We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A practical place to stay for a nearby wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
395 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A practical place to stay for a nearby wedding”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms here are spacious and well equipped. There is plenty of storage for clothes, a large safe, and tea/coffee making facilities.
The bathroom is also large, with a particularly effective shower.
Rooms are generally quiet, but there was some noise from slamming doors.
We enjoyed our breakfast, apart from the black pudding, which was seriously over-cooked.
Some of the pastries were also badly prepared - in fact, some were inedible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive comments

Please be assured that i will pass your comments onto the Head Chef regarding breakfast

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    331
    126
    50
    39
See reviews for
164
465
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights and have to say from the moment we set foot on the premises the staff were helpfull, friendly and professional.
Our room was spacious to say the least with a nice hot power shower.
spa and pool great for that indulgence of chilling
Nice breakfast plenty of choice.
All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your relaxing weekend, all our rooms are spacious and I am positive that adds to the relaxing feel of the hotel. We have some great deals on our accommodation and spa coming soon for January, so hopefully we will see you return.

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went with friends for only one night , we found the staff to be very friendly , we had an evening meal , which was superb , we did stay in one of the larger rooms or suites , it was so large I kept losing things !! the spa was amazing and decent size swimming pool , we had such a good evening , forgot to ask for a softer pillow , as they were rather hard and I forgot to take my own , the hotel is in lovely country side , many thanks to all who work there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wonderful Review Thank you

Yes the suites are quiet large and we are currently looking at the pillows. So nice to also read that you thanked the team, i will ensure that these comments are passed onto all the team

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la rippe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

my husband and I arrived on a friday evening while the men from the previous conference were watching television. The television is huge and can be heard night and day through the reception hall.There was a football match on and the vast reception space was taken up by football enthusiasts.

We had dinner in the restaurant next door,good food brought by an unsmiling waitress but still
difficult to have a private conversation because of the football match.

The rooms are lovely,large and well equipped. With a balcony and a remarkable view of the golf course.Stunning at sundown.

We went to the spa the next morning and both had a good therapist.lovely pool with warm water and everything spotlessly clean,.

When we arrived in the afternoon after shopping in Brighton the hotel was completely taken up by wedding prepararations.Slowly all the guests arrived and again the public spaces were taken up by them and no place to sit for dinner.The television kept on going!

They do have the wedding far away from the rooms and dancing etc cannot be heard from the rooms,but at 4 a.m. we did heard all the doors slamming from the wedding guests coming home.

Everywhere in the hotel you see Trip Advisor with 4 stars out of 5.
I would say 3 stars out of 5 and make sure you are not there while a wedding or conference is on.

Room Tip: at the end of the upstairs corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on the hotel facilities, I am sorry that you maybe felt the conference and wedding overtook the hotel. I would like to also thank you for your feedback on the rest of your stay.

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just wanted to say what a smashing stay we had here with our friends. Often taking a one night break somewhere around the country we decided to try East Sussex National and we was not disappointed. What a beautiful location, overlooking the golf course which looked lush (and I'm not even a lover of Golf!!). The suite we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and fully equipped. We were delighted to take a swim in the, much larger than shown on the website, pool - then into the steam and sauna rooms, finishing with a jacuzzi. There was no spaces for us to book any spa treatments, but that also look fabulous as we were shown around.

We started our evening with an aperitif before dinner and was served a sumptuous meal. 2 of us having the Catch of the day (Salmon) and 2 having the steak. All of which was delicious. You must try the chocolate desert served with strawberry and mint sorbet mmmm, can just taste it now. Finishing off with a lovely cheese board and glasses of wine. What better way to spend a Thursday evening with friends.

Certainly will return.

Room Tip: We had a suite (Room 220) right opposite the spa and pool, so no need to change in there, just pop o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Lovely review

Thnk you for taking the time to comment and hopefully we will see you in the very near future on your return visit

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We called in here with our Daughter in law and baby Grandaughter a couple of weeks ago. Too early for lunch we decided on scones and a pot of coffee. Beautifully served and very very tasty. Two scones each, a selection of jams and a huge pot of clotted cream each. The staff were very pleasant and the venue is spectacular. For golf fanatics it must be a joy. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localeaterinarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Excellent review, many thanks and we do hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived on Friday to a cheerful receptionist. Our room was great, clean and comfortable. We went for a swim which was most relaxing. Then spent an evening in the bar. Very enjoyable! The food we had was from the bar menu which came out in good time and was most enjoyable.

We would definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrinkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Great Review

Many thanks for taking the time to comment and hopefully we will see you return soon to the hotel

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing