We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic team excel at a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic team excel at a great hotel!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just had a great stay with a bunch of great girls for a Hen Weekend. I'd like to say a big thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well: Tracey the General Manager was very attentive and Joe (the mixicologist!) gave us a brilliant cocktail making lesson. It was so much fun, although the success of our efforts varied greatly!!
After a very long journey which delayed us considerably, we were still welcomed for our wonderful dinner on the first night. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of all the usual suspects.
The Spa was lovely - we all enjoyed our treatments and made full use of the pool, steam rooms and relaxation room. The Spa staff were just as attentive as elsewhere in the hotel and we enjoyed a brilliant afternoon tea in the Spa area.
No complaints about our twin room (232). It was a good size, clean and well maintained with a balcony overlooking the countryside and golf course.
A really nice place with staff who know what they are doing and they do it VERY well!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Fantastic review

Thank you so much for taking the time and we are so pleased that you had a great time and i agree that Joe is very attentive and a great ambassador for the hotel

Kind regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    339
    126
    51
    39
See reviews for
168
475
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this luxurious hotel for a friend's hen weekend, we had a very comfortable room overlooking the golf course which made for a spectacular view! Throughout our stay the staff were very attentive and we felt very well looked after. The food was delicious, we ate an evening meal when we arrived, were treated to an amazing afternoon tea the following day and breakfast on both days had plenty of tasty choices. The only problem we had was with our rooms keys, we had to have a few replacements as they stopped working, it was easily sorted though and didn't spoil our enjoyment of a fabulous weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your reveiw and i do apologise for the room keys but so pleased it didnt deter you from having such an excellent stay with us

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I had stayed here before when I was involved in a charity golf weekend and our second visit was equally adequate. A four star hotel which is really suitable for golfing groups using the two fabulous courses and boasts very good facilities for corporate meetings, weddings and parties. We used the spa facilities which again were adequate but if you are seeking a 'spa experience' there are better alternatives for luxury pampering, more a refuge for ladies while the men play their golf. Decent menu in the retaurant but on the Saturday we stayed there were two wedding functions and the service was not to the standard we experienced previously but the hotel compensated but not charging for the wine. The rooms are spacious and with good decor but again, minor niggles we usually expect in a hotel, bottle of water or machine in the corridor not provided, no plastic cups to rinse after cleaning teeth, no shower cap for those with long hair, all minor but usually provided at a four star venue. Staff were excellent and were extremely apologetic that we were not 100% happy but we were satisfied the venue provided a lazy weekend with a great scenic views and spacious and comfortable lobby area with a well stocked bar.

Room Tip: Our room was a long walk to the bar, restaurant and lobby so if you are in and out of your room freq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review,
I am sorry that you felt that the service on Saturday was not to our usual standards, I do know that when I spoke to a few guests on Saturday evening they where shocked to see the hotel so busy as they had also been previous and it had been very quiet during there stay and preferred the peace and quiet. I do hope that this doesnt deter you from returning.

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have just come back from a Hen Weekend staying at the East Sussex National, and would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well, especially Tracey the General Manager who was very approachable and attentive; and lovely Joe who gave us a very entertaining cocktail making demonstration, we had so much fun and got to drink our own concoctions!!
We had dinner on the first night we arrived, the service was excellent and food delicious. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of fruit cereal and full english which is constantly topped up.
All nine of us were booked in for Spa treatments, I had an Indian head massage and was really impressed as I had a neck and shoulder massage too. The Spa staff were very professional and friendly and there was a lovely relaxation room where you could stay as long as you liked with use of steam room, sauna and aromatherapy room. There is also a well equiped Gym, and a large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and steam room too.
I shared Suite 201 with my two daughters it was huge, lovely and clean and well maintained with a large balcony overlooking the countryside and golf course.
I would highly recommend this as a great place to stay and will DEFINATELY be going back again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Sandy, Thank you for such a lovely review and it was a pleasure to accommodate you all

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent the weekend here for a hen-do and had a brilliant time.
Our room was massive and incredible (we had a luxury room) with a huge balcony that looked out over beautiful rolling green hills and the golf course.
The food was delicious and quick, the management team were lovely and the spa area and staff were amazing... oh, and afternoon tea in the spa area was such a luxury. Definitely do that if you are on a hen-do!
Joe the barman also did a brilliant job with our cocktail making session, it was super fun :)
I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If a few of you are going for a hen do, get at least one luxury room as it was a great base for us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review and most importantly for taking the time to comment. Yes i totally agree if you are in a group its always worth the extra for a luxury suite where you can all meet as they are very accommodating in size

We do hope that you will remember the hotel should you be visiting East Sussex again

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just experienced the most fantastic weekend away here. The whole experience was top marks. It is mostly golfers who enjoy the superb courses and it is also a beautiful wedding venue. We have been absolutely spoilt for the whole weekend. The food was amazing. We were treated to an eight course bonanza on Saturday and we chose from the A La Carte yesterday. The service has been exceptionally friendly . The rooms were fantastic. Large and well laid out. I cannot fault this place at all. Special thanks go to James the Chef and M D Tracey. I would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a fabulous view. If you really want to spoil yourself go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localeaterinarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review

It is always a pleasure to read when guests have enjoyed there stay with us

Hopefully we will have the honour of welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip and this place has it all, if back in the area I will definitely stay here again.

Only issue I had was that on the second I could hear the person in the room next to mine snore most of the night! This resulted in me having a bad nights sleep.

Bar food was fantastic and within budget, couldn't afford the restaurant food on my travel budget.

Maybe the hotel could revue its drinks prices as these are a little on the high side.

Room Tip: Remember your gym & swim gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusbhoy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Awesome stay, thank you so much for your review and most importantly for taking the time to comment on our facilities

We do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,431 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing