We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and gorgeous grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiing Gading Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiing Gading Bungalows
Oakland, California
1 review
“Fabulous food and gorgeous grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was a wonderful and peaceful place to stay in Ubud. Palm trees and jungle plants border a series of free-standing bungalows over the gently sloping (ok, there are some stairs; we're from the SF Bay Area...) grounds. Friendly cats and skittish chickens do their thing to the soundtrack of birds, geckos, cicadas and the distant hum of the scooters of downtown Ubud. It's a short walk to downtown Ubud, or the Monkey Forest, and after experiencing a bit of the madness of downtown, we were happy to have a quiet spot just a few blocks from the main road.

We were welcomed by Allan and Siti with cold beer and good conversation, and they immediately made us feel at home. Allan's a great guy to talk travel with, as he's been seemingly everywhere. Siti was warm and welcoming and cooked us amazing meals. She's a great person to talk to about where to go and what to do around town, and will help arrange rides with good drivers if you need to get out of town. We had planned to learn some Balinese cuisine while in Ubud, and after a couple meals, we knew Siti was the right person to take lessons from. (We already made the soup, and it came out great!!)

Our room had AC, which was a must for us after a few humid nights in the Gili's. We were on the second floor, with a nice panoramic view of the grounds. Each morning we woke up to a pitcher of hot coffee and the din of the tropics. A choice of breakfast is included, with tasty fresh fruit and juice. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the room was tastefully decorated with Balinese artwork. They even sell beer at competitive prices, which was nice to enjoy on the porch on the warm evenings.

This place was a great value, and was a wonderful experience. The perfect home for our time in Ubud.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying with Allan and Siti on our first trip to Ubud. From the moment we arrived, and were greeted by both of the hosts personally, we knew we’d picked a great spot. We began our stay by sitting around with Allan and chatting for over half an hour.

There was only one other guest staying at the time, and it was her birthday that week. True to the friendly nature of our hosts, Allan and Siti decided to have a small dinner party to celebrate. They invited us to dine (free) with them and their local friends. It was one of our nicest evenings in Ubud.

Tiing Gading is well placed – a pleasant walk to the main squares along the two major roads in town. It’s close to other attractions such as Dirty Duck restaurant (very good) and the monkey forest (which we skipped).

We’ll undoubtedly stay here again on our next visit to Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I can't recommend this place more highly. The rooms are clean and have hot showers, small fridges and air-con (and they're cleaned daily). The place is a complex of detached bungalows with a room on each of the two floors. Each has a terrace (where they set out coffee and tea). Bottled drinking water is free. And breakfast is very good. There's also a pool on the grounds. What I appreciated most was the proprietor, Ms. Siti Asiyah. I never felt like she was giving us a hard sell. Very trustworthy and good advice. Arranged transport from the airport and to our hotel in Nusa Dua at very good rates. Also arranged an excellent half-day tour through the hotel. It's a short walk away from the central part of Ubud, so it's quiet yet very convenient. FYI, the search result on google maps is incorrect. For a better idea of the location, look up Adi Jaya Cottages.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms have a nice breeze from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Most of the hotels in Ubud were out of our price range so we were delighted to find such a great hotel. There must be about a dozen rooms, each taking a floor of a two storey villa. We had an upstairs room, which was great as it had a private terrace where we had lunch in the day and a quiet drink in the evening. Location was good too, about 15 minutes walk to Ubud market and less than 5 to bars and restaurants or the monkey forest.

The room was nicely decorated in a traditional style (we especially loved the doors) and very clean. The pool was nice to have as well - small but we never saw anyone else using it so good to come back and cool off in a hot afternoon.

The food though was the stand-out highlight, the fried tofu and crispy beef were out of this world. After trying a few dishes, we arranged a cooking class with the owners, which I'd highly recommend.

The only downsides were the roosters crowing at the break of dawn and the showers are run off gas bottles so once I had the nasty shock of sudden cold water! Small prices to pay for such a nice place.

Room Tip: Top floor gives a lovely terrace to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked our stay at Tiing Gading Bugalows as a part of a last minute trip to Bali and Ubud. The owners arranged transport from the airport, which was helpful given that we arrived on a reasonably late flight. The complex consists of a number of double storey cottages in a garden setting (although a little overgrown in some areas). On arrival we were given a welcome drink, map and descripton to assist with orientation along with the offer that they could drop us off locally and we would need to arrange our own return. Generally we walked where we could. Although located away from the main streets, bars and shops we were close enough to do so day or night. The roads in and around Ubud seem to become very busy around mid - late afternoon and if able, at times it was quicker to be on foot!
The room was a little rustic and the bathroom was a bit ordinary, however they are clean and cleaned with all rubbish removed everyday. The bed was comfortable - more so than it initially looked and felt. The room had airconditioning and ceiling fan. A word of warning, in the mornings be prepared for the possibility of being awakened by the roosters crowing around the neighbourhood... The balcony on our cottage (second floor) was divine and perfect for enjoying the coffee that appeared each morning or something a little stronger, that we purchased to watch evening become night - this is when it came into its own. It was a great way to ease on into heading out for dinner and a few drinks.
The pool area could do with some love and is not really suitable for lounging around, but it was very refreshing and a welcome way to cool off after a hot day. The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent - I can especially recommend the nasi goreng... also the homemade marmalade and strawberry jam.
While this would not be for those seeking the "mainstream' hotel type experience and overall the complex could do with a little tlc - its charm and overall "family" vibe made for a relaxing stay at good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Tiing gading is a bungalow complex located very close to the city center of Ubud. The Traditionally designed rooms are great! And the entire property has a fresh natural feel to it. The owners are very helpful and of course the food is amongst the best i tasted in all of Bali !

The best part of our room was the sit out in the balcony, where we would sip hot lemon tea and chit chat everyday ! -- hence i'd recommend the rooms on the first floor with the sit outs .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

On arrival from the vile Nusa Dua to the opening drive/alley of Tiing Gading in Ubud I must say that the outlook was rather bleak and dismal and depressing. However on stepping through the first doorway we were transported into a different world. We were met by the owners who immediately exuded warmth and sincerity. Thereafter all of my doubts vanished. We had been recommended this property by friends and found it to fit exactly with their description. There are several double storey bungalows surrounding a lovely lush garden (slightly overgrown in some areas). We were in a top floor apt, the bedroom and bathroom are a little small but then on the other hand, the only time spent inside is the night time and the bed was large, old fashioned and very, very comfortable. The best part is the balcony which is large and has two comfortable chairs on it. These we used for much of our time in the complex and occasionally (especially early morning) some hot tea and lemon would appear and await our attention. This tea was perfect with the lemon squeezed into it and gave us a kick start every day. The Staff in the complex were exemplary, quiet, efficient and pleasing on the eye! The breakfast choices were varied and served in an unhurried fashion. We had the pleasure of taking dinner in Tiing Gading for three nights of our stay and food was superb, well cooked by Siti. She was also very good at organising our trips around the city and environs and nothing was ever a bother. Her husband Allan was also a character and proved very loquacious and often amusing and always kind. All in all a very pleasant break, in quiet surroundings (even the calls of the nature and animals around during the night seemed to blend in with the peace!). There were also three pussy cats who were occasional tempted to roll over on their back and purr! What more does a holiday maker need? I recommend everybody to go there soon before it becomes too popular and loses its charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Inn
Ubud Inn
#162 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oka Kartini Bungalow
Oka Kartini Bungalow
#176 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
0.0 mi away
Desak Putu Putra Hidden Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiing Gading Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiing Gading Bungalows

Property: Tiing Gading Bungalows
Address: Tebesaya, Peliatan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Peliatan
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small secluded resort close to the main road of Ubud. Meticulously clean Rooms are equipped with a/c noiseless ceiling fans, bathroom, refrigerator, original art, large balcony, swimming pool, excellent Indonesian restaurant, cooking lessons, privately conducted tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tiing Gading Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiing Gading Bungalows Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing