We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Live and Let Live
Ranked #1 of 1 Pegsdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a nights stay here! On our arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who checked us in and showed us to our room! The room was a perfect size for us, comfortable and very clean! We managed to fit in a quick drink before we had to meet friends in Hitchin. The pub is in a lovely rural position with beautiful views from the beer garden. We took a 10 minute taxi drive into Hitchin with cost around £12-14. The pub/restaurant has been refurbished to an excellent standard, unfortunately we didn't have time to eat dinner here but the menu looked lovely. Breakfast in the morning was faultless and very tasty!
Overall a very comfortable and relaxing stay with a warm and friendly welcome! We will definately return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Pub food with a little extra. Well presented and delicious, and a reasonable price. Staff are friendly and helpful. Several enjoyable evenings spent here, and never disappointed! Can be easily missed as you drive past!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGP240153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Although it was only one night the stay at this hotel(b&b) was indeed thoroughly enjoyable the boss Martin Duggan was kind and caring and touches like a bottle of water in the fridge and genuine concern for our stay was excellent.We had to leave early but breakfast was ready and really tasty.Anyone wanting a walking holiday Pegdon is a lovely base surrounded by hills.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

it was the first time we visited the pub. it is in a beautiful setting with seating outside or in. the restaurant is vintage style and very clean. we went on Friday night and there was a pianist playing giving a really relaxed atmosphere. staff were very nice maybe slightly slow but as we were in no rush it was fine. short menu with additional specials, friday night was fish night. lobster was good with generous salad and good fat chips! hubby had steak, cooked well with loads of sauce and mushrooms. food is the higher scale pub food but good portions and cooked well. a good night out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank krodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed for one night for a wedding nearby, and we were very happy with the clean rooms, soft bedding, comfy beds, shabby chic theme, and delicious breakfast. Owner was very helpful and friendly. Stunning views across the hills across the main road.

Night we left to wedding ordered bowl of chips, which were quite simply out of this world! have eaten worse in Michelin starred restaurants!

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalExpressUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the place which was just what we needed after a long drive. Meal in the restaurant was good as was the great breakfast the following morning and service was excellent. The chalets were clean and beds very comfortable - one improvement though would be better sound proofing between them as could here every word of the very long, one sided conversation, the chap next door was having with someone on the phone about relationships etc! A real positive was that we could have our breakfast up to 11am which was very welcome and they were kind enough to let us leave a little later too - definitely a live and let live attitude which more places could do with adopting!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed with a friend the night before an early interview. The restaurant and chalets have been refurbished and are clean. Unfortunately the evening meal menu had limited choice and was very, very fussy and over complicated - not pleasant. Also very dissapointing that dogs 9and large ones at that, we allowed in the restaurant!

Also despite agreement on booking with the owner that breakfast would be available to me at 7:45, and this was confirmed again with her on arrival, the chef did not arrive until 8 a.m to open the restaurant - the staff and I were waiting outside! Not a good or timely start to my day!

I will not stay again or unfortunately recommend - sorry Live and Let Live, not quite to standard yet.

Room Tip: Despite being in the country the rooms are need the road and it is reasonable busy early on as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SjC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Live and Let Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Live and Let Live

Address: Pegsdon Way, Pegsdon SG5 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Pegsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pegsdon
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Live and Let Live 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Live and Let Live Inn has recently undergone a complete refurbishment, resulting in stunning 7 en-suite chalets, complete with flat screens and wi-fi, sitting in newly landscaped gardens. These chalets are nestled in the Chiltern Hills, an area of natural beauty, a renowned rambling destination, and with a generous car park and complementary bike hire. The Live and Let Live Inn also benefits from a fully refurbished bar and restaurant which sources local ingredients to bring a fresh menu that tastes delicious as well as supporting local food producers. Situated only 15 minutes from Luton airport, with a personal driver to and from the airport. The Live and Let Live Inn is the perfect choice for the start of your holiday, or the holiday itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Live and Let Live reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing