We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Zen Experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had an awesome experience. Would return anytime to get away from it all. The spa was line no other, the people were among the friendliest that I have ever met. I learned a great deal about myself. I would recommend this spa to anyone who is on a journey of self discovery.

Room Tip: I stayed in the garden villa and it was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPMD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    362
    94
    19
    9
See reviews for
366
1,290
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

That first morning we felt like we we had woken up in paradise. It's a simply stunning location. The garden villa we were staying in was beautiful. Basic, but that is what we wanted, a quiet get-a-way. What we did have a problem with was the gecko living in the ceiling that would come out at night and we would find it's droppings on the floor. This really did freak me out! The hotel were unable to resolve this matter and unfortunately each night I was on edge. We were presented with a beautiful fruit basket as a goodwill gesture instead. The breakfasts at this hotel are amazing, an array of fresh fruit, cooked items, different breads and also Asian options. We ate dinner here once during our week but found it to be very expensive and would rather explore outside of the hotel anyway. We enjoyed a flower bath and massage, an enjoyable experience mostly due to the views from the spa, the massage wasn't anything special. What we found rather irritating was that we felt we were given the hard sell from the moment we arrived here. After flying from the UK via Doha and Singapore we were exhausted upon arrival. Rather than a quick check in we were given pictures of room upgrades to mull over for about half an hour before we were given the keys to our villa. We felt we had paid enough already for our holiday and felt this was inappropriate and inconsiderate, it did leave a bit of a bad taste to be honest. Although visually stunning I felt this hotel lacks in attention to customer needs somewhat and is almost a soulless place. But as a tranquil setting for a quiet holiday or honeymoon it is perfect. I would return to Ubud but not necessarily this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edenrose2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S'pore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 days short getaway during my birthday. The resort is beautiful and quiet most of the times though there was a big incentive tour group from Europe during our check in day. We are not affected by any noise as they seemed to be out of the resort most of the day. During our last day before our checkout, the resort had another incentive group coming in again so the spa pool is very crowded for at least an hour or two before the group cleared out.
We are lucky to be able to change our initial booking of a Garden Villa to a Pool Villa (we paid for upgrade). To be honest, unless you are travelling as a family or prefer to laze in the villa, then a villa is a good choice.
The Garden Villa especially, is good for families with children as there is a big space in front of the villa for the children to run around. The pool villa basically has an additional plunge pool for you to cool down after a hot afternoon out. Other than that, all the rooms are the same.
We viewed a few villas and in the end, we decided on a Pool Villa as a Garden Villa did not impress us as much with the river view we asked for. Perhaps the rice terrace view would be better for a Garden Villa.
Though our pool villa is right besides the main pool, it is still pretty quiet and the
guests cannot peek into the villa from the main pool. However, d river view is not really a river view. The river is kind of blocked by the trees and all. Perhaps the rice terrace view would be a better deal but privacy would be compromised.
I think the regular rooms at the hotel wing would provide a much better view of the surrounding area. There is 3 floors which provides a great view to the rice terraces and river view. We did not get to see the rooms there so we cannot comment on the layout. We also get to see the Presidential Villa which is amazing. You would have a villa with 2 rooms and a big pool in your villa, all by yourselves. The view is beautiful from the villa too. You can consider this option if you are traveling with 2 families.
There are definitely pros and cons about all the different rooms/villas. However, if you have a chance, do come to Maya Ubud for a getaway, you will not regret it.
Go try the spa if you can cos' the setting of the spa is beautiful and we absolutely enjoy our River Escape session.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaomei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was the best experience we had in Bali. It was a remarkable week, with perfect service, excelent room, divine restaurants and incredible location by a wild river.

While choosing this hotel we had some doubt about the distance to the village. But they provide vans that take us every hour to Ubud, it is just 5 minutes driving.

The pools and the spa are incredible. The architectural project is amazing, it takes our breath away and is fully integrated to nature.

Our room had views to the rice fields. So peaceful and magical.

Room Tip: All rooms are incredible, but if you have a chance the vilas by the river are magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Bertelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Maya Ubud for 5 days on our first time in Bali and we found it to be an oasis. We usually are the adventurous types who love to explore all the local environs but we found ourselves not wanting to leave the Maya other than maybe a morning tea in town (on the courtesy shuttle provided by the Maya) and then retreat straight back to the resort.
We found the staff friendly, especially the wait staff who were not only friendly but fun and would remember your names and your drinks.
The food was outstanding and the nightly specials were excellent in quality and value.

Room Tip: The pool villas are exceptional in quality with the only sounds to be heard are those provided by na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is very good and the surrounding gardens are well kept. Although we enjoyed our stay the bungalow we were given was very basic and we felt it needed major renovation. The view was non existent and the accommodation was not value for money. Bungalow was not 5 star luxury, definitely only 4 star max maybe 3 star.

Depending on the rate you pay the resort can represent good value but for the same price there are better hotels in the same class and price range.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank CityBoy_82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We arrived in Bali on a cruise ship and had booked the cooking lesson at the Maya on the internet after a recommendation from one of our daughters who had recently stated at the hotel. The 6 of us also booked our own taxi to take us to this tranquil oasis. The journey took about an hour from the port. The friendly staff greeted us and ensured we rested and had a drink before the cooking lesson started.
We were then taken to the spice garden where the chef enlightened us on what we would cook and explained about a Balinese kitchen before the lesson. What fun we had with the cooking each taking turns. Nothing was too much trouble and he gave us a lot of help. Afterwards we ate the delicious meal in the open air. They then presented us with a box of spices, recipes of what we had cooked and the hat and apron we had used. They then let us use the lovely infinity pool before we set off back to the ship. This was much needed as it was very hot.
A brilliant day was had by all, even the men enjoyed it !

Room Tip: If you get a room one by the inifinity pool is good as it overlooks the river and the setting is b b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
976 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Property: Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing