We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value - couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value - couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

24 hr reception- Free Wi-fi and Free Parking -I was not well and ordered Mineral Water late at night and it was brought to my room .Bed and bedding top quality . Whole room immaculately clean . Huge TV at eye level viewing.Very reasonable rate . Only extra I would have liked was electric blankets. Reception staff excellent. A massive shopping complex just nearby and around the corner 5 mins walk is a strip of shops takeaway /florist/ gift shops etc in Highett St.
Will stay again and now on the lookout for other Best Western Plus and Best Western Premium motels -the Best Western Plus at Carlton , Vic is excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Good morning Dorothy,
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our facilities such as Daily Housekeeping, 24 Hrs reception and comfortable bedding. We are conveniently located to Train station, Highett local shops and Westfield Southland and this make access to and from city much easy for our guests.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in future.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    97
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
52
80
21
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel instead of 1 as we liked the hotel very much. One of the better hotels I've stay during my trip in Melbourne. Service is very good. Restaurant serves really great steak too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewliow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Good morning Drewliow,
Thank you for your time reviewing us. We value your feedback and glad to know that you would rate us one of the better hotels in Melbourne. Your restaurant team is grateful for your comments in regards to food and service.
Thank you once again and hope to see you returned in future.
Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Overall, good value for money. Great location when you need to be south of city. Personally found the bed uncomfortable compared to previous night in Hotel in Melbourne city of similar value. I have stayed here before and will again because of location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alencon, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this "out of town" motel. The rooms are fine but a railway line runs just behind and the trains start around 5 am tooting as they pass the hotel. Also there was a local neighbourhood party which prevented us from sleeping. The soap & shampoo were not replaced during our stay so we were a bit smelly by the third day!
Quite frankly a hotel to avoid as Melbourne has much better at this price.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza14336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackC2012, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Buckingham International, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kazza1436,
Thank you for very first review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to our location being so closed to Railway station. With Melbourne’s Public Transport, the train services starts fairly early and we can imagine the inconvenience of anyone who is on holidays.

Our team was unaware of any other guests reporting the noise complaints due to local party in our neighborhood but regret to find out that you didn’t think about contacting someone from our 24 hrs reception who could have taken some steps in time.

Our housekeeping team is quite generous in providing sufficient complimentary amenities and if our guests need more, our reception team can organize this during 24*7 if given the opportunity to ask.

We value your opinion and thank you again for spending time with us; we regret to know that this couldn’t be a better experience for you like our many satisfied guests.

Best of luck with your rest of the travels.

Kind regards,
The Buckingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place to stay. The room is clean and nice. I saw some reviews saying the heater didn't work. Both the heater in room and bathroom were working fine in my case. Staff are very nice and friendly too. I like this red brick wall building.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EliseAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

There are plenty of shops nearby (walking distance probably 10-15minutes). If you were driving to the hotel, you will need to make a U turn if you are on the opposite direction (the hotel can be seen easily with alittle effort). The room is clean and comfortable. Wifi is available for free which is great. I was staying on the ground floor (they have ground and 1st floor) so moving thing from my car over is easy. If you plan to move plenty of stuff (huge luggage), remember to request for ground floor room. I see they have pool but it's not heated one and the time we went was near to winter so we didn't use it (the pool didn't look pleasant/clean at that time somehow - i guess since it's so cold and nobody would use it anyway hence not cleaned?). Overall, it's still good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you need to move huge luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Perfect to for us to stay half way between the city and the peninsula. This property is always spotlessly clean. Good parking. Prefer ground floor no stairs for me. No traffic noise even though on Nepean Highway.

Room Tip: Prefer the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highett
6.1 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
2.8 mi away
Beaumaris Bay Motel
Beaumaris Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Beaumaris
33 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.1 mi away
Dingley International Motel
Dingley International Motel
#1 of 1 in Dingley Village
95 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Buckingham International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Buckingham International

Property: Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Address: 1130 Nepean Highway, Highett, Bayside, Victoria 3190, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Highett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Buckingham International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at this boutique venue surrounded by gardens in Melbourne bay side area, comprising 72 modern 4 star rooms, onsite restaurant, 4 conference rooms and outdoor pool and is a proud winner of "Certificate of Excellence 2013" from Trip Advisor. Excellent Location• 2 KM to Moorabbin & Cheltenham• 3 KM to beach and Bay side suburbs such as Sandringham & Brighton• 0.5 KM to Highett train station• 17 KM to Melbourne CBD• Less than 5 KM to leading golf courses in the area• 9 KM to DFO factory outlets• 1.3 KM to Southland Shopping centre• 10 KM to Chadstone Shopping centre -Fashion Capital of Melbourne • 10 KM to Caulfield Race Course• 42 KM to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport• 6 KM to Moorabbin Airport• 15 KM to Grand Prix Circuit - Albert park Buckingham is located on Nepean Highway in the heart of the Moorabbin- Cheltenham business district in the south eastern Suburbs of Melbourne.Buckingham International offers • 24 hours reception• Restaurant offering hot breakfast and healthy dinner choices • Bar open daily from 5 PM onwards • Room service option available 24 hours • Free off-street parking• Valet dry cleaning service• Onsite washing and drying facilityOur newly renovated rooms features • Modern & elegant decor• Luxury beds with triple sheets • 42" flat screen television• Complimentary high speed Wi Fi access• 8 free Digital Foxtel channels including movie and sports channels• Ergonomic Work desk• High security keyless entry• Spa bath in Executive Spa suites and many more luxury extrasOur RestaurantAJ's Bar and Bistro is the perfect dining experience - offering exciting international cuisine as well as popular local produce with professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. You can find your choice of variety of wine, beer and cocktail ranges in our drinks menu. Loving the warm weather in Melbourne? Feel free to catch up with friends for drinks in our courtyard. Trying to keep yourself fit? William Fry Reserve is only two minutes away best of either a short walk or a quick run. Offsite Gym passes are available.(Nominal Fees apply). Waves leisure centre with pool and gymnasium is also about 3 minutes driving distance. Our team awaits to welcome you at the Buckingham International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Buckingham International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing