We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Schenectady, New York
1 review
“Great staff but needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

The room which was on the 17th floor was small for four people in a room. It had two chairs and a table (which had rips on the cushions of the chairs and the varnish was coming off the table). It had a desk but the chair was too large for it. I needed to call room service for extra towels and pillows. They were quickly brought up to the room. The hairdryer was not attached to the wall which made it difficult to use this model. Older television,( which seemed it was about to die) not a flat screen. The room was very dusty. At the pool, the towels were too small to dry off and the whirlpool jets in the jacuzzi were broken. The business center was in a small room with a desk and computer with no mouse pad. The restaurant was nice but the food was pricey and not very good. The complimentary shuttle was wonderful and the staff was great. If it wasn't for the staff, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BengalsFan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    287
    203
    145
    143
See reviews for
333
317
38
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I checked into this Radisson and the only "comfortable chair" in my room was wet and stained, I don't know what it was and don't want to. After repeated discussions both on the phone and in person this "chair" was never replaced or removed from my room as promised for two days. I suffer from Fibromyalgia and the staff knew it, I told them, sitting in the desk chair was painful and should not have been necessary. They did not do what they said they would do and their slogan "If it is not right we'll make it right or you don't pay" only works when you don't pay in advance. This was a nightmare, I would never stay at this hotel and pending any response from Radisson any of there others, this is not typical of the chain. A Supervisor there, Veronica, did here job very well, thanks Veronica, I wish I had met her two days earlier.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88ZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

After researching every hotel in our price range in the Covington/Cincinnati area we went with the Radisson. Excellent value. Very nice room, amenities, and staff. The rooms are a little small due to the shape of the building but for just the two of us it was perfect. We will go again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Best things of the room:
High river view room offered a spectacular view. Room was roomie. Free internet. Room came with fridge, microwave, coffee maker and blow dryer. Price was excellent $99 + taxes.

Best things for our group event (an army reunion) - we had a HUGE ballroom for our group of about 120. Bartender service was very good. Food service was excellent. Staff cooperation with our group was very good.

Inconveniences:
Air conditioner broke down. The serviceman didn't arrive until the second time we called, but they compensated us with two free brunches and two free drinks, so that was decent. The hotel is RIGHT next to Interstate 71 so don't even think of sleeping with the sliding door open - much too noisy. Very easy access to the freeway, but literally right next to it...

The Irish pub downstairs was decent. Service was fair - not that fast. Prices were standard. The 360 restaurant upstairs offers a great Sunday Brunch. It's $16 so it had to be good. Was pleased to see shrimp and prime rib available, not just breakfast fare and salads. Local public transportation is good and only $1.50 for most bus tickets.

The neighborhood is only ok. Some local places to eat - e.g. a Big Boy's and Waffle House. One of our group had her car window broken and items stolen. Apparently that's not uncommon in this neighborhood.

All in all - the ratings of 3.5 out of 5 is right IMO. (Bill in San Diego)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4billkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Well I entered this trip with an open mind. I read all the reviews good and bad but thought it was well worth the gamble. I called the reservation desk at the hotel about a week in advance and booked "The Romance Package" even after reading some of the reviews. I called back and asked if there would be any problems about mid-week. I did this because I wanted to have the option to back out just in case things went south. I made resevations at 360. Check in was as early as 3 p.m. but I called and told them I would be arriving late. I arrived at 7:25 p.m........well when I got there...... there were two weddings and my room I was promised in an email on the 15th or the 17th floor with a river view was gone. I was given a room on the 11th floor. The view was very nice still. They knocked $80 dollars of my cost and let me keep the romance package.($50 dollar coupon off at 360, champagne and the breakfast package at Kelly's Public House.) The food was great. Mainstruasse was within walking distance and Newport on the Levee was only a 5 min. drive. The underground parking garage was smaller than I thought it would be but well lit. Our room was just like the picture for the King deluxe......everything was very nicely done in the remodeling process I think. My wife and I had a great time. We will be back because even after the hiccups we had we still had a blast!!!! The service there was very good. Thank you to Jimmy, Kevin, Allison and Katie for making our trip enjoyable and fun.............

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Close2Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the Radisson the night of the fireworks mainly for the view. Had a nice view, (from 12 th floor) , but not close enough to main action.
The hotel was a bit outdated. Sleep comfort control beds were not all that comfortable.
Neighborhood is next to highway and a little scary.
Enjoyed the pool though.
Rooms are small and cramped due to circular design of hotel.
Price was costly for what we got.
Wish they would have thrown in breakfast. Noisy partiers everywhere, but could not
hear most of the time, since air-condition was so loud it drowned out the sounds.
Good on that night, but other nights at this hotel I am not quite sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimzeeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Booked a room about a month in advance, paid extra for a room with a view, arrived after check in time, didn't have to wait long to get checked in. Desk clerk asked which floor we would like to be on, we chose the highest floor (17TH) We did get the city/river view. Room was fine for the 2 of us. Bathroom was a bit on small side and I could see where it would be cramped for more than 2 people. Balcony was just a "Romeo-Juliet" type balcony, something to walk out on and get fresh air. Rooms do not have mini-frigs. or microwaves in them. This is a older motel but looks like it has been kept up. Coming in from the south it is tricky to get in to, you have to pass by motel (cause it is located on a one-way street) and then turn at 1ST red light, just past the convience store (on the corner) is the drive into this motel. (small sign there saying Radisson Inn) This motel is very close to interstate and the parking lot, closes to interstate, is a little spooky at nights. We did park in it and had no problems. Over all the motel was a good choice for us. No free breakfast but Kellys located on 1ST floor has a good breakfast bar and at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeJustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
Comfort Suites
#3 of 6 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront

Property: Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront
Address: 668 W 5th St, Covington, KY 41011-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cincinnati Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cincinnati Riverfront
Radisson Hotel Covington
Radisson Covington
Covington Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing