We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and new luxury” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old and new luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

A lovely old creeper-clad building with handsome grounds, atmospheric lounges and a fantastic spa.

The restaurant is pricey, but high quality. Very good breakfast. Unobtrusive service from friendly courteous staff.

We had a junior suite which was well appointed and comfortable. Good bed with high-end linens.

Excellent bathroom though the roll-top bath, mysteriously, sprang a leak and flooded the floor! We reported this to the receptionist, who didn't seem remotely interested. A pity, as this took the gloss off an overall very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvascreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    155
    72
    39
    14
See reviews for
93
361
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just enjoyed a weekend stay at the Greenway and loved every minute of it. The hotel is oldy worldy but the decor is modern classic. The spa is brand new and we enjoyed the whole day on the Saturday lazing on the loungers, relaxing in the hydrotherapy pool which doubles up as the swimming pool - you are in charge of pressing the buttons to start up the various jets, and also enjoying the saunas, steam room and musical rainforest tropical shower! Had lunch alfresco in the walled garden before enjoying some wonderful treatments, then a glass of champers in the hot tub - perfect. Dinner was wonderful, really enjoyed the sharing plate of puddings. Altough we only booked a double manor room we were given a junior suite which was one of the biggest rooms we have ever stayed in. Lovely countryside views. Wonderful time - will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Couple (no kids) for 4 nights in a Manor (standard) room.

Pros:

* Room was very large: considering it was the cheapest room available, it was a big space.
* Public rooms were immaculate, atmospheric and elegant
* Service was very friendly and mostly efficient
* Garden, while not trimmed to perfection, was charming
* The Spa was exceptional - very high quality, everything worked perfectly and the whole place reeked of quality

Cons:

* The location is not that charming - off a main road (though some distance and well shielded) in a nothing suburban village. There is a bit of background road noise.
* Breakfast was alright without being great : more quality ingredients would be good
* We did not eat at the restaurant - the prices were extremely high. £52 for 3 courses at dinner is a full £20 more than Champignon Sauvage (2 Michelin Stars) - a 10 min drive away. A more affordable set menu would be welcome.

All in all - very good and at £125, something of a bargain, with the spa - we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Larch (Manor Room) which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

stunning view. this hotel has great potential. it is good value, the spa is great and the service at the spa is v good as well. the hotel however is v poorly run. the people v inexperienced, clumsy and generally not v happy to be there...the hotel and the rooms are clean but the decor is a bit strange/random and not the most tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Greenway! The hotel was lovely, we were upgraded to a junior suite on check-in which was great, the Copper Beech room had countryside views and was very spacious and plush. Loved the bathroom with it's double shower, free-standing bath and two sinks.

Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. We enjoyed drinks in the bar/lounge which was beautifully decorated and relaxing.

Our favourite thing was the spa; as the hotel was quiet we pretty much had the pool to ourselves. It was fabulous, brand new facilities, lovely sauna, steam room, etc.. absolutely loved it!!

The location is about 3.5 miles from the centre of Cheltenham so easy to get to for shopping or a short cab ride for an evening out.

In summary, we really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Better_than_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and i spent two nights at The Greenway. Drove past a couple of time as the signage was very poor. The receptionist was very warm, efficient & showed us to our room. We made use of spa facilities, very nice. Not too keen on the music being played i.e. robbie williams, James blunt. We ate in the restaurant one night out of the two. The food & service was very nice and attentive. Breakfast was very good also, radio 1 was being played in the restaurant which i found inappropriate for this type of hotel. We had a wander around the grounds after & were very disappointed, it looked very unloved. There were some trees in pots that were dead, everything needed a good water. There seemed to be a dumping ground of wood, bricks and general waste on the lawn. On the whole a great stay but the gardens need some TLC

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthEastNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs,england
Level Contributor
259 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is situated in its own grounds which are well maintained ( very pleasant to stroll round )and we had a lovely view from our room at the back of the hotel over the Cotswolds. Good car parking space.

On arrival check in no problems , receptionist took us to our suite, a bit of walk. Got everything you would need. Good size modern attractive bathroom but dim lighting above washbasin so difficult to see to shave / do make up, nice range of shampoo etc. Dim lighting also seemed to be a feature of the bedrooom which was otherwise well appointed , plenty of cupboard space. Flat screen good size TV, teamaking facilities , free bottled water , bed turned down whilst we were at dinner .

Public areas attractive, clean and bright ,. Although we didnt use the spa we had a look at it and it certainly had first class facilities.

Staff in bar and restaurant efficient , polite and cheerful . The main reason we were staying at the hotel was for its food which is recommended and the chef did not let us down. All the courses we ordered were beautifully cooked and just right. House Merlot also 1st class. We had a very nice evening but then the problem , it was a warm night and no airconditioning combined with the fact that the duvet was a winter one about 6 inches thick meant that we spent the night tossing and turning even though we had the windows wide open ( as a consequence the dawn chorus was quite loud !).

Breakfast individually cooked to so I had a full English , very pleasant , whilst my wife was slightly more conservative in her choice.

Check out efficient and politie.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
19.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Property: The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing