We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

After a few days at Le Meridien, near Tanah Lot, we also wanted to see Ubud.
It is a totally different scene, but very very beautiful. Everything is green, you can hear all kinds of birds, see all kinds of butterflies, you will hear and see (down below) the river, and you are surrounded by beautiful big trees. Maya Ubud Resort is just beautiful and the Spa is breathtaking. We went for several massages and everytime we came there, we were amazed by the scenery. It really is like a fairytale! The hotel is very serene, quiet, japanese-like, and it's swimmingpool is astonishing.. The only thing is that the pool is surrounded by 16 beds, of which 8 in the shadow, so only 8 in the sun. which we thought was really not enough! It was very quiet there, so our children (13 and 16 years) were afraid to make a sound. We didn't really care because we were in a 'duplex villa', with its own small swimmingpool, so we have stayed there a lot. We had booked two plungepool villa's and when we checked in, we saw that its styling was absolutely wonderful! The thing was that one villa was meant for 2 or 3 persons, so that's why we needed two of them. But the terrace of the villa was a bit too small for the four of us, so this meant that we would have to stay each at our own terrace... We didn't like that idea so we went to the reception for an upgrade. The several people at the reception mentioned several prices for the upgrade, (!) but finally we spoke to someone with a reasonable upgrade-price, so we went to the duplexvilla ($1000 a night).The villa was beautiful! There was this 'plungepool' that was like a small swimmingpool, and there also was a jacuzzi, and two terraces, with great views. We only went to the hotel for the Spa, for our dinner, and two times there was a great performance of 'kecak' and Balidance. Wonderful to see. Our son missed a fitness, he didn't feel like going for yoga, pilates, meditation or painting class, and everywhere we normally travel, he always loves to use the fittness. So too bad for him that Maya Ubud didn't have one. At the end he did quite some walking, biking and we even took a private yoga lesson, right in the middle of the greenery, river, birds and beautiful trees. He and his sister thought it was a bit funny, but I must say this yoga lesson was for me the best experience of Bali..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,236)
There are newer reviews for Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Wow!! This place will make you feel like you are the luckiest person on the planet! We arrived for the final part of our honeymoon. We had been to the Puri Santrian in Sanur and were sad to leave there as it was gorgeous! On arrival at the Maya, you are given a welcome drink and then taken to your room by a little golf buggy. We had a pool villa right at the end of the row and nearest the Spa. Our room was amazing!! huge bed, deep set pewter bath and the bathroom to die for! Outside we had a lovely lounger and our own pool and although it was small, it was perfect for a dip!
The hotel is set in such beautiful grounds that they have there own nature walk. we missed the organised one by the guides so embarked on one ourselves. The views are STUNNING it is a real paradise, if you like nature and greenery, this is the place for you. The hotel have a shuttle bus into Ubud every hour or they can organise a taxi for you. We ate at Bumbu Bali restaurant which was great value and they also did their own cookery course which took you to the local market at 9am to buy the freshest produce which you cook later on.
We went on one of the trekking trips organised by the hotel.Our guide (Gina) was the most fantastic guy. He showed us all the amazing tropical plants on our walk and then took us to the Elephant Cave where he explained the stories behind the Gods. We then walked through a small village, stopping off in a family compound and then we walked through the rice fields. this bit was just stunning. The views will stay with us forever!
The trek lasted about 4 hours and Gina made every minute interesting and informative. He also runs the Yoga classes at 7.30am every morning at the hotel.
We only had one meal at the hotel on our last night, it was VERY expensive compared to the rest of Bali, but it was nice. The only thing that is annoying is how they stick on service charge and government tax on your bill at the end, so always take this into account when you are paying.
The other thing that mustn't be left out is the SPA!! WOW WOW WOW!!!!! Words cannot describe the beautiful spa, it is surrounded by the river and so when you are having your treatments, all you can hear is the flow of the river and the birds and other wildlife, stunning! The treatments are expensive and if you are on a special occasion as we were, you have got to do them, especially if they include a flower bath afterwards, overlooking the river! We had a package where dinner at the lovely River CAfe was included.

The Maya Ubud is out of this world, people who have moaned about this place must have totally unrealistic expectations as the staff here, the grounds, the rooms , in fact everything was just AMAZING!!! What an end to our honeymoon. Missing it now back in sunny Yorkshire!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

i realy likes this resort,its was a beautiful pace,nice staff,friendly people,good food,excellent spa,but its too expensive for indonesian like me,the rates of the pool villa is expensive for me,but this place is realy beautiful,maybe i have no word again but i recommended for i dont know but this is the perfrcts resort in the world i think

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoVewWorLd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed for six nights at the Maya Ubud. It is a beautifully designed and expansive property with a Japanese aesthetic, but a very western style. The service is impeccable, the included breakfast fabulous. The care taken in the setting of the hotel and spa is apparent the moment you arrive. The rooms are large (we stayed in a standard room), though I would advise avoiding odd numbered rooms (101, 201. 301 etc) as they face the hidden staff car park. Even numbers far better in the main building. The food (we are vegetarians) was well prepared and delicious, made pricey by the addition of 40% in service and taxes. There is a free shuttle into Ubud. There are two companion hotels elsewhere in Bali. Pools are splendid, better down at the Spa.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Maya Ubud is first class in everything they do, especially the spa. I have had spa treatments all over the world, and this was simply the best. Get the "Harmony Duo", a treatment with two people simultaneously giving you the rub down in the most gorgeous spa setting I have seen. The hotel is very quiet, and my only complaint is that the two pools were shady and too cool. But the views of the tropical jungle, the design, and the location are all stellar. They also do first class nightly cultural dinners that were a bit like a luau in Hawaii, but they were done well. A nice place to stay and th help was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hufferca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My wife and I have been traveling to Bali for over 30 years though it has only been in the last seven years that we are continually drawn back to bali and up to three times a year.
Friends often make comments like “ why do you keep going back to the same place” We then invite them along and they also become hooked.
We have all come to the conclusion that it is the place we stay at and call home. The Maya Ubud Resort and Spa. Our next trip in September is our thirteenth at Maya
and there will be many more ahead. From the time you drive through the lush grounds and your greeted by the most attentive staff, you instantly unwind and realize your home. You just have to go and see for yourself. Im sure you will also fall in love with Maya Ubud. If you have any questions then feel free to give me a call Maderson Ford Byron Bay Australia. [--]

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madersonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

It was my first time in Bali when we arrived at the Maya very late at night...so we were not aware of the surroundings till the next morning. My friend and I were amazed by the beautiful surroundings with such lush greenery and tranquil environment, with rice paddys beyond the main grounds.

The buffet breakkie had alot of options and the pool right near the riverside is quiet and relaxing and was our preference to the one closer to the main restaurant area. The service is impeccable, with water, towels and staff nearby to serve drinks and meals poolside.

We had the best massage deal, with a three course meal inclusive with an hour massage. It was bliss...as the quality of the massage, as well as the beautiful surroundings was an unforgettable experience.

The staff were always so friendly & helpful during our 3 night stay...I will definately return to the Maya Ubud Resort & have already recommended it to friends & family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALM868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#13 of 199 in Ubud
1,074 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Ubud Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Gunung Sari, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range: £164 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maya Ubud Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort located in the central of Bali, between the river valley and rice terraces of Ubud. Rooms and villas with all the comfort and conveniences you would expect. An ideal choice for those looking for luxurious facilities, peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings with personalized service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Ubud Hotel Ubud
Maya Ubud Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing