We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing & so relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Table Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Table Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Greta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing & so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed at the table guest house with a couple of friends, for my birthday, & we had a great time. It was nice & relaxing, which was exactly what i was after. Woke up to a beautiful breakfast, & the evening meal was fantastic! Jude & Phil were so lovely & their 2 little dogs are adorable. I highly recommend everyone to go there. I'm heading back in October.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It's always a pleasure meeting new friends. Regards Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here with our 8 month old twins. I would recommend this place more for couples, but Jude went out of her way to make sure we all had a great stay. We had the dinner on the long table with another couple and had a fantasic night. The 5 course meal was delicious and the night felt more like being at a dinner party, rather than a restuarant. The long table encourages you to talk to the other guests, who invariably will have an interesting story to tell. The huge log fire is a real treat in winter.

So far we have recommended this place to two other couples who have not been dissapointed. Please try not to tell too many people about it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmyDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It's always a pleasure meeting new friends. Regards Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

I was recommended this BandB by a Newcastle local. We travelled from Melbourne and really enjoyed our stya. The bedrooms are wonderful and we slept really well. The breakfast were also a fabulous treat and we also booked dinner with the hosts one night - which was also a great experience. This is not a place for a romantic getaway but excellent if you want to meet a few people. We have breakfast with a trio of sisters that were a hoot and then had dinner with a couple celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary. Greta is not a beautiful town itself but all of the Hunter Valley is within driving distance.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingKimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It's always a pleasure meeting new friends. Regards Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Off the tourist beat, but still central to the Hunter Valley wineries, is The Table. Situated in Greta, formerly the location of a detention camp for postwar migrants, this B&B is nestled in its own beautiful cottage garden. We've stayed here twice, when Malcolm was the owner, but it looks as if his tradition continues: good, fresh produce; spacious rooms with crisp, white sheets; and quiet, charming ambience. Breakfast or pre-dinner drinks in the courtyard garden is a treat. There's a local pub down the road. The immediate district itself is not particularly attractive yet is typical for a small New South Wales country town, and you certainly must have a car to get there and to sight-see around. The Table's rates are good if you consider that two nights' double accommodation, two evening meals and two breakfasts is $500. Lunch is not an option but can be had at any of the restaurants or vineyards that are scattered throughout the region.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozcosbcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetableguesthouse, Owner at The Table Guest House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. It's always a pleasure meeting new friends. Regards Jude & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta
5.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
10.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
11.3 mi away
Vine Valley Inn
Vine Valley Inn
#1 of 35 in Cessnock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Branxton House Motel
Branxton House Motel
#2 of 2 in Branxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
8.4 mi away
Owlpen House B&B
Owlpen House B&B
#2 of 16 in Maitland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Guest House

Property: The Table Guest House
Address: 3 Water St, Greta, Cessnock, New South Wales 2334, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Greta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Table Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Guest house is situated in the historical village of Greta 5 minutes to Lovedale and 10 minutes to Pokolbin, 5 minutes to Wyndham winery the oldest winery in the Hunter Valley. Friendly casual ambiance ,French provincial themed en-suite queen rooms. Fantastic breakfasts. Walk to pubs or club. In the most unlikely location, Greta, a small village which used to be the site of a detention camp for postwar migrants, yet central to the wine-making region of the Hunter Valley, is The Table B&B. This place is marvelous, and I don't know why I'm telling you about it. Crisp linen, spacious private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Table Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing