in KY but since they were used to making the reservations i accepted it. i am glad i did. this is a wonderful place to stay. unfortunately we were able to use the pool, our own personal reasons but it looked like fun! the manager was absolutely wonderful, he welcomed us as soon as we walked in the door, the lady was checking us in and he was asking what we were in town for. he was soooo helpful and they went well out of their way to make our visit a great one. we had a perfectly clean room, everyone we delt with was great. the desk people printed out some driving directions for us to different areas to visit in the evenings after we were finished with all the doctors appts. the lady taking orders in the restaurant was amazing!!! she was so helpful. i have celiac disease and cant have wheat rye barley ---any gluten whatsoever or i get extremely ill... she took her time with me and was very concerned... i told her what i was interested in eating and she made it all possible for me to get what i wanted with out me getting 'glutened' we will definately be using this holiday in for everyone of our visits to CCH. thanks for all you did to make our tough time a little easier for us.. we appreciate it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed for four nights on business. Position is handy for getting to downtown. Apparently good for getting to thefootball/baseball games. Great position if you like fast food - McDs, BK, WhiteCastle etc outside door. Also two blocks north of Main Street, Covington, which has some very good restaurants (and pub with excellent choice of beer).The hotel is next to the main road bridge over the Ohio from the south and traffic noise is loud all day long. General room and hotel decor is good and well maintained. Window leaked traffic noise badly. Service was excellent throughout - front desk, dining-room, cleaning. Nice people. Dining-room/bar was disappointing: dark and unwelcoming. Breakfast was well cooked, but limited. Lunch/dinner menu very basic. I had two meals there - food was not good. No draft beer, either. I would recommend it as a place to sleep, but to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here as part of a group tour package I booked with my husband. Rooms were and comfortable, but the breakfast buffet was terrible. I'm glad it was already part of my package, because I definitely would not have paid extra for it.

Wasn't impressed by the location. For a hotel with "riverfront" in the name, you'd think that you could at least see the Ohio River, but that wasn't the case. I also wouldn't recommend going outside of the hotel alone at night, unless you want homeless people approaching you for money, food, etc. I definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Covington hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cincinnati Riverfront Downtown Area
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Covington Cincinnati Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Address: 600 W 3rd St, Covington, KY 41011-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range: £82 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing