We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely refurbished but poor service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Live and Let Live
Ranked #1 of 1 Pegsdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nicely refurbished but poor service and food”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed with a friend the night before an early interview. The restaurant and chalets have been refurbished and are clean. Unfortunately the evening meal menu had limited choice and was very, very fussy and over complicated - not pleasant. Also very dissapointing that dogs 9and large ones at that, we allowed in the restaurant!

Also despite agreement on booking with the owner that breakfast would be available to me at 7:45, and this was confirmed again with her on arrival, the chef did not arrive until 8 a.m to open the restaurant - the staff and I were waiting outside! Not a good or timely start to my day!

I will not stay again or unfortunately recommend - sorry Live and Let Live, not quite to standard yet.

Room Tip: Despite being in the country the rooms are need the road and it is reasonable busy early on as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    13
    18
    24
See reviews for
32
52
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

This place is a reliable favourite for us. So when we popped there for lunch to enjoy the view of Barton Hills I was surprised to find the ownership had changed as had the decor and the menu. It turned out to be a welcome surprise. The decor was really tasteful and inviting and so we sat inside to enjoy it. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was great. We left planning when to come back. Dessert was a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Londonspx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous room, lovely Staff and Martin serves up a grand Breakfast with all the trimmings, beautiful views in a peaceful location, rooms all newly decorated, showers are gorgeous, would highly recommend, food is simply the best, top marks for the chef and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyw247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed over when going to a wedding at Hexton Manor. The overall experience was pleasurable and comfortable. We found the sandwich lunch a little surprising - never seen such large doorstep sandwiches, which were not appealing and as they had run out of chips, it was served with roast potatoes!? The menu said sandwiches were also served with salad. i asked for sandwiches and salad, but no potatoes. They still brought the potatoes, and the salad turned out to be the merest tiny amount of leaves, nothing else. A huge amount of carbs and no salad was disappointing. However, breakfast was good. Rooms were comfortable and pleasant. The view was breathtaking and the sun was shining, which was a real plus point.

Room Tip: All the 7 rooms are the same. I know this as our party took all of them . They are located in one lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Have just stayed here for the weekend whilst going to a wedding at Hexton Manor. The manager Martin could not have done more to accommodate us. The rooms were lovely. The only bad point is the fact the walls are so thin so you can here a pin drop in the room next door! All in all though the perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonja6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Spent a really lovely Bank Holiday Monday here in the gardens, the sun was shining and the jazz band were brilliant. The mushroom soup was homemade and delicious. There was a little wait for the food but as it was a Bank Holiday it was to be expected. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Visited the pub with a group for lunch , was a complete nightmare , some of us waited 20mins for food whilst the rest had been served, there were no chips and no vegetarian option for the roast.
Our host asked for some coffee as a way of compensation and this was refused.

Would I eat here again....No

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Mike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pegsdon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pegsdon
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
5.9 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Live and Let Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Live and Let Live

Property: The Live and Let Live
Address: Pegsdon Way, Pegsdon SG5 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Pegsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pegsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Live and Let Live 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Live and Let Live Inn has recently undergone a complete refurbishment, resulting in stunning 7 en-suite chalets, complete with flat screens and wi-fi, sitting in newly landscaped gardens. These chalets are nestled in the Chiltern Hills, an area of natural beauty, a renowned rambling destination, and with a generous car park and complementary bike hire. The Live and Let Live Inn also benefits from a fully refurbished bar and restaurant which sources local ingredients to bring a fresh menu that tastes delicious as well as supporting local food producers. Situated only 15 minutes from Luton airport, with a personal driver to and from the airport. The Live and Let Live Inn is the perfect choice for the start of your holiday, or the holiday itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Live and Let Live reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing