We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay @ Suly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay @ Suly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed in Suly Resort @ Ubud after reading encouraging reviews. However, we were very disappointed with the resort.

a) The location is away from most of Ubud's attractions. While they do have a free shuttle, it runs only thrice in the middle of the day (11 am - 4 pm), making it impossible to use it without paying for 'off hours' trips.

b) The rooms are not maintained at all! The room we had initially booked had faulty plumbing, the alternate rooms offered either had a pungent damp smell or had dead insects and spiderwebs all over the room (in spite of housekeeping cleaning the room before offering it to us). Eventually we had to settle for a garden facing cottage room instead of the rice paddy view we had initially booked. The bathrooms were REALLY dirty, with insects crawling all over the bath tubs and dripping faucets

c) The staff at the front-desk offered us a 'discounted price' to compensate for us having to settle for a room we hadn't booked due to plumbing issues. On checking their website, we realised they were actually charging us more than the published rate and trying to peddle it as a discounted rate. When we called their bluff, they casually agreed to offer us the published rates. When we told them they had claimed to give us a discount, they dropped the price by another $5!!

d) Overall we were happy with our interactions with the housekeeping and restaurant staff, they were courteous and pleasant. However, the service-quality was very poor (dirty rooms, it takes 2-3 calls to the front desk to get a response/service, no room service!)

In all, it is a nice looking resort with terrible maintenance and management! While i understand it is run/staffed by children from the local school, would expect management to maintain certain hygiene and service standards.

Room Tip: Would not recommend their garden facing cottages. Clearly these rooms are not in use or maintained w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchetasundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajikBadungBali, General Manager at Suly Resort Yoga and Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for choosing our resort and we apologize for any inconveniences you might have had. We took your feedback as a mean to improve our service and we'll make sure this never happens again. warm regard Mr Gusti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    125
    82
    35
    29
See reviews for
60
147
43
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here last summer, very good and for a good price. Resort is run by students from a nearby school. View on rice terrace is great. Only location could be better, but taxi's are cheap. Spacious, clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maa120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were booked for two nights here but extended it to six nights. The staff are the nicest people we have ever met. The only issue I had was, in the bedrooms there is a joining door to the next room and if you have loud neighbours then look out! .. That happened one night though. We came back on New Year's Eve and the staff were having their own party and they called us in we stayed up for hours partying with them. Brilliant night. This place has to be the best place I have ever stayed at for feeling welcome and comfortable. We left today and to be honest we didn't want to leave. I can't say enough about how amazing the staff are. All my love suly staff .. Room 124 John and Hannah x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I was staying only for a night, it was moslem's fasting month and no one would go with me but fortunately i choosed to stay at this place and it's the correct one to be selfie. As said, they hire students but it's ok for a cheap place with beautiful view around the resort.
The foods were not recommended though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Well this place is ok, is a hotel what students working to pay the college,
they are very nice always happy and very helpful.

breakfast ok, since the chef who was there in the days we was there wasn't too happy

restaurant is good just if you really like Indonesia food (what isn't our case)

very good to organize motorbike and information

we choice this place to fell loose of the rush, and was perfect for this.

well we knew that but we stay anyway, the shower and bath room is terrible and smell bad

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juninho-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at Suly but were disappointed. The location is a good 45 min dangerous dirty and loud walk to the centre of Ubud (pavements are dreadful). There is free shuttle that drops you at inconvenient times but then getting back is the problem so you must take a taxi at night which adds up due to there only being two local restaurants. We stayed 3 nights as we had excursions booked however would have moved if this wasn't so. Overall the hotel is OK, breakfast was a good size and the pool looked nice. However the rooms didn't feel clean, I had ants in my bed which wasn't at all nice. The drinks and food very very overpriced in comparison to other places we went to. The hotel is run by children learning to study hospitality, however we found there was far too many of them in the hotel and it went from friendly to borderline creepy! Also there was a mess up with the booking we were overcharged and there was never an adult on hand to deal with the confusion which was quite irritating. We still are not sure whether we will get our money back. I wouldn't recommend this hotel but I would the the restaurants either side and the lovely deli next door.

Room Tip: one on the second floor, if you are on ground floor people can see into your rooms, we had curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajikBadungBali, General Manager at Suly Resort Yoga and Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for choosing our resort and we apologize for any inconveniences you might have had. We took your feedback as a mean to improve our service and we'll make sure this never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peliatan hotels

Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at room 106, with garden view and the bathroom facing to the rice field.. very nice and make it memmorable.. the location not too far from central of ubud and the hotel provide free suttle bus to ubud.. every wednesday and saturday they have some special performance for their guest.. im very enjoyed stay here even though some of staff still younger ( high school training ) but i appriciate that staff or trainer always keep smile when we pass of them.. thanks

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darmabaronna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#71 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
1.3 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 195 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#111 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suly Resort Yoga and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Resort Yoga and Spa

Property: Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Suly Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Resort Yoga and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suly Resort Yoga and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing