We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maya ubud lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“maya ubud lovely”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

we stayed at this resort for two night and our only regret was not staying longer.
we don't usually stay in such an expensive hotel but as it was our 30th wedding anniversary we decided to go for it. We were treated like royalty, our riverside pool villa was excellent, (best night sleep ever) and the grounds were lovely, we wandered down to the waterfall and regretted that we didn't have a picnic lunch to eat (this could have been arranged had we thought about it)
The massage we had was very relaxing, a little expensive but with the discount token in our room, still affordable.
We are currently trying different luxury hotels in and around the area but the May Ubud still ranks as number one in our experiences so far.

Room Tip: the pool villa facing the river was excellent. you couldn't actually see the river as it is down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    362
    94
    19
    9
See reviews for
366
1,290
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel has one of the most beautiful pools I have seen. It is riverside and accessed by an elevator. We stayed in one of their hotel rooms. I like the furnishings. The bathrooms have large bathtubs. The rooms and bathrooms are large. There is a tiny balcony. The breakfast buffet was included in the price of our room. There is a nice selection of tasty foods. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel. Ubud has many good restaurants and we wanted to try these. We stayed 3 nights in the Maya. We spent most of our days out exploring the countryside. The Maya isn't close to the centre of Ubud, but it isn't far away either. We had our own car, but the hotel provides a hourly shuttle during the day. At night there are plenty of people offering to provide transport to get back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the hotel rooms have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three days in March. On entering you feel like you're in another world - it's beautiful, well designed and would be great for some sort of romantic or bridal party getaway. It's about 5 mins from the main part of town by car and is definitely great for service. Ill list you the pros and cons...

PROS: You get free, decent, welcome drinks and the staff are always great! Buffet breakfast is fabulous and the hotel serves free afternoon tea daily. Pool has amazing views and staff give you free water whenever you come down for a swim. Rooms are large with balconies - we were upgraded for free to a room with two balocines overlooking the lush grounds. Internet is free (although reception can be very poor at times) and they have an hourly shuttle service.

CONS: The shuttle only runs until 5.20pm which means you're stranded at the hotel until dinner unless you walk 20mins from the hotel down busy roads or organise a driver. Not grear for elderly or unfit people. Taxis are no where to be found in the town so you would have to pick up a random driver from the side of the street which I tend not to reccomend. If you do stay at the hotel for dinner the prices are high and meal sizes small. We got room service one night and, to put it plainly, it sucked. I paid $8AU (plus 25% service charge) for a tiny crepe which was made to sound delux and plentiful. It definitely disappointed me. I had a similar experience at Hard Rock so probably stay away from room service wherever you go! Head to a local restaurant instead. Anyway... The Maya pool, although relaxing, wasn't great for sun bakers due to the hotels forestry location. I found myself having to lay on the ground in an awkward position to get some sun. But of course that isn't a problem for everyone! The only other thing I would say is that the spa is extremely expensive and you do find a lot of ants etc plaguing the rooms due to the forest type location.

Overall, id come back to the hotel for relaxation... but not for food, cheap prices or excitement.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

After seeing the pictures of Maya Ubud online, we thought we would treat ourselves and pay that bit extra to experience what we were expecting to be paradise in Ubud. We arrived to see impressive grounds on the approach to the hotel, and what appeared to be a pretty amazing looking place. However, we soon realised this wasn't reflected in the room. It was cold, clinical and unwelcoming. White walls, no artwork and an unwelcoming turquoise tiled floor. The furniture was old, stale and worn. There were no personal touches whatsoever in the room, which really stood out to us after spending the previous 10 days in beautiful hotels in Bali and the Gili Islands which were less than half the price of the room in Maya Ubud. No fresh flowers, fruits, biscuits, welcoming messages... Nothing! We immediately felt disappointed, stressed and ripped off! The robes which were stowed away in a cupboard and not immediately easy to find felt unwashed and also came with a note on them with price details should we wish to purchase one! It was clear this place wanted our money... There was a spa bath menu in the bathroom in which you could pay 150000 - 200000 for a tailored aromatherapy bath in the room with flowers. This was complimentary in the other (much cheaper) hotels we had stayed in! We decided to persevere so had a stroll around the grounds, which were massive! After a 10 min walk and 1 elevator trip down to the pool, it felt as if our stay there would be an effort, not relaxing at all. The pool was however stunning, but very small given the size of the resort. After a long walk uphill back to our room, we checked out the spa brochure as we fancied a massage... only to be shocked by the sky high prices! We then found ourselves checking out alternative hotels to see whether the prices at Maya were realistic and in line with the rest of the hotels in Ubud... which it seemed they weren't. We noted down a few alternative hotels and hopped on to the free Maya shuttle bus in to central Ubud to check them out and also escape the hotel for the evening! Needless to stay the other hotels we saw were substantially better than Maya Ubud, at half the price too! We had to get a taxi back to Maya Ubud at the end of the night, as the shuttle bus service ended very early. We got back to our room, which after seeing the alternatives really felt like a tropical Travelodge. The toilet paper holder came off the wall, and we spent the night dodging the influx of huge ants which were crawling around the bedroom floor. We decided to leave in the morning, and made our feelings clear to the management. They offered to upgrade us to a better room, but it was too late. Being in the hotel just didn't feel right and we could wait to leave. After much pleading Maya agreed to cancel the 2nd night we had booked there, and we were refunded. I am not usually in the business of giving bad reviews, but we felt very strongly about Maya Ubud, and really wouldn't like anyone else to have the same experience. It is possible to get so much more for your money in Ubud, and even at the half the price of Maya you can find a true slice of paradise. After all, if you're having the holiday of a lifetime you deserve to have a perfect time wherever you stay, and feeling ripped off and uncomfortable should never happen.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

I knew that this hotel was beautiful and luxurious but I was still not prepared for what I saw when we arrived. This hotel exceeded all of my expectations.

Located a little way outside of Ubud, once in the resort you can forget that civilisation is even near by.

We stayed in a garden villa which is well worth the expense as you feel like you are the only people in the resort.

The 2 pools especially the one down by the river are both beautiful and we spent a lot of time in the river pool.

We cannot speak highly enough of the facilities, and I would like to thank all of the staff for making us feel welcome and very special.

I would like to give special thanks to the staff at the Bedulu Bar for making cocktails for us, the restaurant staff for your beautiful service, and the pool staff for your assistance while we were at the resort.

I also need to thank reception who allowed us to reuse our room when the departure lounge was in use for a function, this was much appreciated.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Absolutely fantastic resort. Great service. Great pools, gym, yoga room. I loved it. Food by Australian chef is excellent. The only thing that lets this stunning resort down are the rooms. They are fine but nothing special.
I would return next time I went to Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hotel is set in a lovely, tranquil area and offers great facilities (though location-wise the town is unfortunately not in walking distance). It boasts 2 pools (one overlooking the jungle) and a good gym, as well as pitch & putt course (though you need to pay extra for this). They also have a spa, however the prices are extortionate. At USD69 for an hour's massage it costs 7x more than a massage elsewhere. I had a massage in the spa as well as one in Ubud town. There was no difference at all in the quality. The Maya spa has nicer massage rooms but only marginally – certainly not worth paying almost $60 more for.
We chose a superior room, which was nice however I'm not sure it was worth the price. The villas looked lovely though so if you can afford to stay in one of them I'm sure you wouldn't be disappointed. The breakfast buffet was also fantastic.
Overall considering the price we paid I think there are better options so I don't think we'll be back.

Room Tip: It's probably worth paying the extra money to get one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
976 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Property: Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing