We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horsted Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horsted Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Perfect Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding over the Easter Weekend which was held there. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location and hotel. The rooms were perfect and for the money very impressive. We had a small double which was actually very luxurious considering this was the cheapest room, it was more like a small suite. The bathroom was immaculate and had been recently refurbished or so it seemed. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff and our stay went perfectly. The breakfast was also lovely with very good quality ingredients. The only small but slightly upsetting part was checking out the next morning, the lady who dealt with this was very abrupt and quite rude, she may have been stressed and there may have been issues going on that we weren't aware of, but as a guest, we should not be aware of problems in the background as this put a dampener on what was an amazing stay, when all other members of staff had been amazingly helpful.

We were actually worried we had said or done something wrong, but then friends of ours who weren't aware of this checked out shortly after us and said they were treated the same way by the same lady.

Again this upset them and for the type of establishment I wouldn't expect to find this sort of service. I have stayed in a lot of similar hotels over the years and have never had this issue before.

But not to dwell on this point, I would definitely recommend Horsted Place as it is an extremely beautiful Hotel and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    39
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
84
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently booked a two night stay at this lovely country house. I had contacted the hotel via email and they had offered a good rate for bed and breakfast. We chose a suite on the first floor with a view to the garden. Our arrival was pretty low key and to be honest the hotel looked quite deserted. We did eventually find the Reception but the 'reception' was not as warm as I would have hoped, and we were not made to feel welcome. We had informed the hotel that during the course of our stay we would be celebrating a special anniversary but throughout the stay there was no mention or recognition of this.

We were then greeted by the Hotel Manager, who was at least a little more friendly, and together with a very helpful young man we were escorted up to our suite. The suite was in fact a large open plan room with a small seating area and large king sized bed. The room was light and spacious and had a nice view to the garden, the bathroom was internal but well fitted and very clean.

As stated there was no 'welcome' in the room and it would have been nice to have at least had a card from the hotel.

We unpacked as best as we could although storage space was at a premium - the wardrobe was rather last its best and had those annoying hangers that hook onto rings on a pole, and thus cannot be taken out. There was very little drawer space, and I think one would struggle if staying more than a couple of days.

We ventured downstairs and were gain served by the same charming young man, who really is a credit to the hotel. The Drawing Room is a lovely spacious room with views of the garden, and lots of comfortable seating. We ordered tea and scones, both of which were very nicely served and the scones and home made jam were delicious.

We decided to have a walk in the garden. The grounds are quite extensive and feature some very well established shrubs and trees. The gardens were not overly manicured and had been left in their natural state, but this was in keeping with the country house feel of the house.

We had booked dinner in the restaurant and thus went down to the drawing room where we were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman, who took our drinks order and served some delicious canapés. The menu was very clearly laid out and I was delighted to see the hotel asked guest not to use mobile phones.

We went through to dinner, and were swayed at a lovely table in the beautiful and very elegant dining room. The food was of a very good quality. I had the scallops, which were well cooked, but I was not overly keen in the flavour of the sauce, which somewhat dominated the subtle flavour of the scallops. For main course I had duck which was very well cooked, and deliciously tender and my partner had filet of beef, which was very generously sized and tasted delicious. I had a lovely selection of cheese, and my partner had a delicious dessert. We also enjoyed a couple of glasses of different wines, both of which were excellent.

The restaurant was empty except for us as the only other table had cancelled. This did not bother us and the service was very friendly and attentive.

We had asked the bed to made up as two twins, which the hotel had kindly done. The hotel uses blankets and as these were folded in half it made them covers feel quite heavy, and the bedding tended to get tangled up. The pillows were very small and not that supportive, but the bed itself was very comfortable.

We were concerned we might be disturbed by road noise, but in fact it was very quiet, and as the hotel had very few guests staying we were not disturbed by other guests.

We went down for breakfast and were greeted by a very friendly young waitress. The breakfast menu was quite extensive and it made a pleasant change to be served rather than have a buffet. The food was delicious and service was very attentive. The room however felt quite cold and there was no heating in the room that I could discern.

The rest of the stay was fairly uneventful. I had asked if the bedding could be changed as the blankets were too heavy etc but sadly my wishes were ignored. When I went to tidy the bed on the second morning I noticed that the mattress protectors were very old and thin, and could do with being replaced with something more luxurious.

Breakfast on the second morning was somewhat 'hit and miss' as the young waiter was not well organised and despite there being only us and one other table of two service was slow and inconsistent. The room again was very cold, which was a shame as the food was again excellent.

We packed up our luggage and I asked Reception to send someone up to collect our luggage. By the time I had left the room no one had yet arrived, so I just made my way down to Reception. The bill was already prepared and with the exception of one small error, all was in order. The lady adjusted the bill, took payment and just handed me a folded up copy of the bill - no offer of an envelope, no 'did you enjoy your stay', in fact no conversation at all! I found the entire process very flat, as if our custom had not been welcomed. The hotel manager did come and say goodbye and asked if we had overall enjoyed our stay, but again I felt there was a lack of genuine interest and warmth and she was not sad to see us go. I was then greeted by the Housekeeping staff who had collected my luggage, and were waiting all in a row to take it to the car.

So I left with somewhat mixed feelings. The house is a beautiful building and the hotel has a lovely feel of staying in a private house, rather than a hotel. However, with the exception of some of the waiting staff, I did not find overall the experience to be that welcoming.

I had spoken at length to the hotel before our arrival and they were aware that I wished to have a quiet, spacious room. It was therefore a shame that we were allocated a suite overlooking the main function room of the hotel. On the second day there was a large party using the function room for afternoon tea. It was a warm day so our windows were open and you could hear guests under the windows in the garden, a number of whom were smoking, and thus we had to close the windows to prevent the smoke coming in.

The hotel was very quiet for the few days we were there in terms of guests staying over night and thus I feel the hotel could have been more flexible about what rooms they could have offered us. Other rooms were available but only if we wished to pay a supplement which in the circumstances seemed a shame as we would still have only used one set of sheets, towels etc, irrespective of the actual room we stayed in.

Therefore, as much as we liked the place very much and found the food to be excellent, certainly during our stay we found the place lacked warmth, both physical and personal. The hotel clearly depends heavily on its wedding and and function trade to make ends meet, but the hotel must not overlook its leisure guests.

My overall rating would have been 3.5 stars but have given 4 as I cannot give half stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are very individual and no two are alike. Portsmouth is a lovely light room and I also lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piers G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We took over Horsted for 24 hours to host our wedding. Liz and the team made us feel truly welcome allowing us to use the hotel as a home for the day. Liz was really insightful providing suggestions and guidance to make the day we wanted work. The staff worked tirelessly to ensure that we were where we needed to be for each part of the day, and adapted the timetable as we inevitably ran over. All our guests commented on how beautiful the venue was and how attentive the staff were.

The accommodation available on site meant that many of our friends and family could stay in comfort after the long day, they were astounded at the size of the rooms.

The food, an afternoon tea, was amazing. Before the big day we had been for an afternoon tea to taste the food and can only say that this meant we were even more excited about the day to come. The kitchen served round after round of great sandwiches, scones and beautifully presented cakes and treats - just what we were looking for! The evening BBQ continued the excellent quality ensuring our guests never went hungry. Full marks for a great full English the next morning!

If looking for a wedding venue that will make your guests say “wow”, Horsted is definitely the place to go. It offers a beautiful setting, great food and comfort to ensure that your day goes exactly to plan.

It’s also a great venue for afternoon tea for any occasion!

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel itself are all beautiful. Even the standard doubles are very spacious, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were blessed with beautiful weather to stay at Horsted Place for our friend's reaffirmation of their vows. This meant the setting was glorious walking across to the church for the service and on the terrace for drinks. Who would have thought this in March. The service at the hotel was attentive throughout. For a meal for 80 everything was timed to perfection around speeches. The starter and main course were cooked very well and delicious to eat. This followed by a very tempting dessert all washed down by well chosen wine. Seamlessly after the meal everything was transformed in sitting areas ready for the most gorgeous bacon butties and cupcakes at 11pm.
Our room was delightful up a little staircase to a sitting area on one side and a bedroom area the other side. Not usually a breakfast person but was worth making an exception.
Thank you to our friends for inviting us to a truly wonderful event in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Was treated to afternoon tea on my birthday by my family here this week and had a lovely time. The staff are very attentive and the building is beautiful, a mid victorian gothic-revival mansion. We had the lounge to ourselves and were able to take our time and leisurely enjoy buttered crumpets, finger sandwiches, scones with raspberry jam and clotted cream, a selection of cakes and tea, all beautifully presented in the sun-filled lounge. Really felt like royalty and we were able to spend as long as we liked over our tea- a whole hour and three-quarters in fact and savour the experience. Would recommend this as a treat to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We attended there Valentines night dinner (£48 per head) with friends when the restaurant area is extended into other rooms. This is a beautiful mini stately home with a grand feel but, even on a busy night, and with a piano player doing his best, the atmosphere is negligible which is a shame. A bit like eating in a museum! So the ambience is grand but dull made up for to some extent by the staff all of whom were friendly, welcoming and attentive. We found our starters rather bland, our mains good but the choice and taste of the sweets were again a bit disappointing. If you want to dine in style go there, if you want any sort of fun or atmosphere don't.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We attended a friends wedding on the 31st of January and we had the most wonderful time.
The rooms we had were just right for the size of the party and very grand but felt very cosy.The food and wine were fabulous and the service was very attentive. David, who looked after us was a excellent member of staff. We would recommend this as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muttsnuts59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
0.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
13.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsted Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsted Place

Property: Horsted Place
Address: Lewes Road | Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horsted Place 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horsted Place is situated on the A26 just south of Uckfield and within 15 minutes drive of Glyndebourne. Originally a private family house, it is now a luxury country house hotel with AA red stars set in landscaped gardens with extensive views towards the South Downs. A grade II listed Victorian gothic mansion, it has original architectural features designed by Pugin and historical links to the British Royal Family. The fine dining, AA 2-rosetted restaurant offers modern English cuisine with freshly prepared seasonal local ingredients whenever possible. Afternoon teas (served on the Terrace in summer or in front of the Drawing Room fires in winter)are extremely popular. There is a croquet lawn and hard tennis court and guests also have use of the spa and leisure facilities at the East Sussex National, 2 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horsted Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsted Place Lewes
Horsted Place Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing