We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing hotel and good golf courses !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing hotel and good golf courses !!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My second stay at the Hotel. I think the food and service has greatly improved since last year !! The drinks are a bit expensive but you expect that at this type of hotel. The golf courses were in excellent condition and with several tees suitable for golfers of all standards !! I had an upgrade to a suite as a surprise for my wife. But all rooms are of a good standard. We will be returning next year !!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review and returning for another stay with us

The team have worked very hard on the courses as the weather had not been too kind and they will be pleased to read your comments

Yes the suites are a great treat when staying and hopefully we will see you return again soon

Kind Regards
Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    339
    126
    51
    39
See reviews for
168
474
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

From the word go all the staff were polite and friendly especially the breakfast staff who were particularly so.

The hotel is big and airy with an impressive reception, plenty of parking. The rooms (we had 219) are large, well appointed with an excellent bathroom. The massive bed was very comfy and we had a lovely view.

The evening meal was a delight and we were visited by the local teenage Badger who watched us through the window ! The breakfast not so good. We sat down at 9am and the hot buffet food was dried out, sausage hard and dry, beans had a skim on top and by contrast the bacon was like boiled gammon. The fresh fruit salad though was excellent. Staff made up for the bad food. When we left at 9.45am, they had just bought out a load of freshly cooked food even though breakfast finishes at 9.30am ! ! ! VERY disappointing. For this reason we have docked a point otherwise it would have been 5 out of 5.......

The swimming pool was fantastic. Huge pool and I shared it with just two other people. Changing rooms immaculate, staff helpful nice towels provide etc

We recommend this hotel and will return if we are in the area, just sort the breakfast out please !

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

The team will be so pleased to read your comments regarding there friendliness

I am a little dissapointed to read your comments around breakfast and will ask that this be revisited by the head chef

Yes the Badger or Bob as we call him seems to be getting around the hotel to delight of many of our guests.

Once again thank you and we do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked with friends to stay at ESN for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in nearby Barcombe. We were very pleased with our room which had a lovely view. The room was a decent size and plenty of space to move about. The bathroom was also a decent size with a large walk in shower and a bath.

We ate in the Pavilion Restaurant on our first night, the food was very nice but the scallop starter which 2 of the party ordered was very small and they were slightly disappointed. Some of the restaurant staff need a bit more training, one waitress brought the wrong wine then when she finally located the correct one proceeded to bring an idiot proof corkscrew to the table and open in front of us (making a complete hash of it) without taking the foil off first!! The person in charge was horrified when she did this so I don't think she will do it again.

The breakfast was very nice a good selection of everything, The waiting staff at breakfast were cheerful and very attentive.

The spa facilities were also very good, I had a deluxe pedicure which was very nice. Unfortunately we were unable to play golf but hope to return for this purpose one day.

One thing I would say if you are getting a taxi be prepared to pay way over the odds just because you are staying at the ESN. This is not reflection on the hotel itself as it is not their fault but it appears the minute you mention you are staying there they double the price. We got a taxi through hotel reception to Barcombe Village which is less than 10 miles away, we were in cab for less than 10 minutes and we were charged £25. other people at wedding came from Lewes which is much further away and were only charged £13. We googled some other firms and the minute we told them from where to ESN the price went up. We even tried an online firm (uckfield taxis) which quote £17.50 to little horsted hotel about 1m from ESN the minute we put ESN in it jumped to £32.50.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilehurst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

Yes the bedrooms having a seperate shower to the bath is always nice and not many hotels do offer this. I am positive the team member would have been spoken too and we do have a few new team members that are around training in the hotel

Maybe on your next visit you can take the opportunity to play golf on one of our wonderful courses.

I will ask my front office manager to look into taxis as i agree this is not acceptable and i was very shocked to read they are doing this

Hope you visit us again soon


Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been staying in the hotel for the last few weeks doing some on going training. And without fail there is someone on the reception desk to greet you with a smile. The people who work the restaurants and the whole hotel are just absolutely brilliant, they look after you and they ask about your events that day. Always will go above and beyond, 2 of the staff Ryan and Ed have been fantastic and really all of the staff have made feel at home.

The conference facilities are top notch and are very accommodating if you need anything the will do everything in their power to resolve it.

Would always strongly recommend the de Vere hotels and i am considering booking time here for my self.

Cant emphasise enough how good these people are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us and i am positive Ed and Ryan will be delighted to read that you have taken the time to not only comment but mention them

We hope to see you again for another conference soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 day golf stay with my wife at ESN. We cannot really fault it. 2 well maintained golf courses; excellent service; great food; spacious hotel and lovely bedroom overlooking the courses. We would recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a short golf break. Didn't use the health club or spa but looked nice. Evening meal was good (we upgraded to the a la carte restaurant) although my wife's starter was a bit disappointing. Only other negative would be the Ryder bar which was overcrowded with golf society members, and seemed far too small with too few staff to accommodate the number of thirsty golfers wanting a drink having just completed their rounds. If you are playing golf and staying at the hotel recommend you take your post-round refreshment in the main hotel bar, where there is more space, better service and great views overlooking the courses.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

We totally agree that if you are looking for a golf break then it is an ideal location and having the two courses is a bonus for all our golfers

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding in the area and stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The lobby is impressive but the rest of the hotel is a letdown. The food in the bar and restaurants is ok but nothing amazing. We had to open our own bottle of wine during lunch which was shocking! Why am I having to
tip then?? The spa was dirty and needed a good scrub. Staff were nice but a bit too young and not very well trained. If you are looking for a luxurious break don't bother otherwise it's an ok place. We didn't play golf but the golf course did look fantastic but they don't really seem to cater for anything else. The hotel has so much potential but currently it looks more like a conference venue. Such a shame really...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PickyandSnobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your comments

I do apologise that you had to open your wine and I am sorry that I am unable to comment with regard to tipping as we do not operate a service charge policy as some hotels. The spa is cleaned daily and the team are a mix of all ages and i am sorry if you felt them young and untrained

Once again Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Came to this place with some lads on the 10th 11th and 12th Aug playing golf, was ok played better played worse golf courses, both courses are about the same the west is a bit more interesting nothing special really. Hotel is poorly designed the reception, bar area and restaurant is kind of huge and open planned like walking in terminal 5. You need to call a cab to get to your room I'm 27 and not exactly lazy but every place you want to get to, golf, gym, bar and restaurant is a fair walk back and forth. As for watching the golf on Sunday night they didn't even have skysports in the hotel bar, I've never been in a hotel that doesn't have the sports channel. The gym was pretty good decent machines and equipment. The food was good better on the Monday night chef done a good job the fillet of bream I had tasted really good. In the golf bar was a hot, gorgeous waitress her name was Becki she seemed very enthusiastic and attentive, Unlike some of the hotel staff who were a bit monged out. Would I go back? proberly not, good thing is comming from north london its not to far to travel to but never say never I guess.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BradZ179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your comments

The rooms are located on one corridor and the hotel was designed in this way to allow all our guests the opportunity to view our wonderful views. The TV has several Sky channels, sky sports one,two,three and four. We do also have sky news and sky sports news. I do believe that the channel you are reffering too was sky sports four which we have now added to our list.

Thank you for your comments regarding the team at the Golf club and i am sure they will be pleased to read

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,430 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing