We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shape was the best part.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Shape was the best part.”
Reviewed 14 June 2007

I stayed here two nights during a conference I was attending at the convention center a few blocks away. I did not have any problems with the room. It was on the fifth floor. The room was small, but not cramped, even with two double beds. I did not care for the Sleep Number beds. The mattresses felt queasy like waterbeds and they were difficult to get comfortable in. The open-air balcony was a plus, even though ours overlooked the roof of the pool and the back of a gas station. Our room had coffee maker, tiny refrigerator, and hair dryer, although we did not use them. The regular facilities worked fine for us.

During our stay, we did not use the pool, the fitness room, or the advertised breakfast. We did eat one dinner in the revolving restaurant at the top of the building. The food was all right but the prices were outrageously expensive, I thought, being about $25 each. The views were fabulous, however. It takes about one hour and ten minutes to make the full circle.

The free parking was nice, and the hotel was within walking distance of the river, the convention center, and several restaurants. On the first night of our stay, there was a festival taking place in the neighborhood (carnival rides, beer tent, and bands on outdoor stages) which was loud enough to be heard inside the room until 2 a.m. I probably would not stay there again, if I had the choice.

  • Liked — The revolving restaurant at the top was fun.
  • Disliked — It seemed too expensive for what we got.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    303
    210
    151
    146
See reviews for
345
329
40
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michele Orr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Stayed there from May 25th until May 28th, Will never stay there again!!
If you need a handicapped room, they are small, inconvenient & the bathroom is dangerous. The water when taking a shower goes everywhere,since they are roll in. The floor/shower are not sloped and the shower curtain is about 10" too short. So when you get out...there is about 1" of standing water and it is slippery. The person helping me almost fell several times. So we layered extra towels to sop up the water everytime and who wants to do that??? Our coffee pot did not work, and was full of water that we didn't put in.
Couldn't flush without plunging. Don't have any queen or king size beds available in handicapped rooms, we had 2 doubles my hubby & I slept in 1 and our teenage son slept in the other.
Although advertised fridge in everyroom, we had to ask for it.
Not as clean as it should be. Just not a good experience for us.

For our money, we'll go back over to the Hampton Inn, cleaner, nicer, quieter, bigger rooms, and customer friendly.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

As a former Cincinnati resident, I chose this hotel for the location and the value. It has great views and is very convenient to all the activities that I wanted to do in Covington, Newport and downtown Cincinnati--Newport on the Levy, all of the historic riverside mansions, carriage rides, riverboat rides, Mainstrasse Village, the Newport Aquarium, a walk across the Purple People Bridge to Sawyer Point and Montgomery Inn Boathouse, the ballparks, etc. (It is quite far from King's Island, so definitely choose another hotel in northeast Cincinnati if that's where you want to go.) The Radisson is about seven or eight miles from the airport and has an airport shuttle. There is also a shuttle that takes you to other attractions in the area for just $1. Driving in the Cincinnati area can be a challenge, so it's great to just park the car and let someone else worry about it! This hotel was built in the 1970's, and when you look at the outside, it's easy to picture the Jetsons flying up to one of the balconies. To me that adds to the charm, but if you're looking for a brand new hotel, you will be disappointed. The round shape of the hotel affects the size of the rooms, and the cheapest rooms (which you'll probably end up with if you use Priceline, etc.) are actually called Double Compact Rooms and most if not all of those don't have the best views. Go to their website to see descriptions. [--] Several other hotels in the area charge quite a bit to park, so complimentary parking is definitely a plus too.

Do not expect luxury. This is an older hotel, but you're also not paying luxury hotel prices for the perks that you do get. There's a revolving rooftop restaurant that made Zagat's list of 100 most romantic restaurants in the U.S., wonderful views of the river, the fireworks over the ballparks and the lights of Cincinnati, and a pool with a retractable rooftop.

  • Liked — View, shuttles, location, restaurant, pool
  • Disliked — Older hotel, smaller rooms
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karrie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2007

I booked this hotel in order to have an economic option near of downtown. My room was at 2th floor it was pretty noisy because of the highway traffic. The telephone is wireless but only works as speakerphone. Staff is friendy . Breakfast is ok. The cincinnati shutlle is available for 1 dolar every 30 minutes in the front of the hotel. If you are looking for an economical not so fancy hotel, this is a good option.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — phone doesnt works fine
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trixBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We booked this hotel through Priceline, needing an economical hotel close to downtown. Our room was not available when we checked in (though we had called the hotel that afternoon to advise we would be checking in late, approx 11 pm), and we were given an "upgrade" to a room with 2 double beds. The room was standard -- two double beds, a desk, tv, dresser. It did have a cordless phone (which we couldn't figure out how to use except for the speakerphone). The room did not have a hair dryer, but after calling (on the speakerphone) housekeeping did bring one to our room. (We also had no washcloths.)

This is an older hotel, and though the room looked like it had been remodeled somewhat recently, some of the wallpaper was peeling and the carpet was worn.

There appeared to be a party of some sort going on in the room next to ours, and we could hear yelling and the TV/music well past midnight. After calling the front desk at 2:30 am to complain, we were told that security would be sent up immediately to take care of the problem. I'm not sure if anyone came up, but the noise continued until after 3 a.m. We spoke to the front desk staff in the morning, who said they were told that the problem had been taken care of. We explained what we experienced (that it was not taken care of) and were offered a complimentary breakfast.

Although we got the room at an very good rate through Priceline, I would pay extra and stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2007

Cons:
* Dirty
* Heating not good enough in room
* Very cold restaurant
* Breakfast said opening at 6.30. No staff or guests
in the restaurant at 7.10
* Pricy restaurant (at least twice the price it's worth, $20-$35 for main course)
* No iron in the room
* Toilet not functioning
* Phones difficult to use if you would need to
* Keys stopped working too early

Pros:
* Very friendly staff
* Good shower
* Central location

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston_Traveler_4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2007

When I finally arrived at the hotel it was midnight and the staff had been very helpful in re-arranging the free airport shuttle for me due to cancelled flights and lost luggage I had missed the shuttle twice.
I was upgraded to a riverfront room and had a fantastic view of the sports stadiums and the city skyline. The room was of a high standard and the free wireless internet was great.
The revolving restaurant was very quiet, but both the food and serivice were super. It takes about 1 hour to go round fully and the city looks amazing when it is light up at night.
The hotel is on the shuttle bus route into Cincinnati, it is frequent, quick and convenient.
Look out for this landmark circular hotel on the riverfront when coming into land at the airport.

  • Liked — The revolving restaurant and the circular shape of the hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Property: Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
Address: 668 W 5th St, Covington, KY 41011-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cincinnati Riverfront
Radisson Hotel Covington
Radisson Covington
Covington Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing