We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here at the end of January. It was a last minute booking for a birthday treat and weren't left disappointed. On booking we received a free room upgrade and were delighted with the room, the hotel location which is lovely and secluded and its facilities as a whole. We spent a couple of hours relaxing in the spa, we even braved the outdoor hot tub in the wintry weather which was well worth the experience. We both had a full body massage which was part of the spa package. This was fantastic, the masseurs were professional and accomplished in their art and we left suitably refreshed.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, with pre dinner drinks we were served canapés which was an unexpected surprise. As one of us is a veggie and couldn't eat all of the canapé they insisted that another vegetarian canapé would be served at the dinner table. A nice and appreciated touch. Dinner itself was exceptional, one of the finest dining experiences we have had. The staff were attentive but not intrusive and we were served from the house the most delicious cauliflower and pistachio nut soup. (recipe please :)). Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saracasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Although we live in Cheltenham my sister and I decided to take an overnight break at the Greenway in order to relax and use the Spa.
The room was amazing, spacious, well decorated and comfortable.
We had a relaxing time in the Spa and my Egyptian massage by Rocky was the best vi gave ever had, as it should be at such a price.
We ate in the spa bistro and whilst the food was delicious I still do not like 'nouvelle cuisine' - tiny amount of lamb two sprigs of broccoli - really? You cannot beat a good plate of food over art!
Overall we had a lovely time but I would ask that the heating is turned down a tad it was uncomfortably hot.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank fowlec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice room, good spa facilities, excellent location.
Restaurant not so good. We booked a table for 7.30 but were ushered into the bar for a pre meal drink(!) We then sat down at 8.10 and didn't get our main course until 10.20! My meal arrived and it was cold..it arrived back microwaved! Breakfast the next morning consisted of a cold and undercooked Eggs Benedict and a poached egg that was woefully undercooked...oh and beware hidden charges!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David11763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Two friends and I enjoyed a full afternoon tea at The Greenway. Not having experienced an afternoon tea at a "posh" hotel before, we approached the hotel with trepidation but we needn't have worried. I had booked the tea via email and had received a first class service from reception and this carried on when we arrived. The staff were attentive without being obvious. We enjoyed finger sandwiches each and this was followed by a selection of cakes, a mini lemon meringue tart and a scone with cream and jam, which was more than we were expecting for our £20. There was a selection of teas to choose from and coffee if we preferred. All in all a lovely first experience of afternoon tea, and I would recommend it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We took my Mum to this hotel to celebrate a special birthday.

The hotel is lovely and full of character. We stayed in the Cedar suite which was gorgeous. Spacious bedroom, separate lounge and large bathroom which was very comfortable for the 3 of us. The lounge was a little cold as the radiator didn't appear to be working.

We used the spa facilities on the Friday which were good and had lovely facials and massages.

The food at breakfast and lunch were very nice and dinner was especially good. The dinner was more fine dining so portions were not huge but rich and very tasty.

All staff were lovely and very accommodating. The issue is that there are just not enough of them. At dinner we had to ask for our drinks to be topped up several times and we had an hour wait for cooked breakfast one morning. This is fine if you're happy to have a very leisurely breakfast.

All in all this is a beautiful hotel in lovely grounds with staff who want to make your experience special. With a couple of additional staff the experience would be 5 star but they're not quite there yet.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ed_Uss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Whilst the room (spacious and tastefully decorated) and spa were really good there were a few of things that really let down the experience. The service was pretty poor and staff seemed inexperienced, unknowledgeable and coordination was terrible. The manager did tweak that things were not going well and took reasonable steps to compensate us though. The food in the restaurant was okay, but nothing more. It is quite odd too that you have to walk through the restaurant and brasserie past diners as you make your way through the hotel. All in, we didn't get the value for money this weekend. Seems like a middle range hotel in a higher price bracket.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristianJuly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely grounds and spa facility. Service was mediocre in the hotel but was an absolute disaster at breakfast. We had to move seats, got the wrong drinks served, the wrong toast came out and was cold, I found a HAIR in my breAkfast. All in all a horrible experience and poor value for money. The breaky is the last thing you do in a hotel so left a bad taste in our mouths (metaphorically - no pun intended) as we drove back to London

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NixandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
1.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
21.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
350 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range: £107 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing