We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea with the Family”
Review of Horsted Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horsted Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

On arrival we were mesmorised by this enchanting place. From the moment we walked through the doors we sensed we were in for a real treat. The atmosphere was that of an comfortable, elegant family home and we were made to feel most welcome. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 2 children (6&8). The fire was lit for us and the trays of little sandwiches, cakes and sweet treats began to appear. We had a gluten free and a vegetarian with us and both were well accomodated.
The children had been allowed to have their favourite filling and were very happy indeed. Inbetween treats the kids and I wondered around the hotel taking in its beauty. We felt free to do so and never rushed or made to feel awkward or nosy.
The whole afternoon was made very special by all the Christmas trees and decorations adorning the rooms. The Maitre d' was also very friendly and enthusiastic towards my children who responded by being excellently behaved and well mannered-they had dress for the occasion one of them said "I feel like Cinderella at the ball Mummy".
There was so much food that we took home some of the scones in boxes they provided. There was plenty of tea and coffee and the girls drank Sparkling water with straws.
All in all an wonderful, happy, memorable and perfect Christmas family birthday treat for us.

Room Tip: Ask to be seated by the open fire for that extra atmosphere and romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolaheppenstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been to Horsted Place several times over the years and it is never a disappointment. So, a TripAdvisor review was in order.

The a la carte menu offers a wonderful choice with great quality and presentation. This really is great fine dining at a reasonable price set in a great location. In fact, I actually came across a receipt from 2 years ago just after my recent visit and the prices hadn't changed. The staff are very attentive and timing between courses was spot on. You never feel like you are being rushed as I love a leisurely dinner.

I would highly recommend Horsted Place for a fantastic romantic dinner for two!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BullyBeefBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We did not stay in the hotel, but attended a thoroughly enjoyable wedding reception on November 2nd.
On arrival we were given welcoming drinks & canapés, which were very good.
The meal itself was excellent, as were the accompanying wines.
The staff were efficient and very pleasant.
We must make special mention of the maitre d` / master of ceremonies, who combined effectiveness with just the right amount of informality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed one night (8 August) as a couple in one of the three cottages, beautifully appointed with parking at the door. A few minutes' uphill walk prepares you for the excellent breakfast in the main hotel building which is marvellously atmospheric.

Afternoon tea served on the terrace is a delight and a stroll afterwards through the gorgeous grounds completes the experience of this lovely place.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and the service is first class.

Ideal for Glyndebourne, we will certainly stay there again. Although we would have preferred to keep the place a secret, it would have been churlish not to share it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dulwichfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a beautiful old building in stunning gardens and the Sunday lunch we had was good too! At £28.50 for a 3-course meal the value was good and the food was excellent. Coffee and petit fours are extra at £4.95. Service is friendly and efficient. Four choices for each course, the portions were just right. Lovely home-made bread served warm. The baked cod starter was superb and the halibut with risotto main course was the best piece of fish I've had in a while. The lamb chump melted in the mouth. A lovely meal finished perfectly with a walk round the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turnedoutniceagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed one night over the bank Holiday weekend. Fabulous welcome by Liz. Wonderful room overlooking the garden. It was raining, so we couldn't explore the grounds, but the hotel is unique. Do read the history, very interesting. Wonderful staff, and the food was superb.

Breakfast was excellent and it was a pleasure not to have to get up to help yourself to cereals etc, everything was served at your request at the table. Although room service or a tray is available, I would still have liked tea/coffee to be in the room.

Had a brilliant weekend. Hope to return. Thank You.

Room Tip: We had the Jelloco suite. Wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had our wedding reception at Horsted Place on 18th May this year and it was everything we could have wished for and more. All of the staff were delightful and went out of their way to make our day perfect - and completely stress-free as they took care of everything! After the church ceremony we came back to HP for drinks and canapes on the lawn. The gardens looked absolutely stunning and we could sneak off for some fantastic photos while our guests enjoyed relaxing and chatting in the beautiful surroundings. All of the food was superb - full compliments to Chef and his team. Many of our guests commented in particular on the delicious venison that we had for the main course and said it was far better than you would ever have in many top restaurants - even though they were preparing it for 100 people in this case! A further 50 guests joined us in the evening and the staff at HP worked hard to ensure they were all welcomed and greeted with fizz on arrival before being shown through to join the party. Having been an evening guest at various weddings where I have felt rather lost on arrival wandering through trying to find the party which was already in midflow, we wanted to make sure that this didn't happen to our guests and knowing that they were in good hands meant that we could relax and enjoy the speeches before the evening began. The rest of the evening seemed to go like clockwork too. We had a band and dancefloor in the orangery which opened out onto the gardens allowing guests to mingle and dance through the night. Guests that wanted to sit down could move into the rest of the house where there were plenty of quieter spots for chatting. We all really enjoyed staying in the beautiful rooms at HP too and it was great to be able to see some of our guests for a delicious breakfast the next morning. Thank you so much again to all the staff at Horsted Place and particularly manager Liz and David for working so hard to make our day so special. I really hope we can come back for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0line28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
2.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,267 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
13 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsted Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsted Place

Address: Lewes Road | Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range: £126 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horsted Place 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horsted Place is situated on the A26 just south of Uckfield and within 15 minutes drive of Glyndebourne. Originally a private family house, it is now a luxury country house hotel with AA red stars set in landscaped gardens with extensive views towards the South Downs. A grade II listed Victorian gothic mansion, it has original architectural features designed by Pugin and historical links to the British Royal Family. The fine dining, AA 2-rosetted restaurant offers modern English cuisine with freshly prepared seasonal local ingredients whenever possible. Afternoon teas (served on the Terrace in summer or in front of the Drawing Room fires in winter)are extremely popular. There is a croquet lawn and hard tennis court and guests also have use of the spa and leisure facilities at the East Sussex National, 2 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Horsted Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsted Place Lewes
Horsted Place Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing