We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit amateurish and clumsily run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a bit amateurish and clumsily run”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

stunning view. this hotel has great potential. it is good value, the spa is great and the service at the spa is v good as well. the hotel however is v poorly run. the people v inexperienced, clumsy and generally not v happy to be there...the hotel and the rooms are clean but the decor is a bit strange/random and not the most tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    172
    78
    44
    14
See reviews for
99
392
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Greenway! The hotel was lovely, we were upgraded to a junior suite on check-in which was great, the Copper Beech room had countryside views and was very spacious and plush. Loved the bathroom with it's double shower, free-standing bath and two sinks.

Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. We enjoyed drinks in the bar/lounge which was beautifully decorated and relaxing.

Our favourite thing was the spa; as the hotel was quiet we pretty much had the pool to ourselves. It was fabulous, brand new facilities, lovely sauna, steam room, etc.. absolutely loved it!!

The location is about 3.5 miles from the centre of Cheltenham so easy to get to for shopping or a short cab ride for an evening out.

In summary, we really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Better_than_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and i spent two nights at The Greenway. Drove past a couple of time as the signage was very poor. The receptionist was very warm, efficient & showed us to our room. We made use of spa facilities, very nice. Not too keen on the music being played i.e. robbie williams, James blunt. We ate in the restaurant one night out of the two. The food & service was very nice and attentive. Breakfast was very good also, radio 1 was being played in the restaurant which i found inappropriate for this type of hotel. We had a wander around the grounds after & were very disappointed, it looked very unloved. There were some trees in pots that were dead, everything needed a good water. There seemed to be a dumping ground of wood, bricks and general waste on the lawn. On the whole a great stay but the gardens need some TLC

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthEastNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs,england
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is situated in its own grounds which are well maintained ( very pleasant to stroll round )and we had a lovely view from our room at the back of the hotel over the Cotswolds. Good car parking space.

On arrival check in no problems , receptionist took us to our suite, a bit of walk. Got everything you would need. Good size modern attractive bathroom but dim lighting above washbasin so difficult to see to shave / do make up, nice range of shampoo etc. Dim lighting also seemed to be a feature of the bedrooom which was otherwise well appointed , plenty of cupboard space. Flat screen good size TV, teamaking facilities , free bottled water , bed turned down whilst we were at dinner .

Public areas attractive, clean and bright ,. Although we didnt use the spa we had a look at it and it certainly had first class facilities.

Staff in bar and restaurant efficient , polite and cheerful . The main reason we were staying at the hotel was for its food which is recommended and the chef did not let us down. All the courses we ordered were beautifully cooked and just right. House Merlot also 1st class. We had a very nice evening but then the problem , it was a warm night and no airconditioning combined with the fact that the duvet was a winter one about 6 inches thick meant that we spent the night tossing and turning even though we had the windows wide open ( as a consequence the dawn chorus was quite loud !).

Breakfast individually cooked to so I had a full English , very pleasant , whilst my wife was slightly more conservative in her choice.

Check out efficient and politie.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I've stayed here three or four times and love it. On the edge of Cheltenham, but down a long, quiet drive and overlooking open countryside, staying here feels like staying in a wealthy friends' country house! (wish I had some). The overall feel is comfortable and friendly, with a smashing lounge, and consistently delicious meals. The rooms are bright and comfortavle, and a place to really relax. The recenbt addition of a small gym, hydropool, and great spa make this hotel a destination in itself for busy people or travellers who want a treat. Love it!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the fields at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I wanted to spend the weekend in the Cotswolds and get a feel for an English countryside getaway, and the Greenway Hotel seemed like a nice choice. Although it is pricey, it's not as expensive as staying in a comparable hotel in London, though a few locals seemed to think we were quite wealthy if we could afford to stay there. Truth be told, we paid about $250 American dollars per night for the weekend, after taxes. More than we normally would, but certainly not egregiously extravagant.

The hotel, which has a nice history, is nearly 500 years old, being converted from an old manor house. The layout is nice, well furnished, and the landscape is colorful and charming. It sits back about a quarter of a mile off the main road into Cheltenham, and there is a long private drive that ensures peace and quiet throughout your stay. The quiet hills of the Cotswolds are behind the hotel, including a few trails for anyone wishing to hike (although I got lost in a cow pasture surrounded by a herd and was a bit terrified for a bit!).

For my wife and I, we didn't mind splurging on the nice room, which includes an incredible breakfast each morning. However, the dinner menu was too pricey for our taste. At 65 pounds per person (about $100 American each), my wife and I decided to walk down the road about 10 minutes to the nearest pub where we ate perfectly fine pub food and dessert with ales for a very modest price. The restaurant is quite nice, and if the breakfast is any indication of the quality of dinner, then I'm sure the dinner is worth it for those who can afford the steep price.

We did not rent a car, and on future visits we would likely have one to get us into town. There is a bus stop near the end of the private drive, which runs every 30 minutes or so, but if you plan to really get around the countryside and visit other villages, a rental car is probably essential.

We also did not take part in the spa treatments, though we saw other people enjoying themselves and the staff was very attentive and informative about the treatment options. Probably the only negative was that at times some members of the staff seemed a bit agitated, and at one point I heard a manager and an employee yelling at each other quite heatedly near the lobby.

Overall, I give this hotel maximum ratings for room quality, landscaping, attentive staff, and dining quality. However, it's remote location (it's not actually in Cheltenham, the website's map is misleading) may not be ideal for those wishing to step in and out several times a day. Perfect for romantic couples and folks just wishing to be left alone and enjoy the pastoral views.

Room Tip: We used booking.com to get our deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Consistently excellent country house hotel with very professional staff, and lovely setting.

Having stayed 1 year ago, this stay was every bit as good as last time!

Great room (junior suite), supremely comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. Free Wi-Fi that worked well. Welcoming lounge areas and bar, and outdoor areas.

The set menu dinner - not to be missed.

Excellent wine list, and perfect breakfast...

Did not have time to try the spa - perhaps next time!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
19.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
841 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Property: The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing