We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, cute and warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy, cute and warm welcome”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed with the 3 people in the 2 rice field view rooms for 3 nights and have had a great time. Suly resort is a stunning place (almost feels like you're sleeping in a old temple complex) with 2 different and good (plus organic and fair amount of vegetarian options) restaurants, 2 pools, tons of sculptures, great gardens and very friendly staff; helpful, open and speak good English (as one of their 4 languages they got teached at Suly).

Rooms came with lots of flowers everywhere, a chocolate bar and welcoming drinks (after the fresh fruit shake at the reception!). The bathroom is spacious, though sometimes it had a weird smell (sewerage?). Our rooms had a nice balcony with chairs and table with rice field view.

Not right in the centre of Ubud, which is good, also as it is 5 minutes by taxi or take the shuttle of the resort. We will definitely come back to Suly!

Room Tip: - Rice field view rooms are great! - If older / difficulties with walking; please ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    125
    83
    35
    29
See reviews for
60
149
44
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked into Suly Resort after reading the reviews. We booked a standard room as this was all that was available as everything else was booked out. The room was in the new building and quite big but the bathroom was tiny. The bathroom also felt dirty as the walls were just plaster that hadn't been painted. Unfortunately the aircon was broken which we reported and they sent someone straight away but it still didn't work. The room has a ceiling fan but it wasn't over the bed so it was very warm for sleeping. We reported the aircon again the next morning and asked if they couldn't fix it if we could move rooms. They assured us they would get it fixed that day. We reported it again that night when we got back and after several phone calls just gave up and no one ever came back to fix it. The place is run by the students who are all very friendly and lovely but when it comes to a problem, there is no one there to help.
The shuttle bus service was good and the bemo's also run past into Ubud but the resort is much further than the 2km they advise. If I had known it was so far I would never have stayed. There are 2 restaurants at the resort and breakfast appears to vary depending on what restaurant you are allocated. We were at the smaller one outside the newest building which was fine. There was a small buffet with asian options, egg station to get fried eggs or omelet and you could also order pancakes. Plus there was fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee etc so plenty to eat. Hearing other comments the main restaurant is al-a-carte and some complained it wasn't enough.
Just outside the resort is Babi Guling Restaurant that mainly features pork dishes and if you head up the road a short walk is Bernadette Waroeng which specialises in Beef Rendang and asian dishes. After reading reviews we headed to Bernadette and it was fantastic! The Beef Rendang was delicious and all the food was beautifully presented. Bernadette made us feel very welcome and also offered she can arrange transport from Ubud if you want to dine there. I can highly recommend eating here. Babi Guling is ok if you are a meat lover! My husband thoroughly enjoyed it but I didn't really as I only eat a bit of meat and like it lean not fatty.
They do have meditation, yoga, spa/massage and 2 pools so if you are looking to use these facilities and are not wanting to head out, it maybe okay but if you are looking for a base to explore Ubud and the surrounding area I would suggest you are best to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Firstly, we were placed in a room without a balcony, in a new building, very close to the pool and the dining area. Basic room, but clean and nice. I noticed that our reservation said "room with a balcony", so we told this the hotel staff and they instantly offered us another room - the fancy one, much bigger than the first room, totally different style. And we fell for the looks. The newly offered room was a superior room, even though we booked a standard room, and we stupidly accepted. The problem? The room was smelling of mold and dump. And our superior room was on the ground floor, which made it even worse. Maybe the upstairs ones are not smelly? This actually makes sense, since Ubud gets so much rain, practically every day. So, our advice is - take the rooms in the newest building! Anyways, my friend and I felt embarrassed to ask for another room change, and since we were staying there for only two days, we decided it was not worth the trouble.

As for the hotel staff, we don't have anything but the words of praise. We also got a free 15 minute massage for one person, which we did not expect. Another thing that we got and did not expect was a free shuttle to Ubud downtown, 5 times a day, which we actually used twice.

Another negative point of this hotel is - the distance from Ubud center. The description of the hotel said "2 km from Ubud downtown", and it should have said "5 km from Ubud downtown" instead. We already advised the hotel staff to change that in their description. That is a big difference, since it is not really convenient to walk 5 km one way, whereas 2 km is, at least from my friend's and my perspective. You have to use taxi then, and taxi isn't that cheap ($2.5 - $3.5 one way, depending on the location) if you have to use it several times a day, so you might want to consider booking another hotel, even if it costs more.

Another positive thing - their yard is beautiful. They have two swimming pools, free yoga classes, and plenty of places to do yoga. This hotel is maintained by students of some school. They are all so nice and accommodating, and it felt really well to be around them.

The breakfast was satisfactory.

Room Tip: If you are booking a superior room, do not take the ones that are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Grandeous scale. Run down hotel taken over by a hospitality school. The kids run every aspect of this multi building complex and work very hard and do their utmost best, can not fault the human side. Would go back there tommorrow. A great experience. Clean rooms, good plumbing nice swimming pools, friendly staff always willing to assist.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Hotel is located a bit outside of the main touristic area (but they offer a free shuttle-bus to the center) and is in a quiet garden whit lots of statues and nice places. The pools and Restaurants are a very nice audience and relaxing.
STANDARD ROOM: The rooms are big and open wit enough furnitures and a comfortable but noisy bed. You can easy her whats going on outside on the corridor and it is in general not rely quiet. There is a window over the door to the corridor so you can't make the room completely dark. My room was not really clean, specially the windows look dirty.
STAFF: Very friendly and helpful. But they have a obsequious attitude which i don't like. Some of the staff is very sneaky for extra tip.
FOOD: The food is good and clean. The taste is optimized for tourists. If you like to taste the real local food, go some where else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tungmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I had a wonderful time at Suly. The children are always smiling and cheerful.
The atmosphere is very positive and spiritual.
The hotel grounds are mesmerizing with all the greenery and flowers everywhere.
The rooms are rustic and romantic. Perfect for a getaway from the
hustle and bustle of the city.
I will definitely recommend Suly Resort for anyone looking to
experience a little slice of Bali.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vindy_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at Suly Resort and Spa for four nights in July. Travelling with friends, we stayed in one of the larger rooms overlooking the rice paddies. Gorgeous old style bedroom with four poster bed and large balcony, from which many beautiful early mornings and sunsets where enjoyed. The bathroom was very tired and outdated however, but renovations were being undertaken during our visit, so perhaps bathrooms may be on the agenda? Despite this, the rooms were very clean and the staff absolutely lovely. The hotel runs a hospitality/education program for high school students, ultimately training them in hospitality while also providing an education, therefore the staff are all exceptionally young and wonderful. It's a great initiative, and during our stay, met a young American girl who was volunteering with the students for ten days. Guests are welcome to volunteer their skills and services if they wish in assessing with the education/training initiative. As the hotel is a fair distance from the town centre of Ubud, a shuttle bus runs every few hours. This was fantastic as it minimised the hassle of organising/paying for drivers and taxis. However, at times the shuttle could be very unreliable, and there were a few occasions where we had to catch taxis from the town centre, as the shuttle never showed. Apparently the drivers that run the shuttle for the hotel also do their own private jobs, should they come up, during the day/evening, and this may have had something to do with the shuttle's unreliability at times.

Despite this, had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Suly! As far as activities go, highly recommend the Eco cycling tour, which is a 25km down hill ride through rice paddies and villages. The information for this tour is available in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#137 of 198 in Ubud
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#148 of 198 in Ubud
98 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#106 of 198 in Ubud
69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#140 of 198 in Ubud
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suly Resort Yoga and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Resort Yoga and Spa

Property: Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Suly Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Resort Yoga and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suly Resort offers an oasis of tranquility with extensive tropical gardens and views out over Ubud’s rice fields. Suly is the perfect place for retreats and getting away from the pressures of everyday life. Under new management since May 2017, the resort welcomes guests who are looking for the perfect place from which to explore Ubud and the surrounding areas. Suly Resort serves exclusively vegetarian and vegan cuisine, reflecting our emphasis on health and well-being. We have two pools and extensive yoga and meeting facilities. Experience our special 10,000 steps walk through the rice fields as well as one of our guided meditations in this magical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suly Resort Yoga and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing