We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, overpriced food ... excellent breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, overpriced food ... excellent breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had a couple of nights in Maya resort & spa. The location at the edge of the forest near a river is great and the overall resort looks good. We had options for an infinity pool close to the main building where more of the guests were, but also a more quite infinity pool near the forest edge .. to read and relax. The morning buffet was really great with some good options for everyone. You can easily find a different menu for a 4/5 days stay. Staff is friendly. Due to the rainy days we had dinner in the restaurant. For sure you could find much cheaper prices in town .. but the fruit cockteils are great. We enjoied jugle forest a lot :). Rooms are clean .. but not a lot of balinese inside the rooms. Overall it was a nice stay if you want a quite retreat

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,604
    344
    90
    17
    9
See reviews for
339
1,200
81
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second stay here and it was everything we remembered plus a bit more.
Booking is easy with Maya and arranging transfers also so easy which is always a great start. Check in is smooth and friendly and we received quite a few welcome backs at check in then again at breakfast on our first day. Rooms are lovely and clean, large and comfortable. The bed is super comfortable and often hard to get out of in the morning. The daily yoga class was great and gym facilities really nice, clean and the staff very helpful.
The food at Maya is devine, breakfast provides so many options, the river cafe has some really tasty healthy options and there's often a themed dinner buffet or menu which povides some good choices. We had pizzas in Bar Bedulu one night which was also a nice way to spend a quiet night.
The hourly shuttle is really good and the drivers will point things out if you need them too and they always do a good check to see that they have everyone before going back.
I can't say enough about the spa - it was so hard to not book in everyday that we were there. The little huts that they use are so nice and the sound of the running water is one of the nicest ways to relax.
I could go on for hours raving about Maya but one final thing that we really appreciated was the departure lounge. As we had a late flight we checked out but left our bags at reception but were able to continue to use the resort facilities and then were able to use a very generous area called the departure lounge to have a shower, rest relax and get ready for our homeward bound flight. The lounge had really confy seats, was very private and all towels and toiletries were ready and waiting. They'll even bring food and drinks if you want. It just made a nice to change to wasting time in a foyer or bar before heading home.
We really loved Maya and hope to return again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellou33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
567 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights in the hotel part. The rooms are very nice and modern (thus almost lacking some Bali spirit). The rooms are located on both sides of the of the lobby - to the right is the rice field view and to the left is river valley view. The lobby is grand and the staff gives great service. The hotel and villa premise is very large, thus be prepared to walk. The surroundings are very nice and the facilities are built around the landscape. The breakfast presented a variety of dishes of both Asian and Western origin. We also tried the dinner, which was good. There is a Spa and a River Café at the far end. Really nice jungle views (Note: children were not allowed in the restaurant). They have free yoga sessions in the morning and high tea in the afternoon. If you are looking for a relaxing luxury retreat, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel part, ask for high floor and end the end of the wings to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I booked two nights of relaxation here as part of our honeymoon. As soon as we pulled up we knew it was going to be special.
You walk across the bridge and up where we were met with friendly smiles from the staff and a fresh fruit drink.
We were told that we had been upgraded from a villa with plunge pool to a two level villa with private pool and jacuzzi bath.
We couldn't believe it when we were shown to our room it was just beautiful. Everything was immaculate and every last detail was perfect.
We loved it so much that we decided to extend our stay for another night!
We at at the hotel restaurant for two of the three nights and although more expensive than in the local town the food was fantastic. The breakfast also had a great variety.
Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

WOW, this is simply decadent, private plunge pool villa with outdoor shower in a jungle setting above the river below. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is very good from breakfast buffet to lunch at the River Cafe and dinner in one if the restaurants. If your on a budget don't even think about it, dinner will cost you over $150 in the restaurant and $50 as a basic at River Cafe.

They have a shuttle bus all day into Ubud town, but it is not that far to walk. They charge $5 for their vehicle to pick you up from town if your outside the shuttle bus times.

If we were to return to Ubud I think we'd treat ourselves again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beso65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Late last year my mum and I decided we needed a holiday and Bali seemed like the best place to visit, we were right.
As this was our first place ever overseas we didn't want it to be spoiled by staying in a cheaply run down hotel so we decided we were going to go full out and stay somewhere beautiful. We stayed in bali for 7 nights and 8 days staying at the Maya Ubud resort and spa the entire time.
Our flight from Australia to Denpasar was from 11:00 am to 4:30 pm.
As soon as we stepped off of the plane a waft of incense, frangipani's and humidity hit our faces. It is a big weather shock and we already felt run down by the time we collected our luggage we also felt a bit sick tired and hungry so we just wanted to get to the resort as quickly as possible.
It was around 6:30 by the time we got to the resort and I should tell you we couldn't have been happier. The bustling sound of the city and motorbikes was completely gone and the sound of waterfalls and exotic birds took its place. The sunset passing through the trees as we rolled up to the lobby was wonderful and the clouds had cleared up to reveal clear blue skies. We were welcomed with ice cold fruity drinks and ice cold towels which was perfect seeing as we felt a bit sick. We stayed in a Superior Garden villa and it was beautiful. We were glad we didn't get a pool villa as some of the other families there said it attracted mosquitos. The resort has two pools which are both beautiful and clean but we spent more time at the pool next to the restaurant only because it was closer. Both pools are open from 6 am to 8 pm which is more than enough time. Surprisingly we didn't see any mosquitos at the resort which was wonderful and meant we could relax and I think that's because the resort fumigated the place so the people staying their didn't get sick from the bugs. They only did it one afternoon when we were there, it looked like smoke wafting through the resort but it was while everyone was out in town. The food is a little pricey but there meal portions are huge so don't worry you won't be hungry afterwards. The head chef is also an Australian woman who cooks everything to perfection, Indonesian food and Australian food. We found that room service was great and we used it a lot before we went out shopping cause we didn't want to eat too much out of the resort in case we got sick. You can order large pizzas and fancy big burgers and other stuff, it's great! The free shuttle bus every hour was great! It takes you to the start of monkey forest road and it's about a kilometers walk to the actual monkey forest temple were you feed the monkeys and take pictures (do it in the afternoon for great pictures). We didn't mind the kilometer walk as there were really good shops along the way, it can get quite hot walking along it but don't worry the shops sell 1.5 litre bottles of cold water for 40 cents each which was great.
Overall our stay at the maya couldn't have been better and we felt extremely safe and welcomed 24/7 there. The staff were beyond helpful and it was a pleasure to talk to them.
We went at the end of September/beginning of October last year and it was the best time to visit.
I have really missed Ubud and if I'm ever in bali again I will surely visit the maya resort and spa again even if it's just for another massage.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We're in love for the first sight with this resort.
It's a huge resort with very-well maintained garden. Here are some good points about Maya:
Great location, just 5 minutes from Ubud town.
Stunning views.
Serene and tranquillity surrounding.
Daily free afternoon tea time with snacks.
2 swimming pools locations, and they're all awesome.
I tried beginner yoga class and that was so nice and relaxing.
Countryside cycling was also fun! Friendly and knowledgeable instructor. Due to their busy schedule, make sure to book early so your arrangement will suits your time. Perfect to do around 7am or 4pm so you wont get burnt by the sunray. We booked just one day before and got activity started at 9 am, finish around 12.30pm...and yes it's HOT.

The bad thing, our room was disappointing.
We booked garden villa and requested rice fields view.
The fact is, the villa ground is about 1,5 meter below the rice fields (I have to lift my head to look up) we couldn't really get the view. There's significant different between pictures on their website and what I saw on the spot.
They also blocked it with some bush. I know that's for privacy sake, but it's worsening the view.

The bellboy said, he experienced some guests also complained about that. He suggested us to move to another villa (808), the only one with the best view of rice fileds. Unfortunately that room was already occupied just before us, by guests who unsatisfied with their previous room just like we were.
The receptionist who handled this matter seemed unfriendly and lack of professionalism. It's too bad, while the others staff we met mostly friendly and nice.
He consisted that our room was the best option for what we're looking for. He didn't even bother to offer us another good viewpoint of their villas.
We then asked him to have a sneak for another villas with hill view (his respond was annoying, flat expression, no smile at all!)
Fortunately we found one. It has beautiful scenery, and finally put us back in a good holiday mood.
About the room, it is spacious with traditional touch, but the décor is not special. The bathtub is lovely though.

Maya is a great place to sit back and relax. If you consider to stay here, make sure your room is in the perfect location.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy rice field from villa garden, better request room 808 or second floor superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikahalida12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
2.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Property: Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing