We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 30 people for an 85th birthday on a recent sunday in the restaraunt. Menu was 14.95 for 2 course carvery or 16.95 for 3 courses. The carvery is outstanding and considering the venue and views etc is very good value for money. It is extremley plush, drink prices are expensive but then it is a golf club as well. I would totally recommend this place for their carvery.we stayed overnight as well and the rooms are lovely. Breakfast good also.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on the facilities you experienced with us and so pleased that you all enjoyed the celebrations

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, 26th-29th June '14, for my birthday and for him to play on the De Veres Championship Golf course. Once you enter the impressive driveway. You realise you are about to enter somewhere special. The foyer and reception area is impressive. The hotel is large, and clean. It is in a lovely setting & the decor is stunning. The rooms are very spacious, luxurious & spotlessly clean. Our club room overlooked the golf course, and had a balcony too. Which was lovely to sit out on in the evening and drink some wine.The staff are smartly dressed, friendly & very helpful too.
The health suite is included in your package and for extra, you can use the spa and book some ESPA treatments. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience in there, and the staff there too were very professional.
We also eat in the restaurant, which has been awarded a rosette for the 5th year running! The food was hot and the service speedy and attentive. Do try the sticky toffee pudding, it is to die for! Also breakfast had everything you wanted in its buffet selection, and it was no trouble to ask staff for anything specific if required.
The location of the hotel is ideal too, for leisure activities and for trips to Eastbourne, Brighton and Lewes which is a sweet market town with a Castle and secret garden to visit too.
We truly hope to return to this hotel and location, therefore, we have no hesitation in recommending The East Sussex National. looking for something a bit special.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the golf course. Its a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Stunning review

Thank you so much always a pleasure to read when our guests have had such a lovely time with us

I also think the location is ideal for visiting the lovely towns we have local to us

We do hope that you will visit us agin in the near future

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, it also has a very nice Spa. A very good menu with lots of choice. The staff were very professional and helpful, so creating a very warm and comfortable environment. The conference facilities were also very good. Plenty of teas and coffees in the break times and snacks to keep us going.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a one night stay here and overall had a very good experience.
We had a club double and the view over the golf course was spectacular. The breakfast was very nice (although lots of staff wandering around, we had to keep asking for tea and coffee - odd). The food in the bar was fantastic and service there was great too. My main complaint relates to the poor check in service - "sign here, your room is there". No details about breakfast times, facilities available, check out etc. We had to ask many questions and there was no information in the room either. Lots of guess work!
Our room was very large but was not clean to the standards I would expect. The bathroom was extremely tired and the shower was dirty and full of hair. We rang to reception who promptly sent a cleaner but this should not have happened in the first place. The patio doors were also filthy and covered in fingerprints. The table was caked in dust and the remote control also was grubby.
The health suite is fine - be aware that it does not include use of the spa which is extra.
Overall, a very nice stay and we would recommend it. However, attention to customer service and check in experience, plus cleanliness is needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmason_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments

please be assured I will ensure that your points will be raised with the relevant departments as these standards are not to our usual standards and i apologise

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel & will be definitely returning It is in a lovely setting & the decor is stunning. The rooms are spacious, luxurious & spotlessly clean & overlook the golf course, The staff are smartly dressed, friendly & very helpful, We would have welcomed a wider selection of bar meals. The hotel is conveniently situated for local leisure pursuits.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagletgina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for such a positive review I am posiitve the team will be delighted to read and hopefully we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a disastrous experience at De Vere Gorse Hill, we were offered a complementary stay at the East Sussex National Hotel. We had stayed at the hotel previously in August 2013 so knew the hotel and the high standard of the accommodation, restaurant and staff. Again we were not disappointed. We can only thank the staff, especially Wael and John for their assistance in making our stay so enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a club room where the views were idyllic. The quietness blissful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hils26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on not only the hotel but members of the team also

Yes the club rooms are worth the upgrade

We do hope that you return soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

From pulling into the entrance the wow factor was there, reception great. Room was perfect, all good until lunch when the service took a nose dive, but Hannah the Manageress turned the whole situation round to making it the best birthday I have had in years. Helen the waitress was also fab very attentive and enthusiastic. The bar man making the cocktails was also great- sorry I didn't get his name
The swimming pool was great, all very calm and peaceful. Really will look forward to going back - Thank you to everybody for making my birthday so special

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your comments

I will ensure that Hannah and the team are aware that they have been mentioned and I am positive they will be delighted

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
238 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.8 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,652 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range: £93 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing