We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely adult treat- best hotel we have stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights end of MAY. It was really fab- especially as we got upgraded to a suite. Everything was suburb, from the rooms, en suites, bar, food, staff- and spa. I think this is the nicest hotel we have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone. The grounds are so peaceful- this was just want we needed as a break from work and kids. If you want a treat- book this hotel and enjoy!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely but suites are excellent
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for The Greenway Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here with my partner for a two night break. Booked a deluxe room, which was very spacious and comfortable. Though the massive shower with two showers wasn't worth using, no water pressure at all. Room was also very hot, which didn't make for a good nights sleep.

The spa it's self was lovely, all modern and very clean. Hydro pool was very good, lots of water jets and bubbles ect.. We both had an hours full body massage which was on par with most spas we have visited.

The grounds where beautiful and if you like walks, this place would be perfect. The staff where not all helpful, more so the reception staff I found a little short/rude. We would like to say that Milly a waitress was very helpful and stood out from the rest. Also a bar man on our second night, but we didn't obtain his name. Food was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SneezumRaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The food in the restaurant was amazing! The location was very nice also. Staff were friendly enough. The bar area got very busy, but i guess thats because of it's popularity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Sunshine on arrival was a bonus... and cocktails on the croquet lawn were promptly taken alongside a warm welcome from Luc (manager). Food was fantastic. Room was spacious and more than comfortable. Staff were polite to the extreme and if you have the time you must get a head massage in the a joining spa! Highly recommended. Will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frankie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had our wedding at the Greenway a few weeks ago and what a wonderful venue it was. The staff made is feel like royalty and couldn’t do enough to help us. Charlotte was an excellent wedding co-ordinator and really helped us sort everything out. She was very patient with us, especially as we weren’t very organised. The wedding breakfast was gorgeous, we were very impressed with the menu choices and the food that was provided. The chefs were very accommodating, as we had a few guests with specific dietary requirements, but this didn’t cause any problems. We were also well over the time allocated for speeches, but again, you couldn't tell, the Wedding breakfast was first class. A special thank you to Arsene, who was so amazing on the day and made sure all our guests had a great time. We know this because not only did he provide us (Bride & Groom) great service, but many of our guests kept coming up to us and saying how wonderful he was. Truly a memorable day, so thank you to everyone involved!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mrs_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed for two nights in this hotel with my daughter for a weekend break which was also on a special offer, We stayed in the Silver Birch Suite - it was a real treat for us, we loved the Spa and the food was delicious. On the first evening it was very warm - there is no air conditioning as this is not a modern hotel, it is a beautiful traditional and charming hotel so we had the windows open, which was lovely - however when we came back to our room after a day out a large fan had been placed in our room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the grounds are breathtaking - I simply cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samms41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked a Sunday night deal here in May 2014 as a treat; it was the first night we spent away together without our 18 month old daughter so we wanted it to be somewhere special. Our deal included bed and breakfast, a massage in the spa and afternoon tea on arrival.

Spa Facilities
The spa is lovely and well equipped with an amazing hot tub in the courtyard garden, a steam room and two saunas as well as a lovely pool and jacuzzi. I assumed that, as the deal we booked was called a "spa break" and our massages were booked for 1.30pm, we would be able to use the spa facilities from arrival at 12pm but please be aware that hotel guests cannot use the spa until 3pm on the day of arrival. This would have been a massive inconvenience to us as we had arrived early for our massages and could not check in to our room until 3pm but fortunately the spa receptionist was reasonable and allowed us to continue using the lovely facilities after our massage.

Afternoon Tea
This was absolutely gorgeous! The cakes & sandwiches were lovely, there was a great selection of teas and also champagne included. Booked separately, this would have been quite expensive so we were glad to have it included in our deal. I would definitely have the afternoon tea again!!

Room
The room was beautiful and large; well equipped with everything you would need like bottled water and homemade biscuits, apples, great selection of teas, flatscreen TV etc. Hotel offered a turn down service and asked if we required more tea bags etc at about 6pm of our stay which was a nice touch. The only downside of our room was that we were at the top of the hotel in the eaves which meant that there was not enough room for a stand up shower, we only had a bath with a mixer tap. The bath wasn't that large either so it meant sitting in the bath to wash my hair for me, but my 6ft 2in husband would have struggled to fit in the bath so he showered downstairs in the spa!! Annoyingly, as the shower was only a mixer tap unit, the water didn't stay at a consistent temperature which lead to a very uncomfortable hair washing experience for me.This was a bit of a letdown for us but was such a small part of our stay it didn't spoil it. Maybe we had one of the "worst" rooms in the hotel as we had booked a deal?

Breakfast
Again this was beautiful with a great selection of continental items and cereals but the cooked was amazing and we really enjoyed. All food was of great quality, down to the fruit juices tasting freshly squeezed. Was definitely a lovely treat!

Evening Meal
We ate in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed our meal. We were shown into the lounge for pre-dinner drinks and hor d'oeuvres. I had a lovely cocktail which I really enjoyed and my husband had a malt whisky. The restaurant is small and intimate. We were given amuse bouche at the compliments of the chef which was another nice touch and we had a three course meal which again was of high quality and very enjoyable. Would definitely eat here again!

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would return for a treat, but would maybe ask for a room with a shower we could stand up in!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshtraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,328 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
873 reviews
21.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range: £89 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing