We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean and spacious hotel, staff very helpful. My husband and I ordered scones, cream and jam during the morning, the scones were freshly cooked and delicious!! They were so large we didn't have room for lunch....I am staying there with my daughter next week for my birthday treat and we are both looking forward to it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 38Jane190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jane

Thank you for your comments

Please do contact me with regard to your birthday stay allowing me the opportunity to personally wish you happy birthday

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    336
    126
    50
    39
See reviews for
168
469
24
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel spa and golf venue with all 3 facilities being 1st class in all areas.
The level of customer service from staff was outstanding in all areas with a friendly "can do" attitude all round.
We will certainly return and would happily recommend this venue without hesitation.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review and you very kind comments regarding the "can do" attitude

We hope you visit us again soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dear Miss Tennent. General Manager.

I don’t have to write this email, but I am going to, in relation to the kindness, the attention and the professionalism that your function manager Hannah showed us on Friday night whilst we held our presentation dinner at your venue.

She was superb and where credit is due, she should be given it without reservation, and it should go on her appraisals that on this showing, she has a successful future in front of her for someone who is still very young in the corporate world.

Please extend our thanks to again to her and I hope we will be seeing you all sometime in the future.

I also want to pay tribute to Tracey Coblenz and Tamara Oates.

Whilst Tamara set everything up in the first place, it has been Tracey who has had to deal with me for the past month, she has had emails, phone calls, changes to menus, changes to seating plans right up to the last minute, and despite this, Tracey handled the event booking again with all her experience and know how in ensuring before she left and handed over to Hannah, that all her obligations from your side had been met and everything was up to scratch.

She like Hannah and Tamara should all be given a huge merit mark, as they are all very proud members of what is a very good team assembled at the golf Club.

So much so, we have already booked to come back here next year on the Saturday evening instead of a Friday night, where again I am sure, it will be just as good if not even better that this time.

Please make sure, your three ladies are sincerely thanked on behalf of I know, was a hectic three days at your complex.

On behalf of the Sussex County Football League,

I remain sincerely Yours, Robin M. Powell, Social Affairs Officer for the League.

Room Tip: All the rooms our guests had were of the highest quality especially for the price, and all the guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Robin P

Thank you so much for your kind review it was a delight to read I am so pleased that you enjoyed your presentation evening and please be assured I will ensure that all the team are aware of your review

Once again Thank you and we look forward to being of service to you again in 2016

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arranged for a lunch to celebrate my mothers 90th birthday. As there were 15 of us we were asked to agree a menu and pre-order, no problem and we understood the reasoning for this. The organisation of the menu etc went reasonably well albeit that it took some time to get the menu choices from the chef. We were told that as it was a Sunday, we would need to go through the carvery to the restaurant. Again, no problem for us and we understood that Sunday’s routine could not be changed just for us.

Imagine our surprise on arrival to find that although we did indeed walk through the carvery, it was not open and that we were the only people in the large restaurant. This meant that the place lacked warmth, vibrancy and atmosphere. We would definitely have not chosen to eat here had we known we would be the only diners in the entire building.

Then came the food. Whoever the chef is at this restaurant clearly has never tasted the food he/she dished up to us. The terrine arrived without bread or melba toast, indeed no bread was offered to any of our party and the terrine was genuinely tasteless without any seasoning. The terrine was not alone in being an example of a chef not understanding flavour and seasoning; there was a Mackerel dish, the flavour of which was completely overwhelmed by excessive use of vodka. There's little virtue in going through the menu dish by dish which rambled from mediocre at best through to dire.

Given that it was my Mothers 90th birthday we didn't make a fuss at the time as we didn't want to spoil her day. Though, if we had wanted to complain, I got the impression that there was no one in authority on duty anyway.

The strange thing is that we have eaten in the past at the club house where the food has been really good. The chef should be ashamed to present the quality of food that we received and the management should be made to eat the food prepared by the chef.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChinaTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear China Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me today with regard to your meal at the hotel,

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Planning our wedding for nearly two years, we are probably the most fussiest couple you could come across. The East sussex National was Amazing!!! The details, the help, the service, the stunning views, the luxurious rooms and the friendliest staff! We visited a few venues, but none could compete with The ESN and their staff! We wanted everything and more, nothing was too much trouble and every little detail was considered!
Steven 'the wedding coordinator", has everything in hand and more. From helping us plan our dream day to offering ideas and help! We had every confidence in him to let the day run as smoothly as it could and that is what you need on your wedding day! All the little extras were considered and even helping us with the ideas and planning.We were made to feel at ease and everything was in professional hands.
The Chef Mark made exactly how and what we wanted, designing our own menu was not an easy task for him, and it was more than we expected! The taste and presentation was amazing.
Rachel, Hannah and All the other staff were also so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they all put themselves out for us! A really personal touch.
Tamara made the booking of the rooms for our guests easy and hassle free, making sure we had our guests close and in our preferred chosen rooms.
Overall everyone at The ESN was amazing. They make you feel at ease and are so welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble to any of them.
A Massive Thank you to you all for giving us our perfect day, you all gave it a personal and professional touch. Thank you. We look forward to spending more time here.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are amazing if you want to go all out, however the double and club rooms are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandy170514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Amazing review

Thank you so much we are delighted that you had such an amazing day with us, I am positive the team will be delighted to read your comments.

Once again Thank you and we do hope that now you have experienced the facilities at the hotel we will see you again soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Enjoyed a weekend at this superb hotel. The view over the golf course from the balcony was awesome. Pure countryside as far as the eye could see. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, with great food and attentive service. The spa staff were exceptional and our spa day was perfect. Enjoyed a fabulous afternoon tea in the spa which was gorgeous. Warm scones, with clotted cream, delicious! Overall, super fab on all levels! Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna19780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Fantastic review

Many thanks for your comments, yes the views are wonderful especially when we are lucky to have a beautiful sunset, it is the perfect location.

We do hope that you return soon

Kind regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed a few times with work conferences and have always had a nice stay. The rooms are really comfortable, and very generous in size, with really nice bathroom and power shower. Not every room has a view depending on which room you get, and some may just have sky lights, but I would rather be out in the view than looking at it from the room anyways!

Hotel has wi-if but this is only available in the receproon on and bar and not in the bedrooms.

The staff are friendly enough. My only gripe would be some things can take a while to get done. We needed some printing done (linked to the work conference) which reception said was fine, but then took hours to print it off!

I have used the conference rooms in the main part of the hotel that are all located on the mezzanine above reception. They are comfortable rooms and can be set up in any style you would need.

The food is very nice with a lovely breakfast and the evening meal in the restaurant was really good.

Obviously what most people come for is the golf, but as well as the golf course there is a nice gym and pool.

Overall I enjoy staying here each time I have been.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review , I can see from your review that it was last November you stayed with us and at that time we did not have the Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel, however this is now in place in all areas of both the hotel and golf facilities. Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and food

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,416 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing