We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Special Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Battle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Very Special Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Firstly a Very Big Thank You to the East Sussex National!

My Fiancée and I had the pleasure of staying with you this weekend just gone, for two nights as a Special Birthday treat and we had the most amazing time. Even driving up to the Hotel and seeing the vast estate falling into view was stunning!

Our Club Double room was gorgeous, very clean and spacious – the double bed was colossal! The room also had a large balcony with breath taking views over the golf course, and surrounding countryside. The marble and glass bathroom and shower was spotless, a very welcoming place to be.

Within the first few minutes we knew we were in for a treat, the staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Within an hour of arriving we had requested a late book out on the Sunday afternoon as opposed to dashing off at eleven Am - there was no extra charge for this.

Our weekend continued as it had started, lovely relaxing days punctuated with visits to the Spa pool, steam room, Sauna and Jacuzzi – again beautifully presented, very clean and with very attentive staff.

The evenings were equally as relaxing, eating and drinking in the bar area that was comfortable and beautifully lit with stunning views over the Golf Course. Special thank you to Stuart the Barman for taking care of us, again very helpful and attentive – nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him.

Waking to a peaceful hotel in the mornings was a joy, and as if things could not get any better, the Buffet Breakfast was truly outstanding both mornings in every way. So a big thanks you to all the staff on duty that weekend – especially to Neil the Operations Manager, a very big thank you to him for making our stay one of the best we have had, either here in the UK of indeed overseas. We WILL see you again, very soon around Mid March :-)

Tim & Simone X

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Special Review, Thank you so much it is always a pleasure to read such great things about the hotel team and of course the hotel. I will ensure that all the team are aware of your comments and i am positive it will make their day

Once again thank you and hopefully see you again in March

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    326
    125
    50
    39
See reviews for
161
461
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

A friend and I swim regularly but have tried to avoid Wednesday mornings because a large group of ladies arrive mid morning and virtually take over the pool. I hasten to add that they do very little swimming and just walk around in groups of two or three having a chat. Even if they all stayed on one side of the pool it would show some consideration for those of us who want to use the pool to actually swim in. I did mention this at reception and the suggestion was that I asked them to move out of the way!
Surely a swimming pool is just that i.e a pool for swimming in. I chat to my friends over coffee or on a walk, not when I am in the pool. Maybe a polite notice suggesting a respect for swimmers would be in order.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Redgwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you feel that other members are virtually taking over the pool. I am a little unsure if you are a member or a day pass holder? as in your last review of the Health club you commented that you wouldnt be joining as a member. As a Health club we do like that the pool is used for all members and day guests to enjoy in there own way. Maybe these guests utilise the facilities as more of a social exercise group? and maybe part of why they utilise the facilities is that we are a very relaxed club and do not enforce rules on how they use the facilities. I would be very grateful if maybe you contacted the health club manager, Patrick, next tme you are in the health club and discuss your comments.

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The night I stayed I got a great offer, so it represented great value for money. The rooms are very large, with views over the golf course towards the south downs. The room was cold when I arrived, so I turned up the heating, by the time I went to bed it was warm. The rooms could do with a little something to make them feel a bit more homely, perhaps some magazines?
The welcome from the staff was very good and the food in the restaurant was excellent, but quite pricey, however there is a bar menu that is competitively priced. The leisure facilities are very good, with a good sized pool, though this time I didn't have time!! Nice peaceful location with easy access to Uckfield, Lewes and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. The menu is to change shortly and i will pass your comments onto the chef.

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is in a nice quiet location for a few days away, the downside of that being there isn't much else around. Our room was spacious, with separate bath and shower, and good views to the south. We chose a clubroom for this reason, which had a balcony too, in spite of the weather. Shampoo and soap was a bit limited, but reception gave us some more when requested. TV channels were a bit limited with no pay movies.
Breakfast was typical buffet, but the first two days, hot food was cooked to order due to the hotel being quiet. Staff were attentive and friendly. Bar food was nicely presented and enjoyable, although the menu was a bit limited. Had the carvery on the Sunday we arrived in Hunnington's restaurant, which adjoins the hotel. Pool area was fine, with fairly good sized pool, and decent sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The water fountain was out of order, however.
On the whole, a good hotel for a few nights' stay.

Room Tip: Go for a south facing room with a view over the golf course, the countryside and to the South Downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to comment, yes all the rooms are very spacious and we have over 30 with balconies that are a treat even with the damp weather. I will look into the situation regarding the limited soap?

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The second time we have stayed at the Hotel. We stayed there for a nearby wedding and enjoyed our stay so much we decided to visit again. We do not play golf but found the facilities excellent, the room lovely (family room), breakfast great and staff all very helpful and friendly. One member in particular was outstanding Charlotte Cork who found my daughters special bedtime toy that had gone off to laundry. She went above and beyond to retrieve it and return it via special delivery so my daughter could have her toy the following night. We owe much thanks to her and would most definitely stay at the hotel again based on our last two visits there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Excellent review, many thanks. Thank you also for the card you sent Charlotte, she was most delighted and it is always a pleasure to see when our guests show there appreciation to a team member

once again Thank you and we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at ESN together with our French brother and sister-in-law and, despite the awful weather, we had an excellent stay. We were welcomed on arrival with a friendly smile by Charlotte(?).

Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious in a beautiful location, although the heating did not seem to work properly at night and was very noisy.

We were rather anxious regarding the food as the French can be uncomplimentary about British cuisine. However, we need not have worried as they thoroughly enjoyed the New Year's eve dinner, the breakfasts and especially the cream tea.

The staff were all very friendly, especially Tom, who greeted us at the start of the evening, and Hamid who provided impeccable service during the New Year's eve dinner in the Pavilion where we were able to enjoy a relaxing meal accompanied by Tony who sang a medley of a 'Rat Pack' songs. The only minor point I would make on the New Year's eve arrangements is that there was only one person struggling to serve canapés to the large number of guests, which meant that service was slow and a bit uneven.

The ladies also enjoyed a relaxing reflexology session and facial in the Spa before we left on 2nd January.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and good value - this is the first time we have spent New Year's eve in a venue like ESN and, based upon our experience would do it again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExSpextations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for such a great review and i wil pass your comments to all the team, once again thank you and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in 2014
kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the east sussex national in December rooms were adequate and the food in the hotel is fairly standard you can see that the De Vere have put there shoe string budget to the place, which is a shame because it use to be a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and excellent food.

There is one beam of sunshine from the east sussex national... Step up the Clubhouse

We only came across the clubhouse because we decided to venture out of the hotel, firstly the views are absolutely incredible from the restaurant with its floor to ceiling glass windows and they have incredibly attentive staff we was served by the barman (Craig). We decided to dine here on a Saturday lunchtime I had the Sirloin Steak which barring none was the best I ever had, it was presented in a sizzle pan with grilled tomato, mushrooms, chips and onion rings stacked high (you could here the sizzling on its way to the table). My wife had the ESN gourmet Burger not very lady like I know but WOW and again one of the best burgers she has ever tasted.

Upon such success of our saturday meal we decided to book for the Christmas Carvery in the Clubhouse for the Sunday Lunch and we wasn't disappointment, there were more Vegetables than I can ever remember seeing at a Carvery 10 in total plus crispy duck fat roasted potatoes, also beef cooked to perfection a whole roasted Turkey and glistening honey glazzed gammon. The ambience was lovely and service organised and prompt. Not only that we was given a 10% voucher upon our return to the clubhouse.

My recommendation to anybody reading this is go and eat in the Clubhouse it is faultless, there's amazing variety in the menu all at a very sensible and reasonable price, you can tell the chef clearly knows what he is doing. What a gem we have found and we will be back.

Many thanks

Paul & Susan



Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJtheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the club house, however i am a little disappointed to read in reference to your comments on the Hotel and that you found the bedrooms adequate?. The staff and rooms are always an area that guests comment on very highly.

Also as a prior guest I am so pleased that on this occasion you ventured out and found the clubhouse and were able to utilise the facilities, i apologise that if prior you were not informed of the club house facilities available

Regarding the De Vere shoe string budget? i am to assume you are meaning th food aspect of your comments but i am a little confused by this as we are managed and branded as a De Vere Venue and the Chef is still the same as prior . The food is all supplied by the same suppliers across the site and the menus are like for like. We also do try to have uniformity of management in all areas therefore if any of our guests eat in the bar of the clubhouse or hotel the menu is the same but with just a play on words on the menus. IE the hotel burger is called the Verve burger but in the golf club it is called the ESN burger.

I have tried to contact you through your profile but we do not seem to be able to locate you within our booking system. Please do not hesitate to give me a call directly to discuss your concerns on a more personal level.

Once again Thank you for your comments and i will ensure that these are passed on to all the team members, i am also so pleased to read that you will be back again

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing