We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay if you love Balinese people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suly Resort Yoga and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stay if you love Balinese people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Suly Resort is a resort that is also a hospitality training center. Here, instead of professionalism, you get enthusiasm. If you expect impeccable service, you will be disappointed. But for a ridiculously low cost, you get a modern, clean, air-conditioned room, a great pool, lovely scenery (watching the sunrise from my window was breathtaking), and a complimentary breakfast. After Suly, I wanted to be in the center of town and stayed in a highly rated hotel for over twice as much, getting mosquitoes through the gaps in the door and ants attacking my toothpaste. I longed to return to my small but CLEAN Suly room. Do not let negative reviews scare you from here. I felt foolish for being scared to stay longer.

The students are polite to not impose themselves on guests, but if you show interest in helping them improve their English, they will gather around you and love to chat. You can also take a yoga class with the manager who is also a healer in his village. His brand of Balinese yoga and meditation is fascinating, very indigenous and different from Yoga Barn courses. If you are a people person with interest in getting to know Balinese people and their culture, there is no better place than to stay here.

I was hesitant to stay here based on the negatives reviews, but so glad I did. I want to address them from my own experience:
1) Toilets did not smell 95% of the time. There were a couple of brief occasions where a funky smell wafted through, but it quickly went away. Frankly the funky waft on the airplane back bothered me much more.
2) There are no rats nor rodents in the new building. When people complain about the bad construction, they are probably referring to the stairs which are uneven. But many buildings in Bali are.
3) The food is not so great. The breakfasts are decent and filling. Other meals are not expensive, but not cheap and nothing like some of the yummy cafes in Ubud center. Still, there are plenty of restaurants at this level as well. The Lotus Café I would argue serves worse food for higher prices with bad service.
4) The dance show is not of a professional nature either. It is like watching a high school production. Either you enjoy the students or you don’t. T In the laminated brochure, it states that you can either order the dinner package or watch the show only for 50,000 IDR. While I was there, there was a group who clearly wanted to watch but didn’t want to buy so they watched it from the bar instead. I find that behavior kind of mean-spirited.
5) DO NOT for a moment think these innocent kids are trying to scam your money. The students are enthusiastic about getting people to watch their show, just as they are very friendly in promoting their Sunday Market event which offers things for FREE.I tried to give a girl a tip once and she pushed it away. Others will take it with the happiest expression of gratitude.
6) The other thing I want to clarify is that the owner (who I do not know or haven’t met) is NOT taking advantage of these kids as free labor. There are 170 scholarship students here, and usually less than 30 guests. You do the math and figure whether they are being overworked…

The Suly Resort is considered a volunteer tourism destination. If you stay here, you contribute to the education of underprivileged youths and by patiently talking with them, help their language skills. You can do good for very little here. Try it.

Room Tip: I saw the grand deluxe room and it was larger, had a nice balcony with a view and a large bathtub. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chakimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    125
    81
    34
    28
See reviews for
59
146
43
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The day you check in they'll force you to reserve for a "cultural show" with dinner costing idr125, 000 per person for balinese food and show. The show was supposed to be from 7.30-9pm with song n dance balinese style. We were 4 of us and upon coming for the show realised that we were the only 4 who paid for a so called cultural show which by kids who use it like a practice session. The first 15mins of the show was relatively better off but nothing of professional standards. After the first 15mins the boys took over and started screaming in something which sounded like frogs croaking rather than music. There was a lone gal dressed in Indonesian dress not even dance costume, trying to dance to the croaking. For the next 45mins they got people from the audience to try their balinese dancing skills n make fools of themselves. N the show stopped at 8.30pm prior to the promised 1.5hrs. Anyway I doubt if I could have taken anymore of the croaking lest I go deaf. We were the only 4 who fell for their so called claims n the show worked out free for all others using the restaurant. The meal after paying so much included just free water and no other drinks. The irony being that customers just using the restaurant get to choose their preference of meal for much lesser cost and also enjoy the show while you pay and get stuck with hotel's choice of meal for you which might not even suit your taste. There was some kind of Indonesian soup served which most of us kept aside after the first sip followed by some rice, fried chicken and fish balinese style. The food was nothing exotic except for the balinese flowers they had on the table. This was followed by dessert of cut fruits...pineapple which was still raw! All in all waste of 500k rupiah to blast the hell out of your ears with some kids croaking thru mikes n calling it balinese culture. Oh n we did even have the bell boy joining the boys in dancing "balinese style"

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomyt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajikBadungBali, General Manager at Suly Resort Yoga and Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for choosing our resort and we apologize for any inconveniences you might have had. We took your feedback as a mean to improve our service and we'll make sure this never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peliatan hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The day you check in they'll force you to reserve for a cultural show with dinner costing 125, 000 per person for balinese food and show. We were 4 of us and upon coming for the show realised that we were the only 4 who paid for the show by kids who use it like a practice session. The show works out free for all others using the restaurant. The meal after paying so much included just free water and no other drinks. The irony being that customers just using the restaurant get to choose their preference of meal for much lesser cost and also enjoy the show while you pay and get stuck with hotel's choice of meal for you which might not even suit your taste.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomyt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Suly 4 nights, at the beggining we were so happy with this place! It has a beautiful environment, nature, culture and friendly little babies staff!... We were informed that the kids were on their training for the hospitality school, their performance was nice but I have to be honest that it suppose they are on their training, but it seems the hotel take advantage of them (I don't think they are payed workers if its training), and there is any supervisor or adult doing the main tasks with them. As they are in training, it is obvious they can commit mistakes, or they don't know how to solve problems if they don't have the correct guide!

The room and bed were really nice with a wonderful view!
The breakfast was just average, even though the staff very friendly.

In our case, the situation that turned this beautiful moment on a horrible experience, was the disgusting and horrible smell in the toilet!!!....it wasn't a problem about cleanness, it was about engineering (I mean correct installation and evacuation system) which was permanent during our staying, even the staff tried to ''help us'' but I insisted it wasn't about cleaning, but no solution for us!!!!

Room Tip: Try to be sure about the toilet installation and smell before you book!....if you don't have tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's rare that you can get a room at this pricem set in such beautiful surroundings, with such helpful staff. The rooms or main building are not particularly glamorous, but they are clean, smart and spacious. Breakfast wont win any awards, but again, it is hot, plentiful and included with the room. Although I was skeptical about the training aspect of this hotel, in the end it was the smiling faces and ready-to-help attitude of the young people working here that really made this place special for me. I'd definitely return. Went for 3 nights and stayed 7!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelstaceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I must say that although this hotel is not to it's best but it is a nice getaway. Surrounding with greens, it is really a beautiful place to relax. A little far from the town centre but you can hire a taxi or motorbike to move your way through. This place is run by young students and they do a great job. If you are not fussy about great service then it is fine. However they are very helpful. Breakfast is not that great but you have basic eggs and toast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariva14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in two adjoining rooms of the new wing of The Suly. The bedrooms were fine but the bathroom connecting to our bedroom was a bit sparse looking however both were adequate for our two night stay. The location itself is fantastic with great views and it is easy to see why people come here to stay longer and relax. Breakfast was ok - nothing fantastic. We ate in the centre of Ubud both evenings we were there so cannot comment on any other meals served at the Suly. I did a yoga class which was very enjoyable. The students working and learning the hospitality industry at the Suly were extremely polite at all times to my husband, boys and I and looked to be enjoying their education there. One of the swimming pools was closed when we were there which was a shame but as we only had 2 nights there we didn't have much time for swimming. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Suly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMears72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
2.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#24 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#108 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#142 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suly Resort Yoga and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Resort Yoga and Spa

Property: Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Suly Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Resort Yoga and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Suly Resort Yoga and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing