We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were dissapointed and Hotel Price Performance is not good enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Sussex National
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We were dissapointed and Hotel Price Performance is not good enough.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were at the hotel attending ESGA Senior golf competion.
The golf was fine, god service, good courses - no doubt. The hotel Gym & spa is fine.
The room was ok, nice wiew over the golf course, no noise, but no fridge.
The bar and restaurant was manned by personell which seemed unexpirenced in their job.
The breakfast buffet was scrabed to the minimum and not delicat.
The restaurant food was poor and uninspiering.
Without your own car it is difficult to get to other restaurants as the taxi service is unrealible and with long waiting times.
Use the sport & Golf facilities, and you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Select room with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Niels_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your comments I personally spoke to you and all the guests during your stay and
I did try to explain to your party of guests that the food was dicated by the group organiser and not the hotel.

The taxis are not within our control and i do apologise that you experienced waiting times with them

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    335
    126
    50
    39
See reviews for
168
468
24
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have just returned from an overnight stay at the East National which is part of the Devere Group of Hotels. It is set in the beautiful East Sussex countryside with a rolling golf course. We arrived in the middle of an international golfing tournament so the hotel was full but we were given a lovely large room with sitting area. The staff were friendly and attentive and the waitress at dinner, which was delicious, asked if we were alright and was most concerned that the golf tournament might affect our stay which it didn't. The only negative was that we were slightly ignored at the bar by some of the staff who seemed more concerned with the international guests. Special mention for Ike, who greeted us at reception and checked us out in the morning. He was extremely nice, polite and efficient. Would also like to mention the restaurant staff who, in spite of being very busy, gave us their undivided attention. Will definitely go back, especially as the Spa and Leisure complex was also excellent.

Room Tip: If you have children go for the family room which is huge, bright and airy with a bath and separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

Most importantly thank you for your kind understanding of us hosting an international golf event during your stay and i do apologise that you felt a little ignored by the bar staff.

Once again thank you for your comments and i am postive Ike and the team will be delighted to read

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My second stay at the Hotel. I think the food and service has greatly improved since last year !! The drinks are a bit expensive but you expect that at this type of hotel. The golf courses were in excellent condition and with several tees suitable for golfers of all standards !! I had an upgrade to a suite as a surprise for my wife. But all rooms are of a good standard. We will be returning next year !!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review and returning for another stay with us

The team have worked very hard on the courses as the weather had not been too kind and they will be pleased to read your comments

Yes the suites are a great treat when staying and hopefully we will see you return again soon

Kind Regards
Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

From the word go all the staff were polite and friendly especially the breakfast staff who were particularly so.

The hotel is big and airy with an impressive reception, plenty of parking. The rooms (we had 219) are large, well appointed with an excellent bathroom. The massive bed was very comfy and we had a lovely view.

The evening meal was a delight and we were visited by the local teenage Badger who watched us through the window ! The breakfast not so good. We sat down at 9am and the hot buffet food was dried out, sausage hard and dry, beans had a skim on top and by contrast the bacon was like boiled gammon. The fresh fruit salad though was excellent. Staff made up for the bad food. When we left at 9.45am, they had just bought out a load of freshly cooked food even though breakfast finishes at 9.30am ! ! ! VERY disappointing. For this reason we have docked a point otherwise it would have been 5 out of 5.......

The swimming pool was fantastic. Huge pool and I shared it with just two other people. Changing rooms immaculate, staff helpful nice towels provide etc

We recommend this hotel and will return if we are in the area, just sort the breakfast out please !

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

The team will be so pleased to read your comments regarding there friendliness

I am a little dissapointed to read your comments around breakfast and will ask that this be revisited by the head chef

Yes the Badger or Bob as we call him seems to be getting around the hotel to delight of many of our guests.

Once again thank you and we do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked with friends to stay at ESN for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in nearby Barcombe. We were very pleased with our room which had a lovely view. The room was a decent size and plenty of space to move about. The bathroom was also a decent size with a large walk in shower and a bath.

We ate in the Pavilion Restaurant on our first night, the food was very nice but the scallop starter which 2 of the party ordered was very small and they were slightly disappointed. Some of the restaurant staff need a bit more training, one waitress brought the wrong wine then when she finally located the correct one proceeded to bring an idiot proof corkscrew to the table and open in front of us (making a complete hash of it) without taking the foil off first!! The person in charge was horrified when she did this so I don't think she will do it again.

The breakfast was very nice a good selection of everything, The waiting staff at breakfast were cheerful and very attentive.

The spa facilities were also very good, I had a deluxe pedicure which was very nice. Unfortunately we were unable to play golf but hope to return for this purpose one day.

One thing I would say if you are getting a taxi be prepared to pay way over the odds just because you are staying at the ESN. This is not reflection on the hotel itself as it is not their fault but it appears the minute you mention you are staying there they double the price. We got a taxi through hotel reception to Barcombe Village which is less than 10 miles away, we were in cab for less than 10 minutes and we were charged £25. other people at wedding came from Lewes which is much further away and were only charged £13. We googled some other firms and the minute we told them from where to ESN the price went up. We even tried an online firm (uckfield taxis) which quote £17.50 to little horsted hotel about 1m from ESN the minute we put ESN in it jumped to £32.50.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilehurst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

Yes the bedrooms having a seperate shower to the bath is always nice and not many hotels do offer this. I am positive the team member would have been spoken too and we do have a few new team members that are around training in the hotel

Maybe on your next visit you can take the opportunity to play golf on one of our wonderful courses.

I will ask my front office manager to look into taxis as i agree this is not acceptable and i was very shocked to read they are doing this

Hope you visit us again soon


Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been staying in the hotel for the last few weeks doing some on going training. And without fail there is someone on the reception desk to greet you with a smile. The people who work the restaurants and the whole hotel are just absolutely brilliant, they look after you and they ask about your events that day. Always will go above and beyond, 2 of the staff Ryan and Ed have been fantastic and really all of the staff have made feel at home.

The conference facilities are top notch and are very accommodating if you need anything the will do everything in their power to resolve it.

Would always strongly recommend the de Vere hotels and i am considering booking time here for my self.

Cant emphasise enough how good these people are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us and i am positive Ed and Ryan will be delighted to read that you have taken the time to not only comment but mention them

We hope to see you again for another conference soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 day golf stay with my wife at ESN. We cannot really fault it. 2 well maintained golf courses; excellent service; great food; spacious hotel and lovely bedroom overlooking the courses. We would recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a short golf break. Didn't use the health club or spa but looked nice. Evening meal was good (we upgraded to the a la carte restaurant) although my wife's starter was a bit disappointing. Only other negative would be the Ryder bar which was overcrowded with golf society members, and seemed far too small with too few staff to accommodate the number of thirsty golfers wanting a drink having just completed their rounds. If you are playing golf and staying at the hotel recommend you take your post-round refreshment in the main hotel bar, where there is more space, better service and great views overlooking the courses.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at East Sussex National, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review

We totally agree that if you are looking for a golf break then it is an ideal location and having the two courses is a bonus for all our golfers

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,417 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
0.7 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Sussex National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Sussex National

Property: East Sussex National
Address: Uckfield, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5ES, England (Formerly East Sussex National Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Horsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Sussex National 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex Countryside, yet only 50 miles from London lies East Sussex National. Discover a contemporary 4 star hotel with 104 bedrooms,plus a state of the art health club, award winning spa and two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your East Sussex National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Sussex National Golf Resort And Spa
East Sussex National Golf Hotel Uckfield
East Sussex National Hotel
East Sussex National Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing