We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute and can't wait to stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The location of Tepi Sawah is ideal - it is away from any hustle and bustle, and really has a secluded resort feeling. Travelling to Ubud centre couldn't be easier, we never had to wait longer than 10mins for the free shuttle into town, and the drivers were happy to take you where ever you like.

We stayed in a Batuan villa for 5 nights, and were not ready to leave!
The villa is spacious, with beautiful traditional touches, especially the thatched roof and stone carvings on the large balcony. This was one of the nicest features and we enjoyed spending our time relaxing on the outdoor day-bed and watching the sunset or eating our dinner.
Service was excellent in almost all facets of our stay, from housekeeping to management and restaurant.
One of the standout features at Tepi Sawah is the breakfasts; you have an extensive menu with choices of american, indonesian, continental, all served with amazing fresh juices, and the breakfasts are very generous - we usually wouldn't need lunch.

There were some renovations occurring outside our room during our stay, but they were surprisingly not very interruptive, and it was nice to wave to the local workers each morning as we left the villa.
Apart from this, the gardens of the grounds and the pool area are all delightful.

Bebek Tepi Sawah is the restaurant attached to the hotel and is one of the most popular restaurants in Ubud, for good reason. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food, and there are charming platforms dotted throughout the restaurant grounds and lily ponds for a romantic dinner or lunch.

My only complaint would be that internet access is not available in the rooms, only available in the lobby - and 9 times out of 10 it was not working during our stay. We were advised they would be trying to add wifi access to the rooms soon.
However, this is not a big deal as there are many internet cafes only a 10 minute drive away in Ubud centre, so was only a small inconvenience.

For spas in Ubud, we can highly recommend "Jaens Spa" on Jln Raya Pengosekan. Beautiful massages and excellent prices.

A special thank you to the shuttle driver who took care of me when I dropped my scooter and sprained my wrist - he ferried me to the local clinic, than the hospital for x-rays, and back to town - all the while happily chatting and giving me a great Bahasa lesson - fantastic and genuinely friendly service!

Room Tip: We only got to experience the Batuan villa, which we were more than happy with for the price; next t...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nat_gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at Tepi Sawah for four nights of our honeymoon recently. We found our room, the Campuhan villa, without fault and it was really beautiful, as was the private garden and outdoor bathroom. Superb. However, the place advertised rice paddy views and we were really looking forward to having a Gin and Tonic overlooking the paddies in the afternoon but that was not to be. Our villa was walled so we could not see out and, as well as this, there was a construction site behind the villa which had not been bought to our attention before we arrived. We felt it should have been as they hotel know we were there on honeymoon. Also, interent was advertised and we could not access Wi-fi about 90% of the time. As well as this it is quite a way out of town and the shuttle bus was very slow to collect us or take us anywhere. It may have been because it was the height of tourist season but it was very difficult to get in and out of central Ubud easily. We ended up hiring a motorbike and fighting our way through the traffic or just getting a taxi home each night after dinner. We would recommend this to anyone who does not mind driving everywhere you have to go and who wants privacy in your own villa. But if you want easy access to everything then another choice would be much better. The staff was lovely but you could not order two of anything on the breakfast menu as they would not allow it, even when we offered to pay the extra.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathkieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Beautiful Batuan rooms, landscape, plants, furniture. Staff are friendly. Free shuttle service around Ubud. Breakfast choice is OK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelMAKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

First impressions were great, although a few things started to irritate pretty quickly. Good rooms, spacious and in keeping with a Bali theme. Out of town loation a bit frustrating especially on a Saturday when the hotel shuttle was hard to book.

Overall this place is OK for the price, but don't to be wowed.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the Tepi Sawah with our children, ages 22 and 26, beginning May 26, 2011, for 5 nights. We had two rooms in the Batuan section, one was upstairs and one downstairs. The price was extremely reasonable and we felt as if we were in a 5 star hotel for the entire visit. The rooms were very large, clean, and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were luxurious! Maids came several times a day to clean and in the evening to light insect repellent on the outdoor porches. Laundry service was fast, economical and good quality.
My son described the breakfast as the best he had ever seen. It was not a giant buffet but instead was a made to order either American breakfast with all the trimmings or traditional Balinese. Note--authentic Bali coffee is made with the grounds thrown in the cup so don't drink it down to the last drop! The pool is really exquisitely decorated with statues as are all of the grounds. There are fresh flowers everywhere. The restaurant is recognized as one of the best in Ubud and people come from other hotels to eat lunch or dinner here. The restaurant prices are very reasonable as well.
The free shuttle to the other tourist areas in Ubud was a very nice touch. We especially enjoyed the stores and giant local market (plan on bargaining everywhere) on Monkey Forest Road. And of course don't miss the actual Monkey Forest with 300 macaque monkeys! Our children took the shuttle to a spa. And, our favorite restaurant, Ibu Rai on Monkey Forest Rd. was always happy to call the shuttle for us. For an extra price we were picked up and dropped off at the airport.
Besides enjoying Ubud itself we hired a van on several occasions to visit places nearby. Our children spent a day rafting on the river. And we all enjoyed the "Bali Outdoor" walking tour of a real Balinese village.
In short we enjoyed Bali and much of that enjoyment was enhanced by our stay at the Tepi Sawah.

Room Tip: We only experienced the Batuan section.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonioTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had a really nice stay, we had a Batuan room on the lower level so no view to the rice paddy fields but we had a nice court yard with two sofa's. We did ask for an upstairs room but there was only one near the construction area for the new spa so we opted to stay where we were. We had a king size bed which was comfortable and had an extra bed for our son and our 5yr old bunked in with us.
The villas grounds and pool was really nice and the restaurant had good food and great areas to sit and look at the rice fields.
Breakfast was good not the best we had in Bali but nice didnt like the coffee it was bali coffee or instant.
The front desk service was really good we never had a problem the room was cleaned well but the staff at the pool & breakfast area could have been more attentive at times.
The shuttle bus was great and we never had an issue we would call the front desk and they would let us know how long it would be and the drivers were really helpful if we asked them where to go etc for dinner it made it very easy to get around.
We had no issue with mosquito's the electric zappers worked well but we did make sure we applied mosquito repellent.
We had no in room wifi and the last day the lobby wifi was not working either as we only had a four day stay this was not a massive issue.
My daughter hurt her ankle playing around on the bed and we thought she may have broken it and the staff at the front desk were helpful and got the shuttle to take us to the emergency clinic and wait for us. Thankfully no sprain or break.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately consider this as an option next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We were on holiday in Bali and decided to spend the last 2 nights of our 5 night getaway at Ubud which is claimed to be more quiet and relaxing compared to our first 3 nights in Seminyak/Kuta. After combing the internet for a place to stay with a decent price, we set our eyes on Tepi Sawah Resort & Spa. Apart from its usual Balinese setting all round the resort, they are famed for their in-house restaurant “Bebek Tepi Sawah”. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly front office staff who gladly prepared a welcome drink for both of us. We were promptly ushered to our room which was “Taman Villa”, one of the many Balinese-themed rooms available. Our room had a high ceiling (Typical village house setting), a Queen sized bed, cozy sofa corner, attached bathroom & a study room. Everything you would expect to find in your room. Our room was located on the upper level so it came with a decent sized balcony with a table and two chairs for those seeking an alfresco feel. One can also order room service to be delivered to your balcony.

Each room is equipped with electric mozzy repellant – Thank god for that! The resort is built right next to a rice paddy field which offers a great view but along with the view came the mozzies! Literally hundreds of them focused on having a buffet meal off you. Trust me, you’d want to keep all your windows closed from 5:30pm onwards (Sundown by 6pm). We made the mistake of taking a dip in the pool before heading out for dinner and were feasted on by mozzies every time our heads bopped out from the water. We literally had to run back to our room to avoid being drained any further.

Surprisingly, the mozzies disappeared when we had our dinner at the in-house restaurant at around 7:30pm. We had a wonderful meal in a wooden hut located right next to the paddy field. They even had a man-made ‘river’ surrounding the hut with a mini bridge to get into the hut. The food was tasty and the price was pretty reasonable. Service was good and since the hut was located away from the actual restaurant and out of sight, they had a service button which you can press to get attention from the friendly staff. Imagine dining in the luxury of paddy field view, Balinese-themed hut & good food. What more can I say?

Overall, I can comment that the staff are all friendly (Although somewhat younger than I’d expect – I think it was a way for the resort to save on overhead costs) but not all could converse in English. The resort also houses an art centre for those with a knack for oil paintings or abstract statues. There is one swimming pool, two restaurants (One for outsiders and the other for in-house guests only) & a mini library. I think there are less than 20 rooms available in this resort so one could expect it to be cozy and quiet. The only setback of staying in Tepi Sawah Resort is the location which is quite a distance to the nearest convenient store, food outlets or water holes. To make it easy for the guests, the resort offers a free of charge shuttle service (Check the schedule before hand). Do take note that they do not have a proper taxi service in Ubud and the only ‘taxi’ service available is from private cars which doubles up as a taxi – I personally found this to be uncomfortable in terms of safety and accountability in case something happens. Lastly, the room we stayed in had a nice Balinese feel to it but could have been better with brighter lights. It just feels too gloomy in the room. Also, the air conditioning was not enough to keep the room at the ideal temperature. They should change the current one for a higher HP unit.

Tips to first time travelers:
1. Tipping is common in Bali as most of the people earns a very small salary, even in the hotel industry. There is no fixed quantum of how much to tip so it’s entirely up to your discretion.
2. Keep your windows closed in the evening.
3. Always pre-plan your outing properly so that you don’t end up stranded outside without transport back to the resot.
4. If you wish to have a non-Javanese dinner, head over to Pizza Bagus for a decent Italian fare with extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Goa Gajah, Br Teges, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range: £62 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas is located south east of ubud, about 2 km to the citi center, and 27 km from the international Denpasar Ngurah Rai Airport.25 units exclusive luxury villas, mix design of traditional with modern touch facing to the rice field and beautiful tropical garden view.Free shuttle service to ubud citi center at anytime from 9am until 10pm, provide you with 2 public big swimming pool, arts gallery, spa, and the most famous restaurant of Bebek Tepi Sawah Restaurant and the Crispy Duck menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepi Sawah Villas Hotel Ubud
Tepi Sawah Villas And Spa
Tepi Sawah Hotel
Tepi Sawah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing