We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the East Sussex National and its cream tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We love the East Sussex National. We spent our anniversary here in May and it was lovely. At the time there was a special offer on for couples that included a night's stay, cream tea, spa access and a treatment. The room was very spacious, modern and clean and there were some lovely handmade chocolates and a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. We also had a balcony overlooking the golf course and were lucky enough to get lovely weather during our stay, so we had our cream tea on the balcony in the sun.

The spa was very relaxing and we enjoyed lying on the loungers drinking tea and sitting in the sauna. Our treatment consisted of rubbing mud all over ourselves and each other and then sitting in a steam room before being showered off. I'm sure there is a more eloquent way of putting this, but that is the long and short of it! It was lots of fun and I'm sure the staff had a big clean up job on their hands when we had left the room.

After our stay at the East Sussex National we have returned several times for the cream tea. It is hands down the best cream tea we have ever had. Freshly prepared and warm scones with clotted cream and jam. Delicious! You must try the cream tea!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o0-soph-0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We love your review, many thanks. Yes the balconies are a great asset to the hotel, especially on those great weather days. The rhassoul treatment i have heard is good fun but very messy, i do suppose though that, that is all part of the fun.

The cream teas are very popular and thank you for the comments.

Once again thank you and hopefully see you again soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here as a Christmas break, however we got engaged at Christmas and so the trip turned into a celebration!
When we arrived we were greeted by Christina, she was a lovely girl and when we told her our good news she upgraded us to a premier suite! We couldn't believe it! She was so welcoming and immediately made us feel at home.
The room, well it was stunning. Spotlessly clean, massively spacious, good range of facilities. The only thing we felt was missing was a mini bar.
It is worth staying in a premier suite just for the view alone. The balcony was huge and we spent quite a bit of time out there admiring the view.
We had a massage and that was fantastic, the spa facilities are gorgeous, we also used the gym and pool (which was huge!) And were so impressed with the facilities and how clean everything was.
Dinner was just fantastic. I'm a vegetarian and was very pleased with the veggie options available, it was delicious. We got our dessert back to our room and they even wrote congratulations on the plate in chocolate which we thought was really sweet!
Breakfast didn't disappoint! We ate way too much but it was all delicious, from the pastries, to the full English, to the fruit!
We were really sad to leave as we had had such a special time. Every single staff member we met were so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Christina was there to greet us as we left, and we have decided that we will be returning for our first wedding anniversary in December 2015!!
Thank you to all at the east Sussex national.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank billiet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

We are so pleased to read your comments and pleased that you had a great time with us, Please be assured that I will pass your comments onto the team and especially Christina.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

P.S we do great weddings too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

When we checked in, we were not advised of any need to make a booking for dinner, so assumed that as residents (for 3 days) it was not necessary. Wrong! We arrived at the empty restaurant at 7 pm to be told that the restaurant was fully booked, so we had to have a bar meal. Strangely, by 8.15 the restaurant was still empty except for one couple dining. The newspaper we ordered didn't arrive either, so we were disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moishe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review and i am so dissapointed to read that you felt the service a little patchy i am unable to comment on the restaurant as i am unsure of when you stayed, however i have spoken to the team and they assure me that the restaurant hasnt been fully booked at all during the last two weeks? I do apologise if there has been some miscommunication?

if you do decide to return to the hotel for another stay, please contact me personally so i can personally apologise

Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed in East Sussex a couple of days due to cancellations of the ferries back to Jersey. It wasn't a punishment. The location in the beautiful country side was amazing and the staff was extremely friendly to ensure a pleasant visit. They even went that extra mile of returning 'dankie' which we accidentally left behind---the friendly receptionist team made sure it was returned before the holidays. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys the countryside, golf or just being in a well kept, spacious hotel with excellent service.

Room Tip: If you have kids, be sure to get the suite. Excellent room, great beds for everyone..not a sleeper c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NvV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Excellent review, it was a pleasure to read, especially about Dankie, I do hope that you had a good journey back to Jersey and hopefully we will see you again in 2014



Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A bland, characterless hotel, which 'does the job' if you need somewhere to stay.

However, the service from the lady who was working on the reception was simply superb, faultless, and way over the call of duty. This alone would make me stay here again, and to recommend it.

As a hotel I would neither recommend, or deny a recommendation. On the other hand, the FITNESS SUITE AND THE POOL are amazing, and once again made the stay worthwhile.

I have many friends who live in the area, and have recommended the facilities to them all.

BAD POINT: I asked for a wakeup call at 4.30 am, so that I cold catch a flight from Gatwick. The night manager forgot to call. The breakfast, which was delivered to our room, was missing most of the items which were requested, but the fact that we were so late due to the lack of the wakeup call, meant that we didn't even touch what did come.

Please ask the reception lady to train the night night guy!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bakman1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for both your positive and negative feedback and please be assured that your comments regarding the night porter have been taken on board and actioned. I would also like to thank you for recemmending us to all you friends and family

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Attended the party night on the 14Th December with work colleagues.Lovely hotel and the function was well organised and ran smoothly. The meal was excellent.The only bad point was that the bars ran out of real ale mid way through which is poor in relation to its location to the Harvey's brewery in Lewes. However overall a great night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment, please be assured we did order ample real ale, however it seems to have been a very popular drink this Christmas!

Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Excellent party planner, they even accommodated food and number changes on the day. upgraded rooms, very welcoming staff. 1st class cream tea. The spa area was very clean and warm.
Beautiful very clean venue, could not fault it, we will be back.

Room Tip: Suites, 1st class and enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiestokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. i will ensure these are passed onto all the team

Wishing you a fantastic 2014

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
240 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.0 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
419 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range: £92 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing