We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We did not make any reservation for our trip to Ubud since it was a go-show trip. When we open the web to see many options, we were surprised to see its price, as it is not that pricy for it has a beautiful view like other hotels and resort surrounding. When finally we found that it's located on street side, we were thinking of noisy issued and the fact that it is a hotel that is owned by a tourism school.
It was changed then when finally we made our booking and meet staffs who are really high school students and stand on their own role to run this hotel management. They also speak good enough English and show their professionalism in doing all of their tasks.
Another surprise was their new building and pool, as I am really afraid with a hotel with old building and interior. They still have it though, but both of these new units are nice, clean, sleek and shows that they are willing to improve their quality.
And to end our trip with good memory, their homemade breakfast was offered so many options that usually a big hotel could served. Their french toast was my fav!!
Really want to deliver a message to give a try to this place, so their students can always improve the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Suly Resort Yoga and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from spending a week at Suly, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The fact that the staff are all students from the connected school was lovely, and there was no compromise with service at all, they were in fact the most welcoming and hardworking staff I've come across at any hotel!

The breakfast is GREAT, so much choice, the free yoga was amazing fun too. The free shuttle into Ubud proves very helpful. Definitely attend one of the dance nights at the hotel, you get to try a wide variety of traditional Indonesian foods and the students put on a lovely Balinese dance, and it's cheaper than places where you pay just to see the dances!

We were two students travelling around Bali and the room was much more luxury than we'd been expecting, large bathrooms and always very clean. If you need great value, excellent service and a culturally centred holiday in Bali GO HERE! :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank holidayaddict083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Suly Resort for two nights. It is in a lovely quiet location just out of Ubud. The gardens and common areas of this hotel are simply lovely. You can hear the lingering of mellow pipe/ flute music coming from the dining area and the relaxing trickeling of water coming from the numerous water fountains in the garden. The hotel is surrounded by a working farm/rice crop adding to the ambience. You can hear frogs and ducks and chickens as you sit at the pool and look over the beautiful rice fields and palm trees.

We stayed in a standard room ( 403 ) and while the room was large it was a little void of decoration and felt a little cold, such a contrast to the common which are beautiful. Our room did have a lovely view looking over the rice fields though. Although the room was large the bathroom was tiny and it didn't really have anywhere to put your clothes or creams and lotions. Our bathroom was also smelly, however in defense of the staff we did not make a complaint about the smell until check out. The smell didn't come out into,the bedroom so we just kept the door shut.

The staff at the resort were amazingly friendly! Always smiling and happy to say hello. The reception staff were fantastic too, always helpful and eager to help.

We really enjoyed the food here. The breakfast was nice and had a good selection. The dining area has a lovely feel to it which makes dining a pleasure. We also enjoyed a beautiful Balinese dance and set meal on Saturday night which was a lovely addition to our experience.

The Internet was only available in common areas and the pool. This was fine because the common areas have several beautiful areas to sit and as mentioned before these areas are much nicer than the resort bedrooms.

Overall this was a lovely place to stay. We would stay here for the common areas alone. If we do come again I would like to check out some of the other rooms first.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had very friendly service. The 'free' yoga was horrible, the instructor worked in reception and I was surprised no one was injured. While the place is out of town, it is not very quiet. There are lots of staff walking around and working on the gardens. The buffet breakfast is good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank worldtraveller_8508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had an enjoyable stay at Suly with the exception of there not being wifi in any of the rooms. But the reception staff was very nice and allowed me to keep my laptop behind their desk while I went out for the day so I could load a few things. The service was really great all-around, and the students who run the hotel are all very nice and accommodating. The room was nice, although the toilet, sink and soap dispenser were all leaking continuously throughout our stay. My boyfriend and I aren't too fussy so we just put a few extra mats on the ground, but it may be an issue for some guests. There are also two gorgeous pools!

There is also a free "yoga" class offered in the mornings, although I was appalled by one of the classes. The first class I took was extremely easy, but that's fine as it's not a yoga facility. However the second morning class that I took was barely yoga at all, and could have been very dangerous. The instructor went directly from simple hand stretches to a few advanced poses to a sort of partnered acro-yoga, all without doing any real poses or stretches to warm-up our bodies. Advanced inversions require warming up your body first, so if you take a yoga class here please be aware of your body! I'm quite surprised that nobody in my class pulled a muscle or hurt themselves, and would not be surprised if it happens in the future.

Room Tip: Be careful before taking a yoga class here, especially if you are new to yoga! Also be prepared for...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After booking this place on agoda, we didn't expect the level of service we would receive. This place could easily justify raising their prices. The area inside the hotel is amazing and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are two pools to utilize and the dinner was fantastic. We even tried the dance performance dinner and was pleasantly surprised with the level of service. The only downfalls ate that it is a bit away from everything and the neighborhood surrounding the hotel is not very nice. There was a slight problem with the shower as well. During the middle of the shower, the water temp raised very high on its own and burned me. Overall I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmills83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As others have noted, this hotel is part of a hospitality school compound. The students basically ran this place themselves and are always extremely friendly, helpful, and professional (especially for being students!).

We choose to get a room without breakfast included, but I would recommend spending a little more to get it. It's a big buffet and looked delicious.

The rooms are very large and come with AC, a TV, a fridge (huge plus for us), and bathrobes. The bathrooms are small, but functional.

One important thing to note, when we booked this hotel via Agoda, the listing stated that there is free Wifi in all the rooms. This is note true, there is not Wifi in any of the rooms at Suly, only in the public areas. Not a big deal, but it came as quite a surprise to us.

For the money, you're not going to find a better place to stay in the Ubud area. Be aware that this hotel is in Peliatan, to the SE of Ubud center. There are free shuttles several times a day to Ubud, but I would recommend just renting a motorbike for 70k IDR per day and driving yourself around. There's also free yoga at 8:15am in the morning if you're into that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the first floor. There are many people smoking cigs right outside and the smell i...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gplot84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajikBadungBali, General Manager at Suly Resort Yoga and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We are appreciates it very much you enjoyed your stay with us, we were doubly surprised and so glad for all of those nice comments. Thank you very much, hope to see you again in the near future with a busload of your friends looking forward to gain the same experience.

Warm regards
Mr Gusti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peliatan
1.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
749 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#139 of 199 in Ubud
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#116 of 199 in Ubud
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#109 of 199 in Ubud
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suly Resort Yoga and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suly Resort Yoga and Spa

Address: Jl.Cok Rai Pudak, Br.Yangloni, Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Suly Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Peliatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Peliatan
Price Range: £17 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suly Resort Yoga and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suly Resort offers an oasis of tranquility with extensive tropical gardens and views out over Ubud’s rice fields. Suly is the perfect place for retreats and getting away from the pressures of everyday life. Under new management since May 2017, the resort welcomes guests who are looking for the perfect place from which to explore Ubud and the surrounding areas. Suly Resort serves exclusively vegetarian and vegan cuisine, reflecting our emphasis on health and well-being. We have two pools and extensive yoga and meeting facilities. Experience our special 10,000 steps walk through the rice fields as well as one of our guided meditations in this magical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suly Resort Yoga and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suly Hotel Gianyar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing