We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel(Little Witcombe)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$143
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
458
191
84
47
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
191
84
47
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubafternoon teasteam roomon arrivalglass of champagnefull body massageamuse bouchelovely hotelsconesdouble showerlounge areacoach housethe main hotelrelaxing breakevening mealbirthday treatbrasserie menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just spent a wonderful day here with 5 girl friends for a birthday treat....lovely outside hot tub, pool, steam room and sauna. Tasty lunch and we all had treatments facials, massages and mud wraps which we lavished. We are all therapists ourselves so it was nice for us to be pampered for a change and the therapists here we can highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful relaxing day - we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Arrived for check-in just as the Wedding Exhibition was ending. Asked about afternoon tea and were informed this was not available due to the exhibition. No big deal as were were still served tea and biscuits (which were very nice) in the lounge. However, it would have been better had we been informed that the afternoon tea option would not be available at the time of making the reservation.

Our room in the Coach House was large, spacious with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom had bath and shower and again very spacious. The lounge and bar are nicely furnished and the hotel has very much a country house hotel feel. The spa is quite compact - small swimming pool and gym, treatment rooms, outside hot tub on a terrace area. Was rather suprised though that, although an open area, guests were smoking here. There is also a funky nail bar. The brasserie, just off the spa reception, had a very strong smell of chlorine so I am pleased we did not eat there. The gardens to the rear, with a small pond, are well tended with seating. Car parking is available infront of the hotel as well as by the spa.

Staff were very friendly in particular the Restaurant Manager and the staff in the restaurant. The area however which really needs addressing with immediate urgency is the speed (or rather lack of it) in the kitchen. We were taken through to our table at 19.40 (having had pre dinner drinks and canapes in the lounge); starters were served at 20.30 and the main courses at 21.20. Other diners who arrived after us were served first and finished way before our mains arrived. Fortunately the wait for dessert was acceptable and we left the table at 22.10. The 50 minute wait for the starters and then another 50 minutes for the main was excessive and did impact on our enjoyment of the evening.

I can only assume the kitchen is either woefully understaffed or very disorganised as the restaurant was certainly not full. Given the fact that there are three menus plus the brasserie maybe the kitchen is too stretched in the amount of different dishes to prepare - which basically boils down to being understaffed / disorganised. I do not usually read other reviews but glancing though I am clearly not the first reviewer to raise the issue.

We regularly dine and stay at Brockencote Hall (now part of the Eden Collection). This length of wait for dinner has never and would never ever occur at Brockencote. The Greenway could certainly learn so much from its sister hotel regarding kitchen time management and timely execution of dishes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I spent the night in the Greenway for a short break away, recommended by our daughter and son in law and we were not disappointed. Our room, food, service and spa facilities were excellent and we would definitely return. The only downside was that we arrived early and were unable to check in or use the spa facilities until 3.00pm but made good use of the beautiful lounge and drank copious coffee.
Just one little tip: although the beds are really comfortable, you may wish to take your own pillow as they are quite firm!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1happymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our time at the Greenway was just what the doctor ordered, very relaxing and I feel a little disappointed after arriving back home!

I booked last minute on booking.com and paid for a standard double room as this was the only room available. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded free of charge and were led to the Cedar suite (now looking back at the website this is one of three feature suites in the building!) The room was absolutely charming a really large space. It had a grand super king bed with a cosy separate lounge and a very large bathroom. The room was on the top floor so we got a great deal of privacy and the room had an old/romantic feel with feature beams.

We dined at the restaurant the first night which is a take on fine dining. The portions are pretty small but very rich and filling which is what you expect with high end food. The amuse bouche were delicious! I would say the food is not 100% there for the price, some of the flavour combinations were not quite right, and in my opinion I would have liked some white meat such as chicken on the mains. However this is being very picky, although I feel there is room for improvement, it is nearly there!!

The spa is fantastic treatments were extremely relaxing and they even managed to re-organize some things to fit a gel manicure in for me, very impressed overall. Plus the hot tub outside was a great bonus!!!

The grounds are absolutely stunning and the views are rolling hills and lush green countryside. It is also in a great location, Shurdington is only a few miles from the heart of Cheltenham and only a 20-30 min drive to the heart of the Cotswolds. In Shurdington there are two lovely pubs in very close proximity which offers a great alternative if you do not want to drive into Cheltenham.

Overall my fiance and I are very picky customers and we came away from The Greenway extremely relaxed and very impressed. Yes there were occasions were I felt there should be more staff and yes some of decor/furniture is a little worn but this is not a 5*. Overall the charm and character is there in abundance. Thoroughly recommended for a short break away!

Nikki and Neil

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Tooth_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Three girlfriends and I stayed at the Greenway Hotel and Spa a month ago for a special girls weekend away as a treat and this was one of the best experiences of my life. From the minute we drove up the driveway and saw the rabbits and squirrels running all through the trees we knew we were in heaven. The hotel is a stunning old manor that is beautifully renovated with each suite in a different style/theme. The hospitality was outstanding and we were all made to feel like royalty. While staying at the hotel is magical in itself with views over rolling hills, horses running around in paddocks and pure peace you must also try the day spa. We couldn't get into our complimentary robes and slippers quick enough and spent all day in and out of the hot tub, saunas and hydrotherapy pool. Then we each treated ourselves to a treatment too which was exceptional. I had the hot stone massage and I am converted. All of this was topped off by sipping champagne in the hot tub under the stars. The rooms were super comfortable and we could have slept all day but we made sure we got in another hot tub session in the morning before we left as it was so good! We cannot wait to return and cannot recommend you book a night or two here asap.

Room Tip: We stayed in superior rooms - one was in the spa housing area which had great access to the spa so we felt comfortable to walk around in our robes from the room and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews