We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Night's stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel while taking in a ball game in Cincinnati. The hotel is only about a mile walk to Great American Ballpark and is also across the Bridge from Paul Brown Stadium. We had 3 good night's rest, can't complain about the hotel much. The room was clean, the common areas were clean, the restaurant area was clean. We had the buffet breakfast every morning. Food wasn't the greatest I had ever had but far from the worst. The food that was supposed to be hot was hot and the fresh fruit was in good shape. The staff in the restaurant were always polite and friendly as was every other staff member we encountered from housekeeping to front desk. The hotel seems a little dated, but still comfortable. Everything we expected from a Holiday Inn. We would definitely stay here again if seeing another Reds or Bengals game in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FreeAgent27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    139
    68
    26
    23
See reviews for
74
88
24
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed there because everything else was booked out for the weekend. We enjoyed the pool and service at breakfast was good as well. The room was decent size, standard I would say for mid west, although I dissapointed there was no fridge available in the room.

Another drawback was the doors... the locks work with the electronic card, but it takes skill to open them.. you need to push them 'just so..' It took us on average 4-8 tries... This was the same for my coworker's room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baebsjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear baebsjenny,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. It is great to hear that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. I would also like to for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel was easy to find. The room was nice and comfortable, but seemed a little small. Free internet was easy to hook up. There were just baked cookies at the front desk for us to enjoy. We had a good nights sleep with great pillows. The outside pool was good sized and enjoyed by all. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was truly just average. When we first entered our room it smelled musty. For the $ amount spent I felt it was not up to par of others i've stayed at. I was surprised there was no small refrigerator or microwave. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Don't let the word "Riverfront" fool you. You cannot see the river. it is very close to the stadiums, etc however. Would I stay here again - probably not.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PurdueGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear PurdueGirl57,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the room accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this location for two nights. We took our grandsons to a ball game and the aquarium. This is an older Holiday Inn but was fine. Every staff member was pleasant and helpful. There is free wifi.

Checking in, we were given a map and an explanation of the trolley system. That turned out to be a wonderful surprise. We did not take our car out while we were there. When going to Cincinnati or Newport, cross over Third and walk down the street past McDonalds to the overpass. Trolleys run every 15 minutes. No car parking hassle! We noticed the stops and signs and it helped us with sight seeing, hopping on and off as necessary. Do have the right change, drivers do not make change at all. A ride is $1. A great value, just have plenty so singles.

Our room was a king with a pull out sofa. The sofa was fine for our kids, 11 and 9. The king bed was very comfortable. Our room was cleaned, vacuumed, and we found no hair in the bathroom as reported by others. I did notice it smelled a little stale but we always bring a pleasant air freshener. There is an air freshening scent used in the lobby. They should use it all through the hotel, including rooms after they clean. Halls were clean, the pool was great. The restaurant is fine for breakfast but dinner is limited to burgers, nachos, sandwich fare. Not a full service facility but was ok. Kids eat free from the kids menu.

We needed assistance during the night and they were right there for us, Our grandson became ill. They were in our room with new bedding and took out the old in less than five minutes.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay. If you are looking for a five star hotel at this price, look else where. But if a clean, friendly, older facility will work, this is the place. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscola, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

When I first got off the interstate it was dark and all I saw was a bunch of metal structures holding up other roads and I thought I had chose the wrong location. But the next morning it didn't look so bad. Its an older property but it's very well maintained. The room was very clean.

All the desk clerks I encounterd (pretty much everyone that worked the desk while I was there) were very friendly and helpful. As a hotel GM I like to ask the desk clerks for suggestions as I know they will be a wealth of knowledge. Two blocks from the hotel is the Main Strasse Village is two blocks up from the hotel and then a stretches about two blocks over. If you room is facing the pool side of the property you can see the clock tower poking up out of the trees. Beautiful! Totally worth the two block drive ;)

I would definately stay here again. Its nice to stay some where where you can tell the GM cares about the propety and the staff works hard to keep it sparkling! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

convenient location, centrally located to attractions in and around Cincinnati. Good area to walk to nearby neighborhoods. Handy to get onto highways. Nice outdoor pool, friendly staff. Not fancy but fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Cincinnati Covington
0.5 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott at RiverCenter
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati Riverfront (Downtown Area)
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
Address: 600 W 3rd St, Covington, KY 41011-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing