We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group, good food”

Kansai Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #27 of 126 Restaurants in Elizabethtown
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large group, good food”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Made reservations for 20 for the first weekend in November. The food, the chef and the server were all good. I did not hear a single complaint from anyone in our group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KyHouseboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food gone bad”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I have been to this Japanese steakhouse several times over the last two years and have noticed a steady decline in the quality of their food and service. On my most recent trip I was disturbed to see a health department rating of only 87 for improper food handling and cooks not wearing hair nets. I was even more disappointed when the pad tai I ordered came out. I have had this dish here before, bit this time it was very bad. The sauce appeared to have been mixed up with another dish, and so what normally is a brown tai sauce ended up being more like a thick sweet and sour chili sauce. The server was apologetic, and did not charge me for it, so I give them credit for that. All in all, I don't think I'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank callforfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodgenville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kid-friendly”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I love the food and the staff at Kansai. The chef always takes the extra time to entertain my children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great sushi!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Kansai is an excellent Japanese Steakhouse. It is located in a new building, very nice and clean, they have a truly full service sushi bar. They can make almost anything and every piece of sushi ive had was excellent. The hibachi grill had excellent chefs, who are entertaining and do all the onion volcanoes and juggle eggs on their tongs. The rice is well seasoned. Use the "Yum Yum" sauce. It's good! Average meal cost is $11. Good stuff and will be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Volkscollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi :P”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Fast Service, great food and great location. It's close to were I stay so I can always get there in a timely manner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kansai Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Elizabethtown, KY
 
Elizabethtown, KY
 

Been to Kansai Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing